We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful surprise!”
Review of The Eagle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Eagle Inn
Ranked #2 of 18 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 27 April 2009

We stayed at the Eagle Inn, for four nights and we were happily surprised by
the room, the staff and the location. The San Nicholas room we stayed in was just amazing. We enjoyed the double size jacuzzi, and the bed was sooo comfortable. We had not expected the perfect cozy, quiet environment.
I wish everyone could have the wonderful experience we had. The Inn even
has bicycles for guest to use free of charge, and since it is a few blocks from the pier and a few streets over from State street, the main street
through town, bicycles were fun to use. The staff was so nice. It felt like
we were staying with family.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leen444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,944)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,722 - 1,728 of 1,944 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2009

Lovely Mediterranean-style hotel close to beautiful beach, good restaurants, shopping on State Street. Courteous, helpful staff. Reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LGRSacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2009

The Eagle Inn was a luxurious stay after a long road trip. It's a bit off the beach but in a lovely location. The hotel is only a few blocks from the beach, close enough for a nighttime stroll. The room was super clean and the bathrooms were delux.

We stayed in the San Clemente and loved all of the extra space.

If you are in town for dinner I recommend drinks at Joe's and dinner at The Palace around the corner, delish!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendyverse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2009

From the minute we walked in the staff made us feel right at home. They gave us restaurant recommendations, tips on things to do in the area as well as other parts of California...they were absolutely wonderful. We didn't want to stay at a chain hotel so this was an awesome place to stay where we could feel comfortable and experience the Santa Barbara culture. They made us feel so at home! We loved it and will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorif_0809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2009

This was the fourth time my wife and I have stayed at the Eagle Inn. It just keeps getting better. They have just recently added four brand new "cottages." These are actually beautiful suites with king beds, flat screen TV's, fireplaces and huge deep jaccuzzi tubs. These include my all time favorite shower with two shower heads. There is a sitting area with couch, chair and table and refrig and microwave. I could live here.
The staff has always been very nice and helpful with tips about restaurants and activities.Of course we never get past the Palace Grill and Brophy Brothers. The Palace off State St. on Ortega and Brophy's overlooking the habour and the best part is they are both within walking distance. We have recommended this place to all of our friends and can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LPMP71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2009

Clean, quiet, friendly, charming, just cannot say enough. Sits in a residential neighborhood with old Santa Barbara charm. I am a walker and this is paradise. Short walk (2blks) to Marina and Beach. Marina has great restaurants and is not as crowded as Stearns Wharf, which is about a 15 min walk. If you walk to Stearns, you can catch shuttle bus (free) and travel up and down State St. Lots of shopping, small restuarants (try the TAJ for great Indian cuisine) and theatres. Train station is 5 min walk away, if you want to come in by train. If you are adventurous - take the bus to the end of the line on State and walk to the Mission. It is only a mile walk through a incredible neighborhood and the Mission is well worth the time. Or try the 4 mile walk to Hendry's beach; great food, wonderful restored wetland, incredible beach - well worth a day's trip on foot. I come here yearly for a 5-day getaway and always leave relaxed. Staff is great, continental breakfast is fresh, filling and served in a wonderful room with a balcony table - which I heartily recommend. Parking is off the street. Rates are very reasonable for this area and lower than surrounding hotels. You cannot go wrong.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PricelessTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2009

I had never been to Santa Barbara before and initially had no idea on where to stay during my trip. After hours/days of researching, I found the Eagle Inn on the internet and it had everything I wanted for my weekend trip so I booked the 'Santa Barbara' cottage. When I arrived at the Inn, I realized that it was even better in person than I had imagined...private cottage that really felt like a home and not even close to being a stuffy hotel room...whirlpool tub for two decorated with rose petals (Inn was happy to fulfill this request complimentary to celebrate a special occasion & even wrote a card) and huge shower with double showerheads...an attached living room perfect for our amazing in-room massages (thanks to the nearby spa)...two flat screen tvs...private outdoor patio...very spacious and clean...I honestly could go on and on about how wonderful the place was to us. If you are looking to have a romantic weekend in Santa Barbara, I highly recommend spending the extra dollars for a cottage at the Eagle Inn...trust me, you will see that it is completely worth it.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaisyLove77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
455 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
819 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#7 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#10 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,332 reviews
0.0 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
751 reviews
1.0 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eagle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eagle Inn

Address: 232 Natoma Ave, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3522
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range: £127 - £296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Eagle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eagle Inn is a romantic quiet boutique hotel located just 2 blocks from the beach. We are a ten minute walk to downtown and The Funk Zone and all of the activities and attractions Santa Barbara has to offer. We have bikes, free, for you to use, and offer free parking and serve a complimentary, tasty cooked breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Eagle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing