We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better for vacation than business”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Eagle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Eagle Inn
Ranked #3 of 18 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Calif.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Better for vacation than business”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

I stayed here two nights for business. Like a lot of small family-run places it has positives and negatives, which may be different for business or vacation travelers. Its located in a quiet mixed residential-small hotel area a couple of blocks from the beach. The location is probably better for vacationers--while the area is pleasant, its south of the busy Highway 101, and the main part of town to the north. Most of the businesses on the south side cater to the tourist trade. There are only few streets that cross under the highway. But ii is just a block from a nice park, and if you’re up for a little exercise, a short uphill climb will get you to the campus of Santa Barbara City College, with great ocean views.

I had a standard King room with no fireplace or whirlpool bath, which was no big deal since I was alone and travelling on business, The room was a little on the small side but well-laid out. It has both A/C and a ceiling fan, which was nice because it happened to be very warm when I was there. The desk was pretty small--between the lamp and my laptop, it was cramped. Being an older building, my second-floor room creaked and cracked in a couple of places, which didn’t bother me, but could have annoyed whoever was below. The small bathroom was nicely appointed and squeaky clean (a big deal for me), with dual massage shower heads on opposite walls, which was a nice touch after a long drive.

The bed was very comfortable with plenty of pillows for late-night reading, and the lighting was excellent. Given the building’s age, the floor must have been uneven, because the doors on the TV armoire kept trying to swing shut. The TV is on a pull-out shelf, which kept the doors open, but because of the room’s small size, it made moving between the armoire and the bed a bit tricky.

I took advantage of the free breakfast, which was quite good. The overall ambience is quite homey and inviting. I would definitely come back for a weekend getaway but might choose a different location for a business trip.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a quiet room--location in a place this small is important!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mstimc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surferpaul, General Manager at The Eagle Inn, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Seems like you didn't like the breakfast that we provide at no charge. Sorry to hear that. I'm surprised that over 5 days there was nothing that you cared for especially as each day there's something different. I do like your suggestion about leaving topical books out. However, in the past, when we have put out guide books, or coffee table books about Santa Barbara, they tend to go missing. And that is pretty frustrating. Anyhoo....regarding our classification as a B&B. We don't really consider ourselves a bed and breakfast. More of a boutique hotel. Trip Advisor lists us in the B&B section because our front desk is not open 24 hrs per day. So sorry if you were mis-directed by their categories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,789 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,242
    409
    89
    34
    15
See reviews for
234
1,208
70
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

A beautiful authentic Spanish inn located in a beautiful peaceful neighborhood within walking distance to harbor, wharf, State St. restaurants, galleries, shops, Court House, museum and the infamous Brewhouse. Architecture is beautifully appropriate with tiles and murals, rooms are immaculate and beautifully designed, service and staff very pleasant and helpful, and the full breakfast in the morning is also not only beautiful but very relaxing. Have stayed here many times over the years and will keep coming back, a treasure in Santa Barbara.

Room Tip: Large rooms with balconies are a special treat, a great place to stay no matter which room you may c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trego, Montana
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Looking for a non-chain romantic affordable room close to beach? The Eagle Inn is perfect with it's spacious rooms,large 2-person whirlpool tub,comfy bed and free breakfast.
Located within walking distance of The Brewhouse which has great craft beer(habenero pilsner is my fave!) & comfort food of all kinds!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FO
Level Contributor
116 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Excellent staff; great location; excellent breakfast; room was a little small; short walk to the beach

Near State street, a nice walkable tourist street; recommend a visit to the Court House!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geowmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

What a Great place. Excellent location. Close to harbor for sunset cruise, close to downtown for Segway tour. Close to beach for moonlight walk. And best of all the staff. When I accidentally booked a Tuesday and really needed a Monday they magically fixed it. They booked my cruise and Segway tour at a discount and even allowed a late check out to accommodate our morning. Katie and the crew you guys/gals Rock. You can't go wrong staying here.

Room Tip: We loved room 210. Great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Comfortable, visually pleasing, quiet, nice breakfast, good location, friendly staff, on site free parking and internet. What else could we want?! Oh yeah, decent prices!
We had an iron that didn't work. The staff found another one. They have soy milk for breakfast--made my day! Within walking distance from good food, and nice walk on the beach. We are on the second floor (no elevator, as far as I know), quiet room. I lived here for 20 years, and this is the first time I've stayed in a hotel here. This will be my go-to place on future visits. Although I hope it doesn't become so popular itis hard to book!

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surferpaul, General Manager at The Eagle Inn, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Please - don't keep it a secret. Let all of your friends know. We need more visitors to Santa Barbara and especially to The Eagle Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fallbrook, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We try to come to Santa Barbara every year. This is the first time we have stayed at the Eagle Inn. Our room on the second floor was very comfortable and quiet. The room came with a fireplace, jacuzzi tube, dual showers in the bathroom and a balcony for enjoying the complemtary breakfast. One suggestion we have is offer a greater variety of breakfast items. When ever we had questions the staff was always very helpful and friendly. The inn is conveniently located within walking distance to the beach, restruants and shopping. Definitely a good value for the money. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surferpaul, General Manager at The Eagle Inn, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for writing about your stay. It's always useful to us to be able to know how we can better our services. Hopefully, next time you come, you'll notice what we've implemented. Thanks again and we are all looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.0 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
0.0 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#10 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#32 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#14 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eagle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eagle Inn

Property: The Eagle Inn
Address: 232 Natoma Ave, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3522
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Eagle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eagle Inn is a romantic quiet boutique hotel located just 2 blocks from the beach. We are a ten minute walk to downtown and The Funk Zone and all of the activities and attractions Santa Barbara has to offer. We have bikes, free, for you to use, and offer free parking and serve a complimentary, tasty cooked breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Eagle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing