We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of The Eagle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Eagle Inn
Ranked #2 of 18 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I love The Eagle Inn as I use to work there when I was in college. The staff is still just as friendly and the place is so quaint and cozy. Having a balcony was fun too! Even though it was too hot for a fireplace, I love having that as well. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surferpaul, General Manager at The Eagle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thanks for your great review! I'm glad you came back to check out your old stomping grounds! Good luck with law school and thanks very much for all your kind words.
Paul Bullock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,943)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,148 - 1,154 of 1,943 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

Perfect location for enjoying both the town and the beach. Staff is lovely, attentive and caring. Casita was nicely appointed though not overly so. Suggest more hooks for beach towels and wet swimsuits.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ASwimmom2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surferpaul, General Manager at The Eagle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for your appreciation of our staff members. We all work hard to try to make every guest feel welcome and happy. Thanks for the tip about hooks in the bathroom. I'll get some installed!
Thanks very much and please, come again soon.
Paul Bullock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

From the moment we arrived until we left, we were welcomed! The entire staff was very friendly, especially the front desk. Any time we had a question, they had an answer and suggestions on what to do to make our stay a wonderful memory. They had bikes we could borrow at no charge. It was close enough that we could walk to State St. or catch a trolley for $0.50 per trip. The beach to play on was about half a mile or so away to the north or about a mile or more to the south. In between was the harbor with a fun pier to walk out on and shop. The beds were super comfortable with more than enough pillows.
Thanks for a great vacation.

Room Tip: Room 222 had two queen sized beds and a full kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surferpaul, General Manager at The Eagle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

I'm glad that you all enjoyed your stay here. It sure sounds like your weekend trip was a success. Using those bikes to get around town makes everything seem even closer that it already is. Playing on the beach and the pier is so much fun too!. Thanks for choosing The Eagle Inn. I hope you'll all be back again soon.
Paul Bullock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed here 4 nights in June. The property itself is beautiful, like most buildings in Santa Barbara. There are deluxe rooms on each floor with a balcony, jacuzzi tub, fireplace and double shower. We stayed in a regular room our first night, and it was perfectly adequate. However, for the last three nights, we switched rooms with a coworker and stayed in a deluxe room. It's just much more spacious, so I recommend booking a deluxe room if they're available.

As a cookie lover, I also appreciated the daily cookie plate they put out every afternoon. All of the employees we dealt with were super helpful and polite. Both the suites and regular rooms have a small kitchenette with a microwave and fridge. (The fridge in the suite is much larger, though still a mini fridge.) The inn is also walking distance to a small grocery store (Santa Cruz Market). We found that convenient. It's 0.6 miles from Stearn's Wharf, which is a great spot for restaurants and candy shops.

Both room types are furnished with shampoo, conditioner, bar soap, body lotion, a hair dryer, and makeup remover wipes. (I thought that last one was a nice touch!)

The major downside for us was the air conditioning. The hotel has a neat energy saving system where you stick your hotel key card in to run the air conditioning and electricity in the room. (The idea is that, if you're not in your room, the air conditioning isn't running unnecessarily.) But we couldn't get the air conditioning to run consistently enough to cool the room. To be sure, Santa Barbara has dreamy temperatures in June (low 70s with little humidity), but we're used to sleeping in a cold room. So that was a downside for us. We slept with a sheet and kicked all the blankets off the bed.

We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Pick a deluxe room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surferpaul, General Manager at The Eagle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

What a great review, thanks for writing such details! The tip about the candy store on Stearns Wharf is a great one. They have lots of different types of candy - even some imported from England items. I'm glad that you had the opportunity to enjoy so many of Santa Barbara's attractions during your stay. Please come again soon
Paul Bullock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Nice room and facilities. Bathroom had several leaks and shower head would not stay up. Otherwise, nice hotel and in walking distance of State St. We had a nice breakfast and the attendants brought it to us even though it was not technically room service.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surferpaul, General Manager at The Eagle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

I appreciate you bringing the leaky shower to my attention. Things like leaky shower heads are easy to miss - especially if you're not taking a shower! Thanks for giving us the opportunity to fix the issues. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and that you liked having your breakfast delivered to your room. Come again soon!
Paul Bullock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Liked the location,walked to everything, beaches, clubs, shopping, breakfast, etc. Our room lacked a dresser, so we lived out of our siut cases, not happy about that ! Other then the train whistles every morning/ night it was still acceptable. Free breakfast was just that-free, skimpy, nothing exceptional .

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surferpaul, General Manager at The Eagle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for your nice review. It is great to be able to walk or bike ride everywhere around town. I'm glad that you had the opportunity to enjoy all the outdoor activities that Santa Barbara offers.
Paul Bullock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This is a lovely hotel that is far enough away from the busy State st. that it is peaceful and quiet but close enough to easily walk to shops and restaurants. The Santa Rosa room was very nice equipped with a jacuzzi tub and small kitchenette. We loved that they delivered breakfast to the room every morning upon request. If you're looking for a relaxing and romantic get away in Santa Barbara this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mira F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surferpaul, General Manager at The Eagle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

The Santa Rosa Casita is one of my favorite rooms. I really enjoy hanging out on the balcony (as if I have the time!) But it is great to be only a few minutes walk away from the center of town, yet in a quiet area. Thanks for staying with us, and hopefully you'll be back again soon.
Paul Bullock
The Eagle Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
451 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
818 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#7 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#10 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,332 reviews
0.0 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
746 reviews
1.0 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eagle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eagle Inn

Address: 232 Natoma Ave, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3522
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range: £123 - £291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Eagle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eagle Inn is a romantic quiet boutique hotel located just 2 blocks from the beach. We are a ten minute walk to downtown and The Funk Zone and all of the activities and attractions Santa Barbara has to offer. We have bikes, free, for you to use, and offer free parking and serve a complimentary, tasty cooked breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Eagle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing