We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Boutique Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Santa Barbara
Ranked #24 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best Boutique Hotel!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Quaint and Charming! My daughter and I on a visit felt right at home! We had a small room with a Queen bed the Linens were exceptional and super comfortable! A great Bath was super clean! A charming desk and TV small on top of dresser. Loved the drapes and pillows too! Coffee in Room was by the cup! Continental Breakfast was Fresh and First Class! Enjoyed my alone time downstairs with a local Newspaper and breakfast! Elevator has the old fashioned gate inside!
Very cool decor simple but elegant! Staff was Top Notch! Highly recommend and I will return to stay again! Right in the heart of Everything!

Room Tip: Room 309 we loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    131
    28
    8
    9
See reviews for
71
136
6
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich/Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The Hotel Santa Barbara is centrally located in downtown Santa Barbara: close to many shops & restaurants; we took the trolley down to Stearns Wharf. This was our second stay within 8 months. Since our last visit the rooms have been refurbished; we appreciated having a fridge and a good coffee maker in the room. The valet parking and the continental breakfast made our stay comfortable. That said, the rates are on the expensive side, but we assume that goes for all accommodations in SB.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SweetCountryWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I have personally stayed at Hotel Santa Barbara before, however, it just gets better and better. The rooms have been redone and are very soothing and comfortable. The staff is very friendly and accommodating to make sure you have a pleasant stay. The complimentary breakfast has an array of healthy options and delicious pastries (o.k., maybe not as healthy, but worth-the-calories). I brought a group of 15 and everyone was happy. That is hard to beat!

Room Tip: Rooms off State Street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont, CA
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Ideal location for seeing the sites. Beach and many restaurants within walking distance. Friendly staff, beautiful lobby, good continental breakfast. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Only complaint- wifi is laughably slow and clunky.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank bve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We visit Santa Barbara at least once every year. After staying in this hotel soon after it opened in 1996, we tried other accommodations, but were never totally pleased. We returned to Hotel Santa Barbara for its European comfort and ambience, the friendly staff, quiet rooms and comfy beds. The complimentary breakfast is extensive and includes fruit, juices, cereals, hardboiled eggs, waffles, pastries and coffee, tea and hot chocolate. The hotel location serves tourists well because it's almost in the center of downtown. A State Street shuttle tram stop is half block away. Our stay here was lovely and we have now found the perfect hotel for future visits.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bbateswriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The hotel is located in a central part pod town with good walking access to the beach, Pier and main shops.
Service and accommodation was good but no restaurant on property and the breakfast was light served in lounge. The central location and easy access to several restaurants of all types and prices negated this small weakness.
Car parking was easy just pull in and friendly valets took care of everything.
Rooms clean and spacious.

Room Tip: All rooms seem Ok no real views as in central built up part of town
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I lived in Santa Barbara for 7 years and came back to visit for a wedding. My husband and I with our 2 best friends all checked in together(all 4 of us). They never told us that there was a limit to 3 people per room. They watched all 4 of us go in and out of the hotel for 3 nights and on the the last night would not let my husband in due to a 3 person minimum! we had 2 queen beds in our room and were causing no harm. My husband had to get another expensive hotel room at 1am! I have stayed at many places in SB and promise they are not like this. This hotel also has no pool and is not on the beach, there are so many more beautiful hotels to choose from!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sandyhill99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
0.6 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
367 reviews
1.4 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,033 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Upham Hotel & Country House
The Upham Hotel & Country House
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
640 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#10 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Barbara

Property: Hotel Santa Barbara
Address: 533 State St, corner of State and Cota Streets, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-1601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santa Barbara 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Santa Barbara, where the atmosphere is alive and the options are endless. Be our guest and discover the personal service and incomparable downtown location that is Hotel Santa Barbara. Experience world-class shopping, fine dining, theaters, galleries, entertainment, great beaches, and so much more...all within walking distance of our front doors. Downtown Santa Barbara beckons from this beautifully restored Spanish/Mediterranean-style hotel mingling historic charm and contemporary comfort. Valet Parking (overnight fee) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing