We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fabulous place to stay”
Review of The Eagle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Eagle Inn
Ranked #2 of 18 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Thousand Oaks, California
1 review
“What a fabulous place to stay”
Reviewed 26 March 2009

Clean, quiet, friendly, charming, just cannot say enough. Sits in a residential neighborhood with old Santa Barbara charm. I am a walker and this is paradise. Short walk (2blks) to Marina and Beach. Marina has great restaurants and is not as crowded as Stearns Wharf, which is about a 15 min walk. If you walk to Stearns, you can catch shuttle bus (free) and travel up and down State St. Lots of shopping, small restuarants (try the TAJ for great Indian cuisine) and theatres. Train station is 5 min walk away, if you want to come in by train. If you are adventurous - take the bus to the end of the line on State and walk to the Mission. It is only a mile walk through a incredible neighborhood and the Mission is well worth the time. Or try the 4 mile walk to Hendry's beach; great food, wonderful restored wetland, incredible beach - well worth a day's trip on foot. I come here yearly for a 5-day getaway and always leave relaxed. Staff is great, continental breakfast is fresh, filling and served in a wonderful room with a balcony table - which I heartily recommend. Parking is off the street. Rates are very reasonable for this area and lower than surrounding hotels. You cannot go wrong.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PricelessTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,838 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,277
    418
    92
    34
    17
See reviews for
243
1,246
70
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2009

I had never been to Santa Barbara before and initially had no idea on where to stay during my trip. After hours/days of researching, I found the Eagle Inn on the internet and it had everything I wanted for my weekend trip so I booked the 'Santa Barbara' cottage. When I arrived at the Inn, I realized that it was even better in person than I had imagined...private cottage that really felt like a home and not even close to being a stuffy hotel room...whirlpool tub for two decorated with rose petals (Inn was happy to fulfill this request complimentary to celebrate a special occasion & even wrote a card) and huge shower with double showerheads...an attached living room perfect for our amazing in-room massages (thanks to the nearby spa)...two flat screen tvs...private outdoor patio...very spacious and clean...I honestly could go on and on about how wonderful the place was to us. If you are looking to have a romantic weekend in Santa Barbara, I highly recommend spending the extra dollars for a cottage at the Eagle Inn...trust me, you will see that it is completely worth it.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaisyLove77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2009

I stayed at the Eagle Inn for two nights at the end of January. The photographs on the website are accurate. The rooms are lovely. I had a large King room that had a fireplace and large balcony. The balcony is actually the one directly over the front door in the pictures of the front of the inn. I feared it might be noisey but I was able to leave the balcony door open and didn't hear any noise from the street. It was great to sit out there in the morning with coffee from the buffet downstairs and watch the sunrise through the palm trees. There are no highrise buildings between the inn and the beach so it's a decent view of low buildings and tall palm trees.

The beach, marina, whale watch tour boats, and restaurants are two short blocks (about 3 minutes) walk away. It's on the corner of a quiet residential street with little traffic. If you stay on the main street across from the beach you'll hear/see near constant traffic.

The breakfast buffet is adequate but basic. It's basic continental with small pastries and fruit but it's enough to get you started for the day. The coffee is good and I always took a big mug back up to my room.

As a single woman traveling alone I always felt safe in the area of the inn. I didn't feel as comfortable with some of the young crowds hanging out near the beach but it was easy to avoid those areas after dark as I walked back from dinner to the inn since they weren't near the inn.

The Eagle Inn is not inexpensive but compared to many of the other hotels in the area it is a good deal and especially for the quality of the accommodation. I would definitely stay there again if I return to Santa Barbara which is a lovely town to visit.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarillo
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2009

I was definitely taken back at the styling of the rooms looking at them online. Actually staying there I literally felt as if it was a home away from home. It really topped off a wonderful mini vacation in Santa Barbara and I would definitely recommend this place to couples looking for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brianfahlman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2009

Incredible staff, atmosphere, location, and ambiance ! Our room was a private get - away complete with a jacuzzi tub, two person shower, comfortable bed and a nice cozy fire. Our kitchenette provided a touch of luxury for our romantic late night love snacks !

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VanCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2009

Perfect getaway! We stayed in one of the cottages and had the Romance Package. Highly recommend!!! The room was so nice. The bed was amazing to sleep in! Double spa, great shower, and a lovely balcony. Peaceful and quiet! Great location. Can walk to State Street. The beach is a 3 min walk away! Can't wait to go again!

  • Liked — The Romance Package!
  • Disliked — The Continental Breakfast was lame compared to the quality of everything else.
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BerryGirlLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2009

The Eagle Inn is a gem: charming, clean, well-located and reasonably priced. I was in the area for business; I stayed for a week and hated to leave, the hotel was so delightful. The front desk staff is particularly accomodating; they provided excellent service, with rock-solid recommendations for restaurants and leisure activities. The warm cookies and tea in the evenings were especially welcome. All in all, an A+ experience ... I will definitely return.

  • Liked — price, location, cleanliness, service
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dh0p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.0 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
736 reviews
0.0 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#13 of 52 in Santa Barbara
671 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#21 of 52 in Santa Barbara
332 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,020 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eagle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eagle Inn

Property: The Eagle Inn
Address: 232 Natoma Ave, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3522
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Eagle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eagle Inn is a romantic quiet boutique hotel located just 2 blocks from the beach. We are a ten minute walk to downtown and The Funk Zone and all of the activities and attractions Santa Barbara has to offer. We have bikes, free, for you to use, and offer free parking and serve a complimentary, tasty cooked breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Eagle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing