We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A girl's overnighter.”
Review of The Eagle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Eagle Inn
Ranked #2 of 18 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 24 October 2013

What a fabulous hotel located conveniently to the beach and downtown area of Santa Barbara. The friendly staff greets you and fresh cookies are there to welcome you as well. We upgraded our room to one of the guest rooms, safe and secure located on property. Breakfast in bed was another treat!
If and when I get back to Santa Barbara, I am definitely saving my pennies for the Eagle Inn!!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Kathie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surferpaul, General Manager at The Eagle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Come on back anytime. You and your friends are welcome here always!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,991)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,316 - 1,322 of 1,991 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

I really couldn't fault the Eagle Inn, it was gorgeous. Fantastic location, a short walk to the beach and easy to access from the highway. The room was huge and very comfortable with the softest sheets I've ever experienced and we were lucky to have a little terrace as well for morning coffee. The breakfast was included and was very tasty indeed. The staff seemed to be very helpful and whilst we didn't need their help in organising any day trips we saw them in action helping an older couple. I would definitely recommend it if you're passing through Santa Barbara as we were.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surferpaul, General Manager at The Eagle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you for staying with us. I'm so happy that you enjoyed your stay so much. Please, tell all your friends and next time you're in the USA, come visit us again - but for longer next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This was our second stay at the Eagle Inn. On our first visit, we stayed in a queen room, which was very tiny. It was beautifully appointed, but really cramped. This time, we opted for Room 216, which has a king size bed, a fireplace and a Jacuzzi tub for two. This was a much better choice, as the room is spacious and comfortable.
Our check-in was a breeze, and the desk staff, each time we passed through the lobby, was friendly and welcoming.
Our bed was very comfortable and had the most wonderful linens. There were wine goblets available, delicious gourmet candies, comfortable robes and plenty of towels for the Jacuzzi and the shower, which had dual shower heads. Everything was very clean and lovely. The room had a ceiling fan, an excellent air conditioning/heating system, and windows that actually open, so everything was comfortable.
We stayed two nights, so we partook in two (very different) breakfast experiences. The first morning's offerings were a choice of two quiches (one vegetarian) or granola and yogurt. Everything comes with fresh fruit, orange juice and coffee. The quiche was tasty but the onions were overdone. Our server was attentive and friendly.
The second morning, we experienced a different breakfast. Our server, a young man who seemed overwhelmed (or just didn't care), told us that no, we couldn't have the main offering of jalapeno waffles without the jalapenos. Really? Who can't mix up a second batter without the jalapenos? We weren't the only people to make this request while we were there! Anyway, the waffles were offered with scrambled eggs and sausage, so we decided on those. He finally offered English muffins to go with it, so, with the fresh fruit and orange juice, it was a decent breakfast. The second breakfast was just so out of character with the rest of our Eagle Inn experience, which is why I gave it a "4 out of 5" instead of a "5 out of 5".
Shortly after our stay, we received a questionnaire via e-mail, asking for our input. I mentioned these things and received a very nice e-mail back from the manager, appreciating our input and promising to address these issues. Now that's customer service!
The location is perfect. It's on a quiet street, a short walk from the beach and pier, where you can catch a trolley and complete your tour of Santa Barbara. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: If you have flexibility with your travel dates, check out the Eagle Inn website for specials. Our &q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingrandma91355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surferpaul, General Manager at The Eagle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you for being return guests! We all appreciate the fact that you chose us twice. Your review is in depth and I think really tells it like it is. Sorry about the waffles, but as you said, we've already dealt with that one. Looking forward to your next trip.
Paul Bullock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed in early October for two nights in the Eagle Inn. The staff where helpful, the room was clean and I had the pleasure to experience the softest bed sheets in my life. Breakfast was fine and location is fairly good.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jordi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surferpaul, General Manager at The Eagle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thanks for your review and for mentioning the sheets. By the way, did you know we sell those sheets? You can call us to order them, or you can go to their web site and use The Eagle Inn as a referral. Comphy.com. I use them at home and they only get better with use!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights while my sister had to work a couple days in Carpenteria. When we first arrived we spoke with Katie who did not seem all that interested in helping us with information about points of interest we inquired about. I also asked if we could have a sort of boxed breakfast as my sister had to leave for work at 7 am and breakfast is not served until 7:30 and she told me to check with the kitchen myself, maybe a bagel or if the kitchen had it that day, a bagel with lox as we needed some protein with breakfast.
We ended up eating breakfast out or fixing breakfast for ourselves all but one of the five mornings we stayed. When we did eat breakfast at the Inn, there are usually only two choices and one was always granola and yogurt. The day we had their breakfast they had quiche and there were two choices, Lorraine and spinach with onions. We got there at 9am and they were already out of the spinach and onion. They were nice enough to make me scrambled eggs and an English but my sister ordered the Lorraine and said it was poor.
The rooms were fairly clean and house keeping was friendly.
I have been to many, many B&B's throughout my travels and this one lacks the niceties and welcoming atmosphere that the others had. Keeping books on local wildlife or flowers would be nice as would a more accommodating behavior.
Cody was a young man working there who had a great work ethic and was able to address our request for additional K-cups which was something I had also asked Katie for and was met with an "what is there is what we have" attitude. Therefore...props to Cody.
I would not chose this B&B or recommend it to anyone as there are probably better ones in the area. Our Best Western in Monterey was far better and these are chains!!!

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies if you wish and our room had a full kitchen so you can cook for yourself i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PTTraveler101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surferpaul, General Manager at The Eagle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Seems like you didn't like the breakfast that we provide at no charge. Sorry to hear that. I'm surprised that over 5 days there was nothing that you cared for especially as each day there's something different. I do like your suggestion about leaving topical books out. However, in the past, when we have put out guide books, or coffee table books about Santa Barbara, they tend to go missing. And that is pretty frustrating. Anyhoo....regarding our classification as a B&B. We don't really consider ourselves a bed and breakfast. More of a boutique hotel. Trip Advisor lists us in the B&B section because our front desk is not open 24 hrs per day. So sorry if you were mis-directed by their categories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I stayed here two nights for business. Like a lot of small family-run places it has positives and negatives, which may be different for business or vacation travelers. Its located in a quiet mixed residential-small hotel area a couple of blocks from the beach. The location is probably better for vacationers--while the area is pleasant, its south of the busy Highway 101, and the main part of town to the north. Most of the businesses on the south side cater to the tourist trade. There are only few streets that cross under the highway. But ii is just a block from a nice park, and if you’re up for a little exercise, a short uphill climb will get you to the campus of Santa Barbara City College, with great ocean views.

I had a standard King room with no fireplace or whirlpool bath, which was no big deal since I was alone and travelling on business, The room was a little on the small side but well-laid out. It has both A/C and a ceiling fan, which was nice because it happened to be very warm when I was there. The desk was pretty small--between the lamp and my laptop, it was cramped. Being an older building, my second-floor room creaked and cracked in a couple of places, which didn’t bother me, but could have annoyed whoever was below. The small bathroom was nicely appointed and squeaky clean (a big deal for me), with dual massage shower heads on opposite walls, which was a nice touch after a long drive.

The bed was very comfortable with plenty of pillows for late-night reading, and the lighting was excellent. Given the building’s age, the floor must have been uneven, because the doors on the TV armoire kept trying to swing shut. The TV is on a pull-out shelf, which kept the doors open, but because of the room’s small size, it made moving between the armoire and the bed a bit tricky.

I took advantage of the free breakfast, which was quite good. The overall ambience is quite homey and inviting. I would definitely come back for a weekend getaway but might choose a different location for a business trip.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a quiet room--location in a place this small is important!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mstimc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surferpaul, General Manager at The Eagle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Seems like you didn't like the breakfast that we provide at no charge. Sorry to hear that. I'm surprised that over 5 days there was nothing that you cared for especially as each day there's something different. I do like your suggestion about leaving topical books out. However, in the past, when we have put out guide books, or coffee table books about Santa Barbara, they tend to go missing. And that is pretty frustrating. Anyhoo....regarding our classification as a B&B. We don't really consider ourselves a bed and breakfast. More of a boutique hotel. Trip Advisor lists us in the B&B section because our front desk is not open 24 hrs per day. So sorry if you were mis-directed by their categories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

A beautiful authentic Spanish inn located in a beautiful peaceful neighborhood within walking distance to harbor, wharf, State St. restaurants, galleries, shops, Court House, museum and the infamous Brewhouse. Architecture is beautifully appropriate with tiles and murals, rooms are immaculate and beautifully designed, service and staff very pleasant and helpful, and the full breakfast in the morning is also not only beautiful but very relaxing. Have stayed here many times over the years and will keep coming back, a treasure in Santa Barbara.

Room Tip: Large rooms with balconies are a special treat, a great place to stay no matter which room you may c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorothy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
475 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
849 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#7 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
575 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel Santa Barbara
#25 of 52 in Santa Barbara
335 reviews
1.0 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eagle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eagle Inn

Address: 232 Natoma Ave, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3522
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range: £123 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Eagle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eagle Inn is a romantic quiet boutique hotel located just 2 blocks from the beach. We are a ten minute walk to downtown and The Funk Zone and all of the activities and attractions Santa Barbara has to offer. We have bikes, free, for you to use, and offer free parking and serve a complimentary, tasty cooked breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Eagle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing