We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Santa Barbara weekend.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Eagle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Eagle Inn
Ranked #3 of 18 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Harrisonburg, VA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Santa Barbara weekend.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2010

The Eagle Inn in Santa Barbara was a great choice for a relaxing weekend. We were looking for a place close to the beach and the shopping district for a weekend stay prior to a business meeting down the coast closer to L.A. The Eagle inn was just what we were looking for. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast set-up was quite nice and the room was very comfortable. The location made for a short walk to the beach and a very manageable walk to the shopping distirct and lots of restaurants. Price was very reasonable.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueRidgeRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,789 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,242
    409
    89
    34
    15
See reviews for
234
1,208
70
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2010

When we received a gift certificate for BedandBreakfast.com we weren't sure where we would use it. On the spur of the moment we called The Eagle Inn and were able to book a room. The room was really a small cottage with a sitting room, bedroom, small area with microwave and fridge, double whirlpool bath and double shower, and private patio. The amenities were spectacular, the staff very friendly and helpful, and the room/linens very fresh and clean. The hotel is withing walking distance of the marina, wharf, and many great restaurants. This is a perfect place for a romantic weekend, anniversary, honeymoon, or just a present to yourself.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravelus63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2010

This a great place for your stay in Santa Barbara--as noted in other reviews it is close to everything and really easy access to and from the main highway/roads--everyone is very pleasant and helpful--the rooms are spotless and very well laid out--I will definitely stay there again--the only thing is I will book a room with a patio/balcony--coming from the second coldest Capital in the world I found the temperatures in March absolutely balmy and regretted not having my own patio--although I did take advantage of the one off the breakfast room as no one else seemed to want to sit outside!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlennfrmOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Ramon, CA
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2010

We actually got this hotel by accident, but I am glad we did. The hotel is close to the pier, State street, all walking distance to both and since parking can be a challenge this was a plus. This sounds funny, but it was really great to have the front desk clerk as we walked by greet us with a smile and offered help/map of Santa Barbara. That goes a long way in my book, since I've stayed in many hotels with blah staff.. Ps The building is gorgous.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkSanRamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surferpaul, Owner at The Eagle Inn, responded to this review, 20 March 2010
Thanks Mark,
I appreciate your kind words. It's also great to hear that the staff are going the extra mile to help make your stay better.
I hope to see you on your next visit to Santa Barbara.
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2010

We recently spent a couple of nights at the Eagle Inn and overall we were happy with our choice.

First, what we liked. The staff are all great: very friendly, helpful and accommodating. The room itself was pleasant and clean and we enjoyed the "luxury" sheets. The breakfast was also really good: although it's not a hot breakfast they have really good muffins, breads and fresh fruit to get your day off to a good start. We also really liked the location - very close to the beachfront although a bit of a walk from the action part of State Street. The wireless internet was free and quite fast.

What did we dislike? The room was surprisingly noisy early in the morning although the hotel is on a seemingly quiet street. With the window open for some fresh air, we were woken up early by traffic noise (garbage trucks?). So keep the window closed if you want to sleep in. Our biggest dislike was the lack of ventilation in the bathroom: there is no extractor fan and the window is sealed and cannot open. The bathroom can therefore get very steamy and a little gross. A final (minor) concern is that the towels seemed very rough and cheap compared to the overall atmosphere of the hotel.

Taken together, we would definitely recommend this hotel for your stay in Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank etb2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santa cruz
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2010

My husband and I like to walk and like to bike. Our stay at the Eagle Inn provided us with a chance to get some fresh air. Located close to downtown the Inn was a nice walk away from the shops and restaurants. In this bike friendly town it was easy to hop on our bikes and take an amazing ride in the hills above Santa Barbara. Room was comfortable and even though noise was audible as people walked up and down the stairs all was quiet for a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hikenbikeSantaCruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Valley, CA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2010

We return again and again, with never a disappointment. The staff at the Eagle is well-trained, friendly and efficient. They go out of their way to please. The super comfy beds and well appointed rooms make our stay a relaxing home-away-from-home vacation. (Fresh-baked cookies in the afternoon are my husband's favorite treat.)

Breakfast has a new fruit choice; rather than whole fruits, there are bowls of luscious cut-up seasonal fresh fruit...yum. With yogurts, pastries, multiple bread choices, bagels, cereals, juice and excellent coffee, we were happy campers.

Santa Barbara is blessed with numerous excellent restaurants, most within walking distance of the Inn...Emilio's, The Brewhouse, and the many other fine eateries in the State Street area and wharf. Besides the culinary delights, there's lots to do in this town. Every time we visit we explore even more. This year we enjoyed the Art Museum and its two traveling exhibits--world class-- and the next day we biked to the Zoo! The very best activity, of course, is the Eagle Inn's proximity to the beautiful beach and wharf. Daily walks by the ocean are the best!

Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bikerchick66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.0 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
0.0 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#10 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#32 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#15 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eagle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eagle Inn

Property: The Eagle Inn
Address: 232 Natoma Ave, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3522
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Eagle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eagle Inn is a romantic quiet boutique hotel located just 2 blocks from the beach. We are a ten minute walk to downtown and The Funk Zone and all of the activities and attractions Santa Barbara has to offer. We have bikes, free, for you to use, and offer free parking and serve a complimentary, tasty cooked breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Eagle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing