We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location location location”
Review of Montecito Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Montecito Inn
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Roseville CA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Location location location”
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

Park your car and walk to great dining and bars. hotel itself is old, rooms small but clean and comfortable. pricing is fair for the toney area where it is located. Staff attentive, friendly and eager too please. Small comfortable bar, airy breakfast area very pleasant stay. We will be back.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JR2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    286
    116
    56
    34
See reviews for
185
421
33
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

When researching our stay here I studied all the trip advisor reviews and understand where people were coming from on the negative reviews. But to be fair, Santa Barbara is one of the highest cost of living areas in the U.S., so if you want 5 star quality accomodations you will need to be ready to pay for it. However, the Montecito for the cost was great!

On the negative side I am not sure the hallways were ever swept. There was a dirty butter knife that was outside of the room acroos the hall from us and it stayed there for 3 days until on day 3 I finally took it down to the front desk. On Sunday, following the Saturday night fun at the hotel pool; I am not sure that the pool area was ever cleaned. I was out there in the morning early to read and saw the extent of the fun from the previous evening, but on Sunday evening my boyfriend and I went down to play some cards poolside and although the bottles were gone, the tables were disgusting. We used a pool towel to lay on top of the table. There were stains on the window dressings in our room and buttons missing from the headboard. And yes, the bathroom was small. As far as the hotel staff goes, other than the gentlman who was at the breakfast area each morning, I can't say that we the hotel staff was all that great. The gentlman at the front desk who I gave the butterknife to with an explanation that it had been on the floor for 3 days, didn't seemded surprised nor offered any explanation. HOWEVER, for twice the price there are plenty of high end hotels in the area that you could select.

On the up side, our bed was super comfortable and the sheets were clean and fresh. Of our 10 night stay in CA, we slept the best at this hotel. The Montecito area was great too. There was a CVS across the street where we picked up water and sunscreen. There are several fantastic restaurants and shops withing walking distance from the hotel, including a wine shop where we would pick up a bottle for the room (much cheaper. The hotel itslelf was charming and rich in history. Santa Barbara was a a short drive down Shoreline Dr. and the entire area was easy to navigate. If we returned to the area we would stay there again.

Don't worry about the "view" when selecting a room. Ours was a mountain view and in my opinion the "view" was not impressive. Of course having grown up near the Appalachian mountains, my definition of a mountain is much different than that of California's.

If we returned to the area we would definitely stay here again. We stayed 3 nights (6/29-7/1)and were very happy with our choice. Be aware of the short comings, but in comparison to the other options in the area it is a great find.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShanStorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel over the 4th of July weekend. The location is great, close to the beach and other attractions. It's a very historic hotel and very charming. The rooms are small but what I liked about it was that we each had our own bathrooms. Overall I really enjoyed our stay. There were coffee shops and little shops around the hotel and you could walk to the beach which was less than 2 miles away. Very centrally located. The staff were very friendly, they have a very nice pool and also complimentary bikes for guests. I will definitely go back :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yasmin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
142 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We were using Hotwire to find hotel rooms for us during our road trip down Highway 101 and found this place via a blind booking at a great rate. The hotel is fantastic with just enough old world charm mingled with up to date luxury - the ride in the orignal 1920's lift (elevator) was worth popping in for alone!. We both agreed it was our favourite hotel of our 3 week trip and we stayed in plenty.

The hotel is situated well for the beach, shops and highway. The pool area is lovely as is the spa. The rooms are well appointed and clean and the beds are very very comfortable. Nice bit of history with the Charlie Chaplin connection which plays through the hotel as a theme.

24 hour tea, coffee and fruit made the stay very comforatable and the free post cards on the lobby desk were a nice touch. The staff were very helpful and polite.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road are probaly quieter - ours overlooked th car par so there was no issue with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

Perfect location ....walking distance to restaurants and quiet neighbourhoods - great for early morning jogs. Hotel bar needs some TLC as it felt a bit like a truck stop / diner serving wine stored beside a hot stove. Top breakfast and valet parking is not pushed on you for the 30 foot walk.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank martingn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
146 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

The Montecito Inn has been around since Charlie Chaplin and has that old California charm. The hotel itself is well cared for and the room was very comfortable.

The location itself is right on highway 101 so it is a bit loud but also provides easy to access to the surrounding communities.

One complaint is the breakfast area is very small. They have a large dining room but section off just the front part for their breakfast service and it can get very crowded and uncomfortable as you are trying to eat.

It also has a very nice pool area. Small for sure but not crowded while we were there.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WCDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We stayed two nights for our honeymoon.. This really is a boutique hotel best suited for couples and older travelers. We were surprised by the number of families with small children. There are plenty of very good restaurants within walking distance and a bar on-site (which closed too early). You can park your car and never use it again. You can use the free rental bikes to get to the beach. It is an older property and the rooms and baths are somewhat small, but that is part of the charm.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandH621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
3.5 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
1.8 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#16 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
2.9 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#25 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
3.3 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#39 of 52 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montecito Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montecito Inn

Property: Montecito Inn
Address: 1295 Coast Village Rd., Santa Barbara, CA 93108-2791
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#14 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#21 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Montecito Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Montecito Inn was built in 1928 by screen legend Charlie Chaplin as an escape to paradise for his closest friends. Enriched with influences reminiscent of early Santa Barbara, guest rooms are a reflection of the Montecito Inn's proud history and tradition. Bedrooms decorated with classic patterns and furnishings in warm earth tones and bathrooms adorned with hand-painted ceramic tile create an elegant ambiance. The Montecito Inn offers the perfect blend of classic style, comfort, convenience, and personalized service. Wake up in the morning to a continental breakfast served in the hotel's restaurant, the Montecito Cafe, or have it delivered to your door. Enjoy lunch and dinner at the Montecito Cafe, a local favorite, which boasts an exquisite California Nouveau cuisine. Other fine dining is also available only a walk away. Relax by the pool and Jacuzzi, or walk only 2.5 Blocks to the beach. Also enjoy the day in Montecito, one of America's most beautiful seaside communities, with boutique shopping. Featuring 61 Elegant Guest Rooms & Luxury Suites, the Montecito Inn offers all of the quality, service and elegance that Santa Barbara has to offer. Our staff is waiting to help satisfy your every desire. Today, the escape is yours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Montecito Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montecito Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing