We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small noisy room”
Review of The Eagle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Eagle Inn
Ranked #3 of 18 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
“Small noisy room”
Reviewed 24 May 2010

Hello
I have checked in for one night and this was just enough.
Very small room, thin walls and we could hear both neighbours snoaring.
Bed was to small and to short.
Bathroom was small, no window, but ok and everything working
We will not stay here again
Herbert

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vollisolator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,838 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,277
    418
    92
    34
    17
See reviews for
243
1,246
70
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2010

We booked 2 nights the the Eagle inn the day before arriving. On our arrival we were met by a very friendly receptionist who provided us with a map of Santa Barbara and pointed out the way into town and to the beach.
Our room was on the ground floor and small but with lovely decor. It looked out onto the car park but was very quiet and this did not distract from the experience. There was a flat screen tv in the room and also free Wi-Fi.
The inn is a 5-10 minute walk to town through a pleasant residential area. The beach is slightly closer.
Coffee and cookies are provided in the reception area in the afternoon and the breakfasts were also very good. The reception closes at 10pm and the front door is locked at this time, although the swipe card for the room also opens the front door.
Considering the average price of hotels in Santa Barbara the Eagle inn is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripleMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2010

My wife and I absolutely loved the Eagle Inn! It is in a great location. I walked to the beach and harbor in the morning - both of which are just a couple blocks away.
The staff is extremely friendly.
We stayed in the cottages adjacent to the main Inn. They are amazing!
We will definitely stay there again on our next trip to Santa Barbara!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2010

Very romantic, very relaxing, very just what I was looking for. We booked a weekend in the Santa Rosa cottage (highly recommend their cottages if you can swing it) and was blown away. I read plenty of reviews and don't understand some of the complaints. "Not a B&B?" No kidding, who said this was a B&B? It's a quaint, charming hotel! "Too loud" Are you kidding me? We were there the weekend of the AVP tournament, which took place not two blocks away, and it was very quiet. If you can't handle an occasional train in a small town (which wasn't even bad by the way), then don't stay in Santa Barbara - but don't blame that on the hotel! Anyway, this place was great. THE ONLY minor issue I had was that the mattress was a little soft in the middle. No support, felt like your midsection was constantly sinking down into it. Put a pillow under the mattress though and the problem was solved.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Another2Cents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginia
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 26 April 2010

We stayed in the San Clemente cottage and really enjoyed it. Our room was separate from the main hotel and connected to another 3 cottages. It was very modern, clean, and everything was in working order. I like the separate living room area and the patio. We ate breakfast there and drank coffee each morning. I liked all of the room amenities - Jacuzzi, 2 plasma TVs, separate living room, nice bathroom and off street parking.

The front desk and cleaning woman were very pleasant. The front desk was very helpful and provided us with several local suggestions.

We would definitely recommend this location. It is two blocks from the beach and three from the pier (and the end of State street). So you can easily walk to shops and restaurants if you don't want to drive.

The hotel is 30 - 40 minutes from a lot of wineries (around Santa Ynez, Slovang and Los Olivos). Just take the 101N for 2-3 exits and then Rt 154 to the wineries (http://www.sbcountywines.com/visit/map.html)

Two local restaurant recommendations include Arigato Sushi and Pascucci (Italian). Both were excellent! Although the hotel offered free breakfast, we only grabbed a coffee and early morning muffin and then opted to eat at D'Angelo Bread (get the Eggs Rose or one of the huge omelets) and the Cajun Kitchen (old school diner but with some Creole flavor) and both were really good.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surferpaul, General Manager at The Eagle Inn, responded to this review, 13 May 2010
Thank you for your glowing review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discovery Bay, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2010

The Eagle In is perfectly located a couple of blocks from the harbor and pier, and a short walk to State Street. We were recommended it by friends, and were delighted with our experience. We stayed in the Santa Barbara cottage, and were also shown a room in the main house. The decor is plush, the linens are fabulous, the bathroom is fantastic. If you can, book a cottage. It is definitely worth it. The website is great and has good descriptions to help you choose the perfect room for you.

They offer a decent continental breakfast, and you can order take-out food to be delivered from a myriad of restaurants close by. The Lazy Acres market is a couple of miles away and has a great deli section. If I remember correctly they told us every room has a fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. Of course, the restaurants in Santa Barbara are amazing so you probably won't want to eat in. A local favorite for Mexican food...El Aguave (noisy, bustling, crowded, but excellent food.)

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deltagaljudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2010

This beautiful hotel is located in a quiet street within walking distance of beach, shops and restaurants. The rooms are very spacious and the staff are very helpful with good suggestions for family friendly activities, eating and shopping. A wonderful buffet breakfast is included in the price. As a bonus, our room had a fully equipped kitchen where we could cook dinner.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g0girlmelb0urne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.0 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
736 reviews
0.0 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
670 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#20 of 52 in Santa Barbara
331 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,019 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#26 of 52 in Santa Barbara
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eagle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eagle Inn

Property: The Eagle Inn
Address: 232 Natoma Ave, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3522
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Eagle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eagle Inn is a romantic quiet boutique hotel located just 2 blocks from the beach. We are a ten minute walk to downtown and The Funk Zone and all of the activities and attractions Santa Barbara has to offer. We have bikes, free, for you to use, and offer free parking and serve a complimentary, tasty cooked breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Eagle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing