We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Montecito Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Inn At East Beach(Santa Barbara)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pacific Crest Hotel(Santa Barbara)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Santa Barbara Inn(Santa Barbara)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Blue Sands Inn(Santa Barbara)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,131)
Filter reviews
1,131 results
Traveller rating
509
351
147
80
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
509
351
147
80
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscharlie chaplintower suitebutterfly beachhonor barcharming hotelcoast village roadrooms are smallcontinental breakfastcomplimentary bikesmountain viewshops and restaurantsceiling fanthe santa barbara areastreet noiseshort walk to the beachbed was very comfortablethe main street
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
848 - 853 of 1,131 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The Montecito Inn rooms are about as small as a postage stamp, and the bathrooms are so much smaller than any fine hotel I have ever stayed in. The registration staff have zero concerns for any complaint, saying, sorry that is the way it is. The complimentary breakfast is in the restaurant, but only 5 tables are available, the rest are blocked off, for what appears to be 100 guests or more. Staff has ZERO concern with people eating cereal in the lobby, etc, since not near enough tables are available. The hot tub near the pool is pitiful with only half of the units working. But the most unappealing thing is the staff's Teflon feelings of any complaint. It is if they get the complaints from everyone and just shun the comments. NEVER stay in such a sorry hotel.

Room Tip: All are very small my friends said who also stayed there. and their complaints were even louder.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank etaylor1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason_Copus, Director of Sales at Montecito Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Mr. Taylor,

We appreciate your comments, and wish to address your review for your benefit and that of the viewing public.

Our guest rooms range from 245 - 1400 square feet in size. Each room type's square footage is noted within the room type descriptions on all booking channels. We do understand we have some rooms on the "smaller" size; however, these rooms are part of the hotels historical design and charm. We do not wish to mislead anyone with the size of their room they are booking, and therefore note the size of the room within the room description.

The hotel's complimentary continental breakfast is served in the Montecito Cafe; which is a separate business from the Montecito Inn. Unfortunately, the cafe only allows the hotel to use their fountain room area for seating for the hotel's continental breakfast. Guests are always welcome to enjoy their breakfast in our quaint lobby areas or outdoor pool area.

We take every guests comments and complaints very seriously and to heart. While there are things that are out of our control, we do wish to correct and rectify all issues that we are able to. If you wish to contact me directly to discuss your stay and how we may correct the inconveniences of your stay, please do so at jasonc@montecitoinn.com

Respectfully,

Jason Copus
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

First of all, this hotel is historic, but needs some updating. It is very expensive most likely based on the location, however, it is NOT a 4 star hotel. The bedding is awesome, and probably the best part of the very small room. The bathroom is very small and there is NO WHERE to put your toiletries, shower supplies, etc. There is also one very small mirror in the bathroom, so unless you are staying alone, there is no way two people can get ready at the same time. The elevator which is mentioned in other reviews is quaint, but a pain. When you have luggage it's a struggle to operate the mesh door and the main door. We took the stairs most of the time which is fine! The staff was very nice, especially the valet service. The continental breakfast was so-so. It is open until 10:00 a.m. and when we arrived at 9:15 there was no room to sit, so the attendant said, "well, you can sit in the lobby"...It is not worth $400 plus per night. Great location and some charm, but too pricey for what you actually get. The pool is nothing great either.They could definitely spend some money on renovation and landscaping for that area.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the front have 2 windows which give you more light.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 735Gigi5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is supposed to be a 4 star hotel however (really) there is nothing 4 star about it.
We arrived late and let the hotel know we had a long drive.
There is an awkward elevator in the lobby that was built in the 1920's... The front desk attendant watched us struggle to hold open the heavy mesh gate and try to get our bags into the elevator. Strike 1 for service.
The room we have booked was a 4 star price with a 2 star quality bed which is strike 2 for price and strike 3 for comfort!

However, hotel is situated in a lovely shopping area with an excellent choice of restaurants a short walk from the hotel.

The air conditioner did not work and the fan was so loud we could not keep it on. Then, when we opened the window the noise from the highway was so loud we could not sleep.
This hotel is in need of an update, a shake up, and it really should be a 3 star hotel !

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eleanor Annette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The Montecito is a small boutique hotel located in a walkable area of Santa Barbara. The hotel was originally built by Charlie Chaplin for Hollywood visitors. The rooms are small but beautiful. The bedding will make you feel like a celebrity.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a 'bad' room.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ginger9797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

True to the other reviews, the bathroom is small, but they made good use of the space, with little cubbies and creative areas to store toiletries. No where to put shampoo and shower supplies except on the floor of the shower. The service was great and the bed was comfortable. I could not get the wifi to work.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews