We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Montecito Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Montecito Inn
Ranked #16 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very nice visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Recently spent two nights here. Room was clean, updated and comfortable with a ceiling fan. Bathroom was very small but they had maximized the space to their best ability. A strange negative was that there was a vent in the bathroom that went directly into the next room so you could hear people talking, showering, etc if they were in their bathroom and you could see light coming from the other room. Room doors did not slam behind you so it was nice and quiet. Staff was helpful and pleasant. Complimentary wifi and breakfast was also appreciated and newspapers and coffee in the lobby was a nice added touch. Wasn't a fan of the quaint elevator which was difficult to operate so we chose to walk the stairs each time. We ate in the Village both nights and found restaurants we liked a short walk from the hotel. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    266
    110
    54
    33
See reviews for
170
399
31
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Englewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Nice, clean Inn. Nothing special really, rooms are small but to be expected since it was built in 20's. The Inn is adjacent to the 101, lots of traffic noise. From the pool and hot tub area you can also hear the noise as well as from the both the highway and the trash dumpster located right over the privacy fence. Constant sound of wine bottles being tossed into the dumpster.

Not near the beach or State Street.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite as the standard rooms are tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontecitoInn, General Manager at Montecito Inn, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
While we appreciate any and all feedback, we would like to offer a reply to this review in order to clarify a few misleading statements made within it. Contrary to what's mentioned in the last line of the review, the Montecito Inn is indeed actually very close to the beach and State Street. In fact, the Inn is only a 5 minute walk - just two blocks away - to the nicest beach in all of Santa Barbara. State Street is approximately 5 minutes away, by car, but the Inn is located in the nicest part of Santa Barbara, Montecito, along Coast Village Road with some of Santa Barbara's best restaurants and upscale boutique shopping. Coast Village Road is located just off of the 101 freeway, however, the Inn sits well above the freeway and is inset towards Coast Village Road. The rooms facing Coast Village Road look out towards the mountains, and the rooms facing in the direction that the freeway is below, look out in the direction of the Pacific Ocean and Channel Islands (which can be seen from the third floor). All of our rooms have double pane windows to help offer a quiet room environment. In-room air conditioning and heating, as well as ceiling fans help to make our room environment comfortable as well.

Danny Copus
General Manager
Montecito Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

This delightful little hotel was once a destination for glamorous movie stars back in the Twenties. It has been nicely renovated and retains its charm. I had room with one king bed. It was small but elegantly decorated in 1920s style and spotless. The air conditioning unit was nice and quiet and there was also a quiet overhead fan. The restaurant on the premises is excellent and highly rated by Zagat. It was busy and seems frequented for its own sake by people who are not staying there. There is also a bar but I didn't go there. There is no coffeemaker in the room but you can get tea, coffee, and cocoa at all hours from a little nook off the lobby at no extra cost. Continental breakfast included in the price. There is a nice swimming pool in back. There are also a couple of meeting rooms. The vintage elevator is possibly the original one. While charming, it is awkward to use. You have to open the door and the folding grate yourself - the grate doesn't stay open so getting in and out with luggage is a bit of a challenge. Get the bellman to take your luggage up. There is ample parking. You have the choice between valet and self parking. If you self park, it's outdoors, so in rainy weather you might just use the valet.

The hotel is a short walk from the beach and close to shops and restaurants.

The front desk staff were exceptional. I apparently got confused about the date when I booked online and booked for a day ahead of when I actually planned to arrive. The staff phoned me the next morning to say I was a no show the night before but had I possibly gotten the date wrong. They changed the reservation and didn't charge me an extra night for my mistake, which was well above and beyond the call of duty. To me that is legendary service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marigoldmunchkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed one night recently in the Montecito Inn. The rooms are small but very well appointed and the bed was very comfortable. It has a nostalgic atmosphere and in the lobby area you can get apples, tea and coffee at all times. In the morning we had the continental breakfast, which was included in the room rate, and found it very satisfactory with good breads, fresh fruit, yogurts, cereals etc. It is conveniently located as you can walk onto the main street of Montecito and walk around the little boutiques there and also some nice coffee shops and restaurants.
I thought it was very good value for the area and I would definitely go back if I pass through this way another time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nagal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, CA
Level Contributor
238 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Great older hotel that has been upgraded. The amenities nice, bedding and towel towels in great shape. Downside, small rooms and tiny bath. Upside, air conditioning and ceiling fan. Elevator available, however it is old fashion and difficult to handle. Staff is great!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bitler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Looking for a place to stay while traveling through Santa Barbara, I was delighted to find the Montecito Inn website. I was immediately attracted by the photographs of the hotel and décor of the rooms. We were not disappointed when we arrived. We stayed on the 3rd floor in a double queen room that was beautifully furnished and were delighted to find that we each had our own shower only bathrooms. The beds were very comfortable, we slept well and experienced very little noise. I hope I have another opportunity to stay at this delightful inn again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeffrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is the kind of boutique hotel we search for when we travel in Europe. This is just what others say...charming, nostalgic with warm friendly service and an fun elevator from the 20's. Aside from its nostalgic remembrance of the time when Santa Barbara (and Hearst Castle) was the faraway playground of Hollywood stars, Montecito Inn enjoys a great location. Charlie Chaplin got it right when he bought this property. It's only a short walk to a romantic beach in front of the Biltmore where lovers sit, folks walk their dogs and everyone strolls with camera in hand. Or it's only a short walk out the front door to fun shops with inviting window displays. On Saturdays, I think there's a farmers market. The restaurant is one of the best in Montecito and the Inn's complimentary breakfast is great...good and healthy. Further, there's a heated pool long enough to swim laps and lovely enough to simply enjoy with a drink in hand. One spoiler alert - the rooms are pretty small, the bathrooms even smaller and the room air conditioner is a little loud. That said, the room is laid out well and the bathroom has a bath and shower. We chose the third floor front with a view of the mountain but, honestly, we didn't go to Santa Barbara to be in our room. If this property were located high in the hills with trees all around, its very reasonable prices would also be high, out of reach. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ask, they aim to please.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank damajane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
3.5 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
1.8 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#23 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
2.9 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#32 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
3.3 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#39 of 51 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montecito Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montecito Inn

Property: Montecito Inn
Address: 1295 Coast Village Rd., Santa Barbara, CA 93108-2791
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#14 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#21 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Montecito Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Montecito Inn was built in 1928 by screen legend Charlie Chaplin as an escape to paradise for his closest friends. Enriched with influences reminiscent of early Santa Barbara, guest rooms are a reflection of the Montecito Inn's proud history and tradition. Bedrooms decorated with classic patterns and furnishings in warm earth tones and bathrooms adorned with hand-painted ceramic tile create an elegant ambiance. The Montecito Inn offers the perfect blend of classic style, comfort, convenience, and personalized service. Wake up in the morning to a continental breakfast served in the hotel's restaurant, the Montecito Cafe, or have it delivered to your door. Enjoy lunch and dinner at the Montecito Cafe, a local favorite, which boasts an exquisite California Nouveau cuisine. Other fine dining is also available only a walk away. Relax by the pool and Jacuzzi, or walk only 2.5 Blocks to the beach. Also enjoy the day in Montecito, one of America's most beautiful seaside communities, with boutique shopping. Featuring 61 Elegant Guest Rooms & Luxury Suites, the Montecito Inn offers all of the quality, service and elegance that Santa Barbara has to offer. Our staff is waiting to help satisfy your every desire. Today, the escape is yours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Montecito Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montecito Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing