We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Santa Barbara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Santa Barbara
Ranked #23 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We met friends in Santa Barbara for the Old Spanish Days Festival this past weekend. We spent three nights at this hotel and found it very comfortable. Remodeled, but still has some of the charm of an older hotel. The staff was very pleasant and each morning they set up breakfast (fruit, bagels, pastries, juice, coffee) in the lobby which was very nice. The location is perfect...... we never got into our car the entire three days. Santa Barbara has great restaurants, bars and shopping all within walking distance of this hotel. On Friday morning the staff even set up chairs out under the hotel awning for guests to watch the parade. We would definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    122
    23
    7
    9
See reviews for
68
127
4
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel was perfect for what we wanted. It was close to all the restaurants and shops. The rooms and beds were very comfortable. They provide car parking for $10 per day which is very good. Justin the car park attendant was extremely helpful with places to go and eat. The reception staff were extremely polite and very helpful. I would definitely visit the hotel again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerrie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Great place that I found by accident when arriving in Santa Barbara coming from LA. Right in the middle of everything Dining Entertainment and Night Life.

Rooms..Excellent and updated really comfortable for a Historic Hotel.

Excellent Diner/bar/restaurant depending on the time of day right across the street.

Highly recommend

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Crossbonz72 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Nice remodeled hotel situated directly on State Street. Super location with easy, modestly priced valet parking. Comfortable rooms, bedding and bathroom both in very good condition. Hotel is priced well, and has a typical buffet breakfast. I would consider staying there again for a long weekend, but hotel is void of recreational amenities, as advertised.

Room Tip: Back of hotel is quieter, NOT facing State Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Visalia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

This is an old hotel that was restored beautifully. Very clean and nice decor. Staff was professional and the continental breakfast was satisfying. Stayed in room 203 our view was the parking lot. This hotel is in a great location. I would stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Romanticgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardmore, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

This is a very polished, historic hotel right on the main street of Santa Barbara. It was very convenient for walking to shops and restaurants. The windows had super double glazing to ensure quiet. They had a generous continental breakfast in the lobby included.

Our only difficulty is that they have valet parking located behind the hotel. When we pulled up to the front door, We were handed a map to drive around the block to the valet. With one way streets, it took me several tries to find the valet. Why couldn't they provide real customer service and have the valet meet guests at the front door?

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoderickPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

If you are planning a trip to Santa Barbara and want to stay in a place that is walking distance to great restaurants, the museum, beach, shopping and clubs and you like to be in the hub bub, this is the place to stay. Small rooms but very comfortable. Basic amenities but who needs a lot if you are on the go. What I liked very much was once you are inside, it is quiet. It is a sanctuary from the busyness of State Street.

Room Tip: Standard rooms do not have chairs other than one for the desk. Not a lot of room to stretch out if t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
0.6 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#32 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#13 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#5 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#3 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara
Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara
#22 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Barbara

Property: Hotel Santa Barbara
Address: 533 State Street, corner of State and Cota Streets, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santa Barbara 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Santa Barbara, where the atmosphere is alive and the options are endless. Be our guest and discover the personal service and incomparable downtown location that is Hotel Santa Barbara. Experience world-class shopping, fine dining, theaters, galleries, entertainment, great beaches, and so much more...all within walking distance of our front doors. Downtown Santa Barbara beckons from this beautifully restored Spanish/Mediterranean-style hotel mingling historic charm and contemporary comfort. Valet Parking (overnight fee) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing