We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old school in a very central locale”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Santa Barbara
Ranked #24 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Old school in a very central locale”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

If you are looking for easy walks to everything on State Street in Santa Barbara, you can't do much better than the Hotel Santa Barbara. It's an old hotel -- no pool or fitness center -- that harkens back to a time when Santa Barbara was a much sleepier beach town. The desk staff are very friendly, and very carefully explain to those checking in that late night parties are not allowed. In fact, they make you sign a statement to that effect. (They were in no danger of me violating said policy.) The parking valet staff in the back run their butts off (ok, not literally, because, what would they sit on if they did?) to get you your car. The breakfast in the morning is pretty much what you'd get at Hampton Inn, but it works. One caveat: try to get a room away from the elevator. It's an old and noisy one. I had room 301, and the noise woke me up a time or two early in the morning.

Room Tip: Avoid room 301 if you are a light sleeper. The elevator (it's a VERY old one) is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryKarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    131
    28
    8
    9
See reviews for
71
136
6
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2014

If you want to stay at a older, nostalgic property in downtown Santa Barbara, recommend Hotel Santa Barbara. Location was fantastic to walk to most local hangouts and you can easily get to the beach from the Hotel. Just be prepared to use the stairs more than the elevator - original one from 1928 still in service. Good news - the Hotel is only 4 stories, so getting up the stairs is not a KILLER!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clovis, California
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I needed a safe interesting place to stay while checking out UCSB with my son. There is nothing special near campus, which is about 15 miles away, and I knew we wanted to check out "the area" as much as the campus. I considered booking near the beach, but chose here instead, and I was NOT disappointed. The hotel is older and charming. There is no bar or restaurants but you are literaly surrounded by them on State Street, so there is no reason to get back into your car once you check in. They do offer a nice self serve breakfast in the morning, but if you HAVE to have your Starbucks there is one next door. The beds are comfortable and the property is very quiet. My son has been accepted, so I know there will be many more visits to come. I look forward to being there guest again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Bermuda
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Stayed overnight on a road trip up the coast of California. Very quaint hotel located at the heart of State Street, walking distance to all the shops, restaurants, beach and pier - couldn't ask for a better location! Great value for money, too! Traditional décor which goes well with the hotel. The room was a little small (although bathroom was fine) but that's because it is an older hotel. That being said, it is being maintained beautifully and is very clean. I would absolutely stay again. Breakfast was good, too!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nclmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The hotel santa Barbara is a really nice place located in the center. If you go out of the door you're already on State St (main street). There are many restaurants, shops and pharmacies located near by. I my opinion the Hotel Santa Barbara is a really nice place to stay in downtown Santa Barbara (parking isn't too expensive ($ 10) and they have free wifi)!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca1296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

It is a nice place. But after a long drive you don't really want to be lectured by some teenager about noise in the hotel at check in. It turned out the room was very noisy because of a late night party on the street below. Elevator not working and the check in procedure was not a good start. Overall a good location and lovely room but not worth the $300 per night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sf66cfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We were looking at several options in the Santa Barbara area and the cheapest ones seemed to be well out of town. We booked this one due to its downtown location but at the time of booking we didn't realize how downtown it was. It's right on State Street with a myriad of restaurants, shops and movie theaters (yes, plural) all within a couple of minutes of the front door. It's also a very short walk down to the wharf and beach.

The hotel is a little old fashioned but in a good way. The 1920s elevator is fun for one ride and really cool to check out but walking up the stairs is much faster. The rooms are a nice size and modern with a very comfortable bed. The hotel offers a nice continental breakfast in the lobby until 10am.

We pulled up outside the hotel and got redirected around the block to the valet parking on West Cota Street so if you're headed to the hotel you should navigate directly to West Cota and State Street and turn right in to the parking area to save yourself a large lap of downtown.

Downtown Santa Barbara has a great selection of bars and restaurants and it was wonderful to stroll around and then have a short walk back to bed. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Si405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
0.6 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
367 reviews
1.4 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,033 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Upham Hotel & Country House
The Upham Hotel & Country House
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
640 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#10 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Barbara

Property: Hotel Santa Barbara
Address: 533 State St, corner of State and Cota Streets, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-1601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santa Barbara 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Santa Barbara, where the atmosphere is alive and the options are endless. Be our guest and discover the personal service and incomparable downtown location that is Hotel Santa Barbara. Experience world-class shopping, fine dining, theaters, galleries, entertainment, great beaches, and so much more...all within walking distance of our front doors. Downtown Santa Barbara beckons from this beautifully restored Spanish/Mediterranean-style hotel mingling historic charm and contemporary comfort. Valet Parking (overnight fee) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing