We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Eagle Inn is a jewel”
Review of The Eagle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Eagle Inn
Ranked #2 of 18 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 23 April 2010

The Eagle In is perfectly located a couple of blocks from the harbor and pier, and a short walk to State Street. We were recommended it by friends, and were delighted with our experience. We stayed in the Santa Barbara cottage, and were also shown a room in the main house. The decor is plush, the linens are fabulous, the bathroom is fantastic. If you can, book a cottage. It is definitely worth it. The website is great and has good descriptions to help you choose the perfect room for you.

They offer a decent continental breakfast, and you can order take-out food to be delivered from a myriad of restaurants close by. The Lazy Acres market is a couple of miles away and has a great deli section. If I remember correctly they told us every room has a fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. Of course, the restaurants in Santa Barbara are amazing so you probably won't want to eat in. A local favorite for Mexican food...El Aguave (noisy, bustling, crowded, but excellent food.)

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deltagaljudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,014)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,720 - 1,726 of 2,014 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2010

This beautiful hotel is located in a quiet street within walking distance of beach, shops and restaurants. The rooms are very spacious and the staff are very helpful with good suggestions for family friendly activities, eating and shopping. A wonderful buffet breakfast is included in the price. As a bonus, our room had a fully equipped kitchen where we could cook dinner.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank g0girlmelb0urne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2010

We spent three nights in the Santa Rosa room, celebrating our anniversary weekend. The Santa Rosa room is a separate cottage from the rest of the hotel and we relished the quiet and the privacy. It's a beautiful room and we actually spent one whole day just enjoying the jacuzzi tub, the balcony and the super-comfortable bed. The Eagle Inn is in a lovely neighborhood but we easily walked to the beach, the wharf, and restaurants and shops on State Street.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaineyMacCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2010

We've stayed twice and plan a third trip. The hotel is walking distance from the train station but more convenient to take the shuttle to the pier and get a free tansfer to the oceanfront shuttle and walk the single block. Santa Barbara is truly set-up for travellers without a vehicle. We had a wonderful time with three grandchildren and one physically challenged adult. The staff was very helpful and knowledgable about the town. After a long day of sightseeing, the quiet hotel was really welcome!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank choosy-suzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2010

We stayed one night at the Eagle Inn and wished it could have been longer. There were three of us and we had a room on the ground floor with two queen beds, hardwood floors, a balcony surrounded by lush greenery and flowers, and a little entryway. The room was beautiful, the bathroom spacious and spotless. We had no issues with street noise, it was very quiet.

The hotel is so pretty. The staff went out of their way to assist us and answer questions. Breakfast was very good and the bowls of fresh fruit were a nice touch.

We chose to taxi the short distance to State Street for shopping and dinner in the evening. Santa Barbara is a lovely town. I highly recommend the Eagle Inn!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank countrycc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2010

My boyfriend and I travel up north to Santa Barbara several times a year, and always stay at the Eagle Inn. It is close to State Street downtown and the beach. The customer service is incredible, and the rooms are very cozy. The cottages are our favorite, but all the rooms are very quaint and comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsquared19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2010

How to have everything go right - from restaurant suggestions to helping us get out the beach cruisers, The Eagle Inn is beautiful, convenient and caring - would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank implement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
490 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
859 reviews
1.5 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,273 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,095 reviews
1.3 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eagle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eagle Inn

Address: 232 Natoma Ave, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3522
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range: £130 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Eagle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eagle Inn is a romantic quiet boutique hotel located just 2 blocks from the beach. We are a ten minute walk to downtown and The Funk Zone and all of the activities and attractions Santa Barbara has to offer. We have bikes, free, for you to use, and offer free parking and serve a complimentary, tasty cooked breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Eagle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing