We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK. What we expected.”
Review of Montecito Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Montecito Inn
Ranked #17 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“OK. What we expected.”
Reviewed 19 April 2009

Comments
- Overall, the hotel is a great Montecito location - walking distance to the beach and on the Montecito downtown street so restaurants, etc are easily walkable.
- Hotel building is old. This means the rooms are small - not built like more modern hotel rooms. Yes, the bathroom is small (but it was extremely clean and cheerful).
- Freeway noise is present. Some rooms prob more than others.
- Also, room design makes it so you can hear people in hallways - not a great place to stay if you want to sleep in or go to bed early.
- Hotel staff was very helpful with providing us information.

Overall opinion: Good place to stay for a night or two if you are in town for other activities. Montecito location is a potential nice alternative to staying in SB.

Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Plantriptoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    285
    116
    56
    34
See reviews for
183
421
33
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2009

We recently stayed one night at the Montecito Inn on our drive back from LA to SF. The Inn is not in downtown Santa Barbara which is about a five minute drive which is a good thing. Santa Barbara is beautiful, but we liked being in a quieter neighborhood. This was a great romantic getaway and we would definitely return one day ... hopefully next time we get a nicer view (we basically saw the back of a building).

WONDERFUL THINGS
1.) Charming hotel with a boutique feel with an interesting history.
2.) Great location - easy on/off freeway access and the beach is two blocks away.
3.) Reception is very helpful and had directions ready to show us where we wanted to go. They weren't the friendliest but more than willing to help.
4.) Complimentary valet parking and they also have a self-parking lot.
5.) Rooms were small but well appointed. We had room for our two large pieces of luggage. I liked the decor of the rooms (looks exactly like the photos I saw online). Rooms had a refrigerator, TV, and DVD player.
6.) Room and bathroom were very clean. Bathroom is small but we managed. Great shower pressure.
7.) Free Charlie Chaplin DVDs available at Reception. Nice tie in to the history.
8.) We didn't take advantage of this ... but free bikes to cruise around town. This was a charming touch.
9.) Free wireless - very convenient.

COULD BE BETTER
1.) You can hear a lot of noise in the hallway. So in the morning as Housekeeping was coming through, you could hear everything. So don't plan on sleeping in. Plus, we had our "Do Not Disturb" sign on our door and Housekeeping knocked and came in a few seconds later at 8:30 am.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurafi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, CA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2009

We had a great stay at the very pretty Montecito Inn. The rooms were very comfortable, the lobby very beautiful and the service was friendly. We had no issues with noise, but I did notice the walls were very thin as some have complained. Luckily we had quiet neighbors! It's very close to downtown Santa Barbara and we stayed one night on our way up to the Santa Ynez wine region. I would definitely recommend for a quieter, cozier stay than downtown, and for less. Overall I thought the Inn was a very good value.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
upstate NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2009

My girlfriend and I chose this hotel based on ratings in Trip Advisor; it is hard to believe that we stayed at the same hotel. We waited at the front desk for 5 minutes while the desk clerk chatted with another guest; she was oblivious to the fact that there was someone waiting to checkin. Our experience only got worse. Our room was only slightly larger than a typical European hotel. The bathroom was so tiny, it was hard to wash our hands. Our room was incredibly noisy. The traffic on the 101 freeway was loud enough to be annoying, but it wasn't enough to drown out the people talking in the next room. Maybe if our room had been closer to the freeway we would not have had to listen to our neighbor's TV until midnight. This hotel is definitely not a good choice for light sleepers. The hot tub was filthy; the foam came up to the level of the surrounding deck. There was no way we were going into that water. Simple spa maintenance would eliminate this problem, but the staff could not be bothered. I would have been unhappy if the room rates had been half of what I paid. Charm and quaintness have limited monetary value. You must part with some money to experience how bad this hotel really is. There is no way I would ever go back to this place.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unhappy_camper_222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2008

We have visited the Montecito Inn several times in the past couple of years--the location is great; just walking distance to the beach but more importantly it's near our family.

Overall the inn is tired--needs major updates, especially in the bathrooms which are miniscule and you get a super hot and burning blast of water in the shower every time someone in the hotel flushes the toilet (for those who are curious, that's about every 30 seconds....). In addition, the rooms are very loud. There is a lot of street noise and you can hear people walking outside of your room in the hallway in the late evening and early morning. This stay we were next to some utility room and there was a constant machine humming sound that didn't stop for 3 days. My advice--bring earplugs!

The folks that work at the desk could care less. This morning, I went downstairs to get some breakfast (continental, mostly cereal and danish + coffee) and noticed that there was no milk. I asked the desk clerk about it and she said that a bellman was at the local supermarket buying more and would be back in 15 min--Can you believe that they would not have milk??????? Almost everything they served required milk....And there is a restaurant right there!

By the way, for those that have written prior reviews about the restaurant at Montecito Inn, FYI it is totally unaffiliated with the hotel (hence the lack of milk for breakfast). They don't take reservations except for large parties, and if you stay at the hotel you have no preference over those diners who walk in. We had a mediocre meal there with horrendous service. We had a reservation (for 10) and they sat us at the table over 35 minutes after our reservation time. No apologies. Then dinner took an additional 2 hours with everyone receiving their appetizers and entrees at different times. Food was fair.

We will probably stay at the inn again (ugh) due to the proximity to our family and the fact that we can't justify the prices at the nearby and MUCH nicer Biltmore. But, for those of you who have a choice, stay in downtown Santa Barbara, enjoy the more exciting nightlife and shopping and forget about the Montecito Inn! Maybe Charlie Chaplin liked it but we're not fans....

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — loud rooms, bad service, rooms need updating
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mexico
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2008

My wife and I have visited Santa Barbara many times but this was the first time we stayed at the Inn. Our experience was similar to most of the other reviewers. On the plus side, is the quaint and charming hotel with special touches like the rose in the room, included valet parking and wonderful pastries at the included continental breakfast. Also for us a plus was staying in Montecito village in walking distance of non-touristy stores and restaurants. The experience is quite different from the crowds at the beach hotels and far more civilized. Yes, there is highway noise unless you close the window and there is no airconditioning. But with the ceiling fan and moderate temperatures prevailing, its a trade off we are happy to make. Bottom line, if you want in all the comforts of a large, modern hotel, go someplace else. But if you appreciate what this hotel has to offer, there's nothing else like it in Santa Barbara.

  • Liked — charm
  • Disliked — road noise
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jerrymsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2008

Invited to a Montecito wedding so thought it would be easy to stay in town and be nearby. The hotel is old and quaint but it is literally 15 feet from Hwy 101 - a major freeway in CA. Rooms are average size. Bathrooms are small. Pool is nice but sound of cars ruins the tranquility. They are trying their best but three exits up the road are nice beachfront hotels in Santa Barbara without freeway noise. If you have a car, opt for one of them. There is no air conditioning here so it's likely you'll want to open your window - and then the trouble begins. Nice continental breakfast. Pillows are hard as rocks. Just got home and I can't wait to get some sleep. Travel safe.

  • Liked — Continental breakfast.
  • Disliked — Noise level from freeway.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sfwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
3.5 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
1.8 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
2.9 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#30 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
3.3 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#39 of 52 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montecito Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montecito Inn

Property: Montecito Inn
Address: 1295 Coast Village Rd., Santa Barbara, CA 93108-2791
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#14 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#21 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Montecito Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Montecito Inn was built in 1928 by screen legend Charlie Chaplin as an escape to paradise for his closest friends. Enriched with influences reminiscent of early Santa Barbara, guest rooms are a reflection of the Montecito Inn's proud history and tradition. Bedrooms decorated with classic patterns and furnishings in warm earth tones and bathrooms adorned with hand-painted ceramic tile create an elegant ambiance. The Montecito Inn offers the perfect blend of classic style, comfort, convenience, and personalized service. Wake up in the morning to a continental breakfast served in the hotel's restaurant, the Montecito Cafe, or have it delivered to your door. Enjoy lunch and dinner at the Montecito Cafe, a local favorite, which boasts an exquisite California Nouveau cuisine. Other fine dining is also available only a walk away. Relax by the pool and Jacuzzi, or walk only 2.5 Blocks to the beach. Also enjoy the day in Montecito, one of America's most beautiful seaside communities, with boutique shopping. Featuring 61 Elegant Guest Rooms & Luxury Suites, the Montecito Inn offers all of the quality, service and elegance that Santa Barbara has to offer. Our staff is waiting to help satisfy your every desire. Today, the escape is yours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Montecito Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montecito Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing