We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Eagle Inn
Nearby Hotels
Santa Barbara Inn(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$298
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$243
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$211
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$241
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$213
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Franciscan Inn & Suites(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kimpton Canary Hotel(Santa Barbara)
US$482
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$341
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Santa Barbara Beachfront Resort(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$376
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$337
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Harbor View Inn(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$308
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$215
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$207
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbor House Inn(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$252
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Wayfarer(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$215
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,140)
Filter reviews
2,140 results
Traveller rating
1,521
463
100
37
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,521
463
100
37
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssan clementestate streetdouble showerrose petalswhirlpool tubbreakfast roomwithin walking distancetwo blocksshort walk to the beachquiet neighborhoodnice breakfastspanish stylegranolaamtrak stationromantic getawayeach morningno elevator
Filter
Updating list...
1,853 - 1,858 of 2,140 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2010

This a great place for your stay in Santa Barbara--as noted in other reviews it is close to everything and really easy access to and from the main highway/roads--everyone is very pleasant and helpful--the rooms are spotless and very well laid out--I will definitely stay there again--the only thing is I will book a room with a patio/balcony--coming from the second coldest Capital in the world I found the temperatures in March absolutely balmy and regretted not having my own patio--although I did take advantage of the one off the breakfast room as no one else seemed to want to sit outside!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlennfrmOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2010

We actually got this hotel by accident, but I am glad we did. The hotel is close to the pier, State street, all walking distance to both and since parking can be a challenge this was a plus. This sounds funny, but it was really great to have the front desk clerk as we walked by greet us with a smile and offered help/map of Santa Barbara. That goes a long way in my book, since I've stayed in many hotels with blah staff.. Ps The building is gorgous.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkSanRamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surferpaul, Owner at The Eagle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2010

Thanks Mark,
I appreciate your kind words. It's also great to hear that the staff are going the extra mile to help make your stay better.
I hope to see you on your next visit to Santa Barbara.
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2010

We recently spent a couple of nights at the Eagle Inn and overall we were happy with our choice.

First, what we liked. The staff are all great: very friendly, helpful and accommodating. The room itself was pleasant and clean and we enjoyed the "luxury" sheets. The breakfast was also really good: although it's not a hot breakfast they have really good muffins, breads and fresh fruit to get your day off to a good start. We also really liked the location - very close to the beachfront although a bit of a walk from the action part of State Street. The wireless internet was free and quite fast.

What did we dislike? The room was surprisingly noisy early in the morning although the hotel is on a seemingly quiet street. With the window open for some fresh air, we were woken up early by traffic noise (garbage trucks?). So keep the window closed if you want to sleep in. Our biggest dislike was the lack of ventilation in the bathroom: there is no extractor fan and the window is sealed and cannot open. The bathroom can therefore get very steamy and a little gross. A final (minor) concern is that the towels seemed very rough and cheap compared to the overall atmosphere of the hotel.

Taken together, we would definitely recommend this hotel for your stay in Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank etb2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2010

My husband and I like to walk and like to bike. Our stay at the Eagle Inn provided us with a chance to get some fresh air. Located close to downtown the Inn was a nice walk away from the shops and restaurants. In this bike friendly town it was easy to hop on our bikes and take an amazing ride in the hills above Santa Barbara. Room was comfortable and even though noise was audible as people walked up and down the stairs all was quiet for a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hikenbikeSantaCruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2010

We return again and again, with never a disappointment. The staff at the Eagle is well-trained, friendly and efficient. They go out of their way to please. The super comfy beds and well appointed rooms make our stay a relaxing home-away-from-home vacation. (Fresh-baked cookies in the afternoon are my husband's favorite treat.)

Breakfast has a new fruit choice; rather than whole fruits, there are bowls of luscious cut-up seasonal fresh fruit...yum. With yogurts, pastries, multiple bread choices, bagels, cereals, juice and excellent coffee, we were happy campers.

Santa Barbara is blessed with numerous excellent restaurants, most within walking distance of the Inn...Emilio's, The Brewhouse, and the many other fine eateries in the State Street area and wharf. Besides the culinary delights, there's lots to do in this town. Every time we visit we explore even more. This year we enjoyed the Art Museum and its two traveling exhibits--world class-- and the next day we biked to the Zoo! The very best activity, of course, is the Eagle Inn's proximity to the beautiful beach and wharf. Daily walks by the ocean are the best!

Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank bikerchick66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews