We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, intimate old Spanish style oasis near the beach”
Review of The Eagle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Eagle Inn
Ranked #2 of 18 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We just had a wonderful stay at the Eagle Inn. Stayed in the deluxe queen room. It was wonderful! Romantic canopy bed, large fireplace, patio with lots of seating, beautifully decorated and very clean.
The Spanish style architecture really set the mood. Love the carved wooden doors and terra cotta tiling. The gardens are lovingly attended, and we saw and heard many songbirds from our balcony early in the morning.
Breakfast (included) is prepared fresh according to your order. Choices were eggs, meat, fruit, bagels, yogurt, granola, waffles.
Location is wonderful, very close to the beach and marina, but on a quiet side street.
Staff are friendly and very accommodating. We are anxious to return and try one of the casitas.

Room Tip: If you're travelling with friends or family, the Deluxe Queen room has a large patio and seating...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WildAtHeartland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surferpaul, General Manager at The Eagle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

I'm so happy that you enjoyed your time here. The balcony for your room (room 220, deluxe queen) is great. Looking towards the ocean you get plenty of sun and with four chairs and two chaises lounges, you get plenty of opportunity to kick back and relax. Glad to hear that the breakfasts were nice too. Thanks for staying, and come again soon.
Paul Bullock
The Eagle Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,944)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,220 - 1,226 of 1,944 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stayed there last week - a week away from Easter- it was a busy time in Santa Barbara. Loved the style of this boutique hotel, spanish inspiration, beautiful furniture. The staff is very helpful and friendly, complimentary breakfast is offered, not your usual continental , but a new choice of 2 different dishes every morning.
Rooms are nice, I would upgrade next time to a higher standard ( for more space ) beds extremely comfortable.
One point though: Avoid rooms 101 and 102 on the ground floor: they are noisy and 102 has the staircase leading to the upper floor right against one of its walls. As floors are tiled, every step can be heard.

Room Tip: See above. Avoid rooms 101 and 102
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martineb_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surferpaul, General Manager at The Eagle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for writing a great review. And thank you for complimenting the staff. They love to hear it!
All the best
Paul Bullock
The Eagle Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I had a perfect stay at this beautiful little hotel. Location was perfect -- quiet neighborhood close to everything. Breakfasts were great -- it's so nice to have a cooked-to-order breakfast served to you instead of the usual buffet on paper/plastic. I can't say enough good about the Eagle Inn!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surferpaul, General Manager at The Eagle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for your kind words. We do try hard to be different from the usual hotel/motel experience and our breakfasts are one of the ways we do this. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciate the effort we make.
Cheers!
Paul Bullock
The Eagle Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

My boyfriend and I were looking for a last minute overnight stay in Santa Barbara when we were out and California and he accidentally stumbled across this hotel. The website showed that they didn't have vacancy but he thought he'd try his luck and called. And did we luck out… one room available for the exact night we needed it!

I am so happy we stumbled upon this place as it ended up being a great stay! We were in the Santa Rosa room and it was wonderful! It was very comfortable and spacious, along with a soaker hot tub in the room!

It was a just quick walking distance to the main roads in Santa Barbara so we were never in need of a car or anything. We really enjoyed our stay and would try to come back the next time we are in the area!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lena088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surferpaul, General Manager at The Eagle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Well you guys sure did get a great room! The Santa Rosa Casita is one of the most sought after. It is so relaxing to be up there. It's so private with no neighbors, a balcony, and the awesome whirlpool tub. Thanks for writing your review. I hope you get to come back soon.
All the best.
Paul Bullock
General Manager
The Eagle Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We really were looking forward to our stay at the Eagle Inn. So many great reviews. Unfortunately we were very disappointed with our stay. We were in Santa Barbara to celebrate "decade" birthdays for both myself and a close friend. Loved Santa Barbara. Unimpressed with the Inn.

On the plus side: Great Location. Nice breakfast.

On the minus side: Very small room (104) that had very little space to move around. The bathroom had no place to put your toiletries, except for small shelf above the toilet. There was an old plastic shower head with little water pressure that kept moving to straight down. (Yes, I do understand there is a severe water shortage, which is why an updated shower head would be a nice upgrade to the room). Evidently the laundry or storage room was across from our room, as there was either a full or empty laundry basket outside our door pretty much the entire time. Really, do I need to step around dirty sheets to get access to my door.

We will definitely be back to Santa Barbara, but would never stay here again.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 104.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alangood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surferpaul, General Manager at The Eagle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

I'm very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I do appreciate you writing to make me aware of your experience. I have spoken with the housekeeping staff to ensure they do not leave their carts in the hallways anymore. And, at your suggestion, I have changed the shower head too. We would have been happy to make the changes while you were staying here as we take each customer's enjoyment seriously.
Thanks for trying The Eagle Inn.
Paul Bullock
General Manager
The Eagle Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Location was great! Close enough to the main street to walk and close to the beach. Stayed in the Santa Rosa room, very nice with fireplace, balcony and jacuzzi. Would highly recommend it! Staff seemed friendly. I would stay here again when back in Santa Barbara.

Room Tip: Book the Santa Rosa room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimking2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surferpaul, General Manager at The Eagle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you reviewing our hotel. Location is everything and being close to the beach and State St. makes it easy for our guests to walk or ride a bike everywhere. Thanks for staying with us, and I'm glad that you enjoyed your time here. Please do come back.
Paul Bullock
General Manager
The Eagle Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My husband & I stayed here one night, during our PCH trip. It was our first time in a B&B and it was great! The room itself was clean and had great amenities including a Kuerig, which I desperately missed from home. The staff was very nice and recommended a good seafood restaurant for dinner. The breakfast in the morning was great!

The only two downfalls: One, we were in room #221 and in the morning we were awoken to a loud TV at 5am and not to far after that a crying baby. We hadn't heard anything the night before, just at 5am +. Two, the breakfast need bigger coffee cups. The cups they had both to eat in and take out had to have been 4oz cups.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crtny2983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surferpaul, General Manager at The Eagle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Well I'm glad that your first B&B experience was with us, and that you enjoyed your stay. We recently put those Keurig coffee machines in the rooms and have been getting great comments about them. I'll see about getting some bigger coffee cups!
Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
455 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
819 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#7 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#10 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,332 reviews
0.0 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
751 reviews
1.0 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eagle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eagle Inn

Address: 232 Natoma Ave, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3522
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range: £127 - £296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Eagle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eagle Inn is a romantic quiet boutique hotel located just 2 blocks from the beach. We are a ten minute walk to downtown and The Funk Zone and all of the activities and attractions Santa Barbara has to offer. We have bikes, free, for you to use, and offer free parking and serve a complimentary, tasty cooked breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Eagle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing