We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable stay...no complaints...look for deal on Travelzoo.com”
Review of Montecito Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Montecito Inn
Ranked #17 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay...no complaints...look for deal on Travelzoo.com”
Reviewed 26 May 2010

My wife, along with my sister spent 2 nights at the Montecito Inn last weekend and was pleased with it. We found a deal for $140 per weekend night on travelzoo.com and the room was comfortable and clean. The staff were friendly and helpful and parking was $5.00 a day for valet which we thought was fair. There is a pool and jacuzzi which were also nice.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    285
    116
    56
    34
See reviews for
183
421
33
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2010

We booked this weekend after friends raved about what a great time they had through Travel Zoom and got a great rate. Read some of the negative reviews but our trip was fantastic. We were upgraded to a wonderful room...#406. Comfy !! King bed, fireplace, jacuzzi tub in a huge fancy marble bathroom with nice toiletries. We were right on the street, but the windows were tinted and super sound proofed. The black out drapes cut out all light (we love to sleep in on vacation, thus we never got to try the free cont breakfast). The heat and air conditioning worked great. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. The location was perfect for a very relaxing weekend...beach was a short walk...less than half a mile. Plenty of nice (but not cheap, this is Montecito) resturants to walk to. No chains or fast food. We loved Jeanines bakery. We sat outside for lunch and breakfast. You have to try the Banana Kaulua French Toast...vacation heaven! It was a nice quiet place to stay...still just a couple minutes from Stearns Warf and downtown Santa Barbara. We also had a great time at the lovely zoo (close enough to walk or ride to, apprx 2 miles). We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WishIwasthere17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2010

I just stayed at the montecito inn and was quite disappointed. I found this hotel through a deal they were having on travelzoo. It was supposed to include an upgrade to a deluxe room (with a fireplace and jacuzzi), free breakfast, and free bike rentals. We were in the area for the wedding and when I arrived I was lucky that I was able to check in early. However, at check-in the receptionist never mentioned any of the benefits of the package. Didn't let me know that I would not be upgraded to a deluxe room. No mention of how breakfast or the bike rentals worked. I know the fine print on the deluxe rooms were upon availability (fine I'll let that go, but they should of said something). I had to call down to the front desk to find out about the breakfast and bike rentals. The room itself was boutique like (the bathroom reminded me of my grandparent's house and the hot water fluxuated a lot). I would say for the price it wasn't worth it. The bed was incomfortable and both myself and my fiancee woke up with sore backs. Upon check-out they told me I had a balance. What balance I didn't use the phone or anything?! Apparently they charge for parking and didn't bother to tell us (and we didn't even do valet). Communication and customer service at the this inn is poor. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monkey24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burbank, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2010

Just stayed at the Montecito Inn this weekend, and I have to say, it was SO fantastic!! The staff was amazingly professional, friendly and extremely courteous. They addressed us by name and were so nice and polite!! Valet service was especially wonderful. The rooms were clean and beautiful, and the hotel itself is very charming. Yes, it was built in 1928, so there are a few things that are different from modern hotels, but that's part of the charm. The keys are real (!), the rooms a little small, but they were wonderful nonetheless. Best thing was the beds were super-comfy and the walls soundproof. Loved the bathroom, which was all Spanish tiling, as well. Beautiful! The best part of our visit was eating at the Montecito Cafe. One night I had the filet, which was probably the best one I've EVER had! Also had the salmon the next day, and it did not disappoint, either. Loved, loved, loved the creme brulee and did I mention the filet? Amazing!! Can't wait to go back there again :)

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plusonepro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, CA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2010

I've driven past this hotel for YEARS and wondered how it would be to stay there. I found out, and never again. The room was tiny, and too warm (no air conditioning) and if the windows were open the noise from the freeway and from the kitchen below made sleep impossible. Many of the good shops in Montecito have gone out of business, so walking around wasn't much fun. We left a day early to get a good night's rest.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, Az
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2010

It is time to spread the word - The Montecito Inn has obviously listened to the critics and has responded. We found the quality of service and hospitality to be outstanding. Ironically, the location is what makes the inn so appealing. You can park the car and all your needs are walking distance away. From fine dining to the great local pizza and plenty of boutique shopping. We took advantage of the free bike rental and within a few minutes we were on the beach. Finally, the accommodations were above and beyond what we could of imagined. We were fortunate to stay in their premiere suite appropriately named The Apartment. This newly renovated and updated suite features endless flat screen tvs (even in each bathroom mirror) and has every amenity and comfort of a 5 star penthouse suite. This is a hotel that should be on your short list for your next stay in Santa Barbara. We would like to thank Jim the Manager, Danny
the General Manager and the entire staff for their attention to detail and gracious service.


General Manager and the entire staff for their attention to detail and gracious service.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dad23TeenageGirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2010

My husband and I were apprehensive to stay here after reading some of the reviews, but we decided to give it a try and are so happy we did! We, too, booked with a promotion offered by Travel Zoo at a discounted rate with option to upgrade to a suite upon check in and we got it! We were in a lovely deluxe king suite complete with huge jacuzzi tub and fireplace in the living room...it was awesome! The suites are also sound proof. The hotel IS right off of the freeway (it was built in 1928 before the freeway existed!), so I suggest, if not staying in one of the 7 suites, requesting a "mountain view" room - which is on the opposite side to the freeway. Also, we found the staff to be very pleasant and helpful! (We were told there has been a recent change in employees, so maybe the "rude" ones we read about in some reviews are no longer there....seriously....the front desk, valet guys, room service, etc....NOBODY was ever rude! The continental breakfast is delivered to your room when you're staying in a suite, and we were satisfied....the options were simple and we chose fresh apple juice, coffee, tea, granola, yogurt, apple, banana, muffins and croissants - definitely enough food! We loved the charm of this hotel and had a wonderful, romantic weekend! So maybe WHERE you stay in this hotel noise wise, etc is key....all we know is that we'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank couponqueen29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
3.5 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
1.8 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
2.9 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#30 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
3.3 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#39 of 52 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montecito Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montecito Inn

Property: Montecito Inn
Address: 1295 Coast Village Rd., Santa Barbara, CA 93108-2791
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#14 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#21 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Montecito Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Montecito Inn was built in 1928 by screen legend Charlie Chaplin as an escape to paradise for his closest friends. Enriched with influences reminiscent of early Santa Barbara, guest rooms are a reflection of the Montecito Inn's proud history and tradition. Bedrooms decorated with classic patterns and furnishings in warm earth tones and bathrooms adorned with hand-painted ceramic tile create an elegant ambiance. The Montecito Inn offers the perfect blend of classic style, comfort, convenience, and personalized service. Wake up in the morning to a continental breakfast served in the hotel's restaurant, the Montecito Cafe, or have it delivered to your door. Enjoy lunch and dinner at the Montecito Cafe, a local favorite, which boasts an exquisite California Nouveau cuisine. Other fine dining is also available only a walk away. Relax by the pool and Jacuzzi, or walk only 2.5 Blocks to the beach. Also enjoy the day in Montecito, one of America's most beautiful seaside communities, with boutique shopping. Featuring 61 Elegant Guest Rooms & Luxury Suites, the Montecito Inn offers all of the quality, service and elegance that Santa Barbara has to offer. Our staff is waiting to help satisfy your every desire. Today, the escape is yours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Montecito Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montecito Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing