We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Santa Barbara
Ranked #26 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The location is wonderful, centrally located and very nice and clean.Valet parking and we never needed out all again all weekend.The windows make it soundproof. Just a wonderful place. but no pool, and we were not looking for one. just 4 blocks to the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

273 - 279 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

Hotel is in a very good location right in the centre of everything.
Room was tiny but nicely furnished - struggled with the chairs in the room and storing our stuff due to lack of space so if i stayed again, i'd get a larger room.
Valet car parking was good value at $8/day.
I've read about the refurb which does make me laugh as all they seem to have done is paint over the old paint which had chipped and peeled off - you can see all the lumps and bumps - amusing. Coffee machine was decent and appreciated. Free safe.
Just wish it had a pool as the beaches either side of the pier leave a lot to be desired and quite a few homeless people sleep on the grassy areas by the beach. Not their fault that they're homeless but just surprised me in this area. We found a better beach up past the marina.
Breakfast was good - huge bagels though (biggest i've ever seen!) and bit of a waste if you only want half. They don't have toast so you don't have much option if you want something to spread your jam on.
Great little massage place two mins down the street! My husband and I both had our backs worked on. Good value.
There's also a healthy salad/juice place across the street down a bit and that was fab.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ang123travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Third stay at this hotel in the past five years. Location doesn't disappoint if you're looking for a convenience. It's right in the middle of all the action on State Street (great shopping, restaurants, spas,etc.). The hotel itself is quaint. Very quiet and elegant. Very popular amongst foreigners. A upgraded continental breakfast to suffice both Americans and foreigners. It also happened to be the weekend that the USS Ronald Reagan was docked and 3500 sailors came ashore. This was a 29th wedding anniversary for us and it was fun watching the young adults letting loose in downtown Santa Barbara. The hotel had a doorman and security just in case the partiers wanted to try to bring the party inside the hotel. I'm sure they're used to it because they make you sign a no party in the room waiver and there are quiet after 10pm signs everywhere.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vernae_graham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Quaint and Charming! My daughter and I on a visit felt right at home! We had a small room with a Queen bed the Linens were exceptional and super comfortable! A great Bath was super clean! A charming desk and TV small on top of dresser. Loved the drapes and pillows too! Coffee in Room was by the cup! Continental Breakfast was Fresh and First Class! Enjoyed my alone time downstairs with a local Newspaper and breakfast! Elevator has the old fashioned gate inside!
Very cool decor simple but elegant! Staff was Top Notch! Highly recommend and I will return to stay again! Right in the heart of Everything!

Room Tip: Room 309 we loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The Hotel Santa Barbara is centrally located in downtown Santa Barbara: close to many shops & restaurants; we took the trolley down to Stearns Wharf. This was our second stay within 8 months. Since our last visit the rooms have been refurbished; we appreciated having a fridge and a good coffee maker in the room. The valet parking and the continental breakfast made our stay comfortable. That said, the rates are on the expensive side, but we assume that goes for all accommodations in SB.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SweetCountryWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I have personally stayed at Hotel Santa Barbara before, however, it just gets better and better. The rooms have been redone and are very soothing and comfortable. The staff is very friendly and accommodating to make sure you have a pleasant stay. The complimentary breakfast has an array of healthy options and delicious pastries (o.k., maybe not as healthy, but worth-the-calories). I brought a group of 15 and everyone was happy. That is hard to beat!

Room Tip: Rooms off State Street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Ideal location for seeing the sites. Beach and many restaurants within walking distance. Friendly staff, beautiful lobby, good continental breakfast. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Only complaint- wifi is laughably slow and clunky.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank bve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
478 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
1.4 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#21 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,074 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Upham Hotel & Country House
The Upham Hotel & Country House
#16 of 52 in Santa Barbara
660 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#7 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Barbara

Address: 533 State St, corner of State and Cota Streets, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-1601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range: £148 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santa Barbara 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Santa Barbara, where the atmosphere is alive and the options are endless. Be our guest and discover the personal service and incomparable downtown location that is Hotel Santa Barbara. Experience world-class shopping, fine dining, theaters, galleries, entertainment, great beaches, and so much more...all within walking distance of our front doors. Downtown Santa Barbara beckons from this beautifully restored Spanish/Mediterranean-style hotel mingling historic charm and contemporary comfort. Valet Parking (overnight fee) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing