We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very small room for the price” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Eagle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Eagle Inn
Ranked #2 of 18 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very small room for the price”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2008

Based on the positive reviews for this hotel, we booked a "deluxe queen room" for a Friday night at $179 (not bad for Santa Barbara). However, we were stunned at how small the room was, on the second floor with no elevator. There was so much furniture in it that we could hardly move. I found the experience to be very claustrophobic. Also, I couldn't get the complimentary wifi to work on my laptop in my room. The breakfast was basic continental. That said, if you can afford the larger rooms (at $375) you might be able to enjoy it.

  • Liked — Close to the beach
  • Disliked — teensy room
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank junawally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,712 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,185
    397
    87
    30
    13
See reviews for
223
1,159
68
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2008

I loved this place! I was fortunate enough to be able to snag a reservation last minute. Because of the last-minute reservation (The Thursday before a Friday check-In for 2 nights), we had a deluxe king room on Friday (Rm. 103), and then the San Nicolas cottage the next night.

Location:
Perfect. It was close to the 101 Freeway and the train station. The beach was also a two minute walk and the main street, State St., was all of a 5 minute walk away. Despite its close proximity to everything, it was in a quiet neighborhood. (I heard some trains, but i live near tracks at home, and the noise never bothered me)

Rooms:
Deluxe - it was awesome! The bathroom was more than adequate with cool details. The balcony overlooked the street and was shaded by trees. The fireplace was cool, although we didn't use it 'cause it was perfect weather (in the 70's).
San Nicolas - Even better than awesome! Its not an individual cottage, but is on the second level of a building in the complex, with parking below your room (not sure of the cottage rooms were all attached, but we were attached to at least one). The room itself was amazing, the bathroom was clean with modern touches and a shower for 2 people. That is on top of the hot tub in the corner of the room! There was a little dining area next to the balcony with a fridge and a microwave (great for all of the stuff that we bought at the nearby farmer's market!) And the bed was perfect (fluffy, soft sheets, and lots of pillows!)

Amenities: Loved the free parking, the free breakfast (they had the best apple muffin EVER), free WiFi and if you didn't have a laptop, they have internet access with a printer.

Staff: Very helpful overall, from the kitchen to the cleaning staff! When we had to move rooms, they took care of moving our luggage for us.

Overall: If there was a choice for 6 circles, I would have voted for that!

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CASAROO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
socal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2008

My wife and I needed a get away for the weekend to pamper ourselves from the unrelenting task of parenting a toddler and of course working.
We booked a stay at the Eagle Inn as we heard that a stay there can do wonders for your psyche and give that feeling of rejuvenation.
Well we were pleased to say the least. The room was beyond what we had anticipated. We stayed in the Santa Catalina cottage. Wow! From the room decor to the amenities, everything here is made to sooth. We took advantage of everything we could. A large double shower with water spraying out at you from both sides and a large whirlpool bath that was lined with rose petals, yes rose petals was much to our delight. The staff was polite the room was immaculate the stay was wonderful. It did just what we wanted. . .Rejuvenate us.
Highly recommended.

Also it is close to the beach and downtown where we also had a great time during our stay.

  • Liked — relaxing atmosphere
  • Disliked — seriously that we couldn't stay longer
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oceanp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2008

We stayed at the Eagle Inn for one night while visiting my sister, en route to Monterey. It was absolutely perfect for a stopover like ours, we had room 10 which is the really nice one you see on the website and brochure so worth asking for it - it's billed as a superior king with whirlpool - I found it hilarious that there was a whirlpool bath in the corner, complete with beautiful tiling, bath amenities, a beautiful orchid and 2 wine glasses! It is just off the coast road in quite a residential area. The decor was a bit dated but it seemed to blend perfectly with the overall property, and had a comfortable relaxed feel about it. It had a tea / coffee maker (always nice to have I think), a fridge (very welcome and super handy for storing that Pinot Grigio for your bubble bath later on!!), and a nice balcony. The en suite bathroom was small but clean (obvi separate from the in-room whirlpool bath!). It was refreshing to have breakfast included for once during our trip, albeit very simple - cereals, pastries, juice, tea/coffee but nice to get you started for the day - the amount of times I left hotels starving in the morning on the hunt for breakfast!! Free internet and printing was also a nice touch, and overall the service was friendly, down to earth and relaxed (in a good way!). Not sure I would stay there for a week or something, but perfect for a night or two! The room photos were taken after we'd checked out so it was cleaned and curtains drawn but believe me, it was lovely and bright and airy once you opened the net curtains!

  • Liked — The spanish-style decor, the whirlpool bath, the room, free parking
  • Disliked — Nothing really stands out!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank KCZUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2008

A great fine! My husband and I booked our room on the basis of the reviews that we read. We spent 2 nights on 8/27-8/29 in the San Clemente cottage which was only a week old. We actually arrived before our check in time and was able to get into our room - though we did check in during the week - so weekends might be different.
Our room had tasteful decor and the whirlpool tub for 2 by the bed was an added plus. Hot water runs quickly and the shower provided 2 showerheads with good water pressure. Bed was comfy and provided a good night sleep. Our cottage came with a sitting area and desk which we could plug in our laptop and they provide free internet. Mini fridge & microwave with coffeemaker, dishware & glassware. Didn't find any utencils though. 2 LCD TVs and a DVD player.
They provide off-street parking and there were covered parking (3 spaces) under one of the cottage buildings which was a few steps from our door. Well insulated room that we could not hear the other cottage guests. They had recently installed a water fountain by our cottage door. It was noisy the first night and when we went to comment on the noise level they kindly installed a timer so it shut of during the evening.
They provide a complimentary continental breakfast of coffee, tea, juice, muffins/pastries, bagels, fruit, dry cereals & milk.
They are located on a quiet residental street surrounded by other inns and apartments. 2 blocks from the beach and within walking distance of the Wharf or State Street - 3-5 mins. via car.
Recommendations from the front desk for restaurants were wonderful - if you like Italian try Emilio's 2 blks from the inn on Cabrillo Blvd.
We'll be staying there again & again while in Santa Barbara!

  • Liked — Overall - we had a enjoyable stay
  • Disliked — Nothing to complain about
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SoCalGal180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2008

After days and days of research and reading countless reviews we finally decided on staying at the Eagle Inn. My expectations were high since so many people raved about the property, unfortunately the Inn was a total disappointment. First off, I have stayed in bed and breakfasts and this isn't a traditional bed and breakfast, the room seemed dirty, the bedspread and curtains looked like they had not been cleaned in years. There were spider webs and the decor of the room was just not very inviting (think cheap looking pictures, ugly bedspread and curtains, even grandma wouldn't approve), also the water pressure in the shower was non existent. The towels in the bathroom felt like sandpaper and the continental breakfast was also a major let down. The baked goods were stale and no one ever came to replenish the food once it was gone. I hate to leave a bad review because the Eagle Inn does try to be this quaint little place, but for me something was missing. On the positive side, the Inn is in a great location near the beach and State Street and the front desk personnel were friendly. Maybe I just stayed in a bad room, but whatever the case, I won't be returning anytime soon.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room was dirty and decor not inviting
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank heaveninc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surferpaul, General Manager at The Eagle Inn, responded to this review, 15 September 2008
I have sent a message directly to this reviewer, but have had no response. My comments are as follows:
We do not advertise ourselves as a B&B, we do not serve a full breakfast and we have more rooms than the typical B&B. I believe that our website and the other reviews here make that clear.

I am very proud of our housekeepers. They spend a good deal of time in each room taking great pains to ensure the rooms they clean are cleaned well.

Our breakfast pastries are delivered fresh every day from a local bakery. There is nothing served that is old. We also have a staff member on duty while the breakfast is served who does nothing but attend to the guests and replenish the various items that run low.

Our front desk staff is friendly and readily available to assist guests with their needs. If the reviewer would have asked for a different room or different bedding etc. perhaps his experience would have been different.
Thank you
Paul Bullock
The Eagle Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2008

We stayed here for one night and wished we could have stayed longer. We had a room with a jacuzzi. It was spacious, clean and had everything we wanted. The bed was large and comfortable with a ceiling fan above. There was also air conditioning which was very strong when on full. On arrival the room was set out beautifully, e.g wine glasses by the jacuzzi - it looked very welcoming to a weary traveller. There was a fridge and a microwave in the room plus an iron and ironing board, also a hairdrier, coffee maker and a safe. The television came with a dvd player and there was also a fire in the room. Outside was a balcony on which there were two chairs and a table. Breakfast was included in the price and there was a choice of cereals, bagels, muffins and yogurts. Juice was not freshly squeezed.

The Receptionist was very helpful and gave us a map of the area, explaining where everything was and offering suggestions for where we might like to eat. The hotel is close to the beach and pier but it is a longer walk to where most of the nightlife is.

If we came back to Santa Babara we would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Felt very luxurious
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theholidayplanners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#3 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#13 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#32 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#10 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#5 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#17 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eagle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eagle Inn

Property: The Eagle Inn
Address: 232 Natoma Ave, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3522
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Eagle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eagle Inn is a romantic quiet boutique hotel located just 2 blocks from the beach. We are a ten minute walk to downtown and The Funk Zone and all of the activities and attractions Santa Barbara has to offer. We have bikes, free, for you to use, and offer free parking and serve a complimentary, tasty cooked breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Eagle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing