We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it's what you'd expect from a motel 6... but with an amazing location offset by an extremely high price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Beach
Ranked #44 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
nyc
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“it's what you'd expect from a motel 6... but with an amazing location offset by an extremely high price”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed here because it was the cheapest place we could find in Santa Barbara... and the room was still over $200 a nite!

The location is really fantastic. It's a half-block from the beach, and right across from the fancy Hyatt. The beach is really nice, but my husband got some nasty crude oil all over his foot- there are oil rigs off the coast, and he thinks that oil from those rigs was polluting the beach... whatever the cause, there were puddles of oil here and there along the waterfront. It was a real shame considering how nice the beach is. I hope it was just a fluke.

There is also a decent zoo less than a 5 minute walk away, which is lovely if you are traveling with kids. Mid-day they offer a special giraffe feeding session, where for $6 extra you can feed a giraffe some lettuce. Our kid loved it!

At the Motel 6, the rooms/amenities are minimal. The room has a full size bed (definitely not a queen), no mini-fridge, and poor quality towels/linens (one of our towels had a questionable brown stain). Other than that, the room was decently clean. There was a lot of noise from the other guests, but I think that is to be expected in a motel. We travel with a white noise machine for our child, and it really helped drown out the noise.

The pool, like the rest of the hotel, is nothing special, but does the trick. Basically this hotel and its amenities are exactly what you'd expect from a "motel 6" - but I suppose the beach-front location merits the high price. I certainly don't think the hotel is worth $200 a night, it's more of a $80 a night place, but given the alternatives in Santa Barbara, you're not going to do much better. And the location is really superb- much better than we expected.

If the price had been under $150 I'd probably give it 4 star rating, but at $200, it gets just 3 stars from me.

Room Tip: Try to get an upstairs room. We had a ground-floor room and could hear people marching around above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank offtracktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    112
    135
    52
    28
See reviews for
87
166
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

we stayed there for 2 nights, I have never stayed in motel 6 before but the prize was reasonable and it was 1 block to the beach, so how bad can it be. When we get there the lobby employee was smocking cigarets inside so the room stink so bad, the rooms are tiny you can barely walk around, is super noisy and the beds are stiff, and the swimming pool is nasty. Do not stay here go somewhere else.

Room Tip: go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loyd111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Barbara hotels

Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

the name of the bed "queen "is totally lies !
Me an my husband not a fat people but were had difficulty to fin on it !
the rooms are very small, parking in the front window .
It is not ease to sleep because it noisy

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GalinaM777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Have to admit, I have never stayed at a Motel 6, however I was tired from driving on the road
and this had a great location so I figured I would give it a try.

Being the flagship location and all.............

And yes, you are paying for location.

The motel room itself is very sparse; I had to go to the front desk and give a $20 cash deposit,
because they do not supply a hair dryer.
Pretty well something I expect at most motels, but I guess motel 6 prides itself on giving you
basically a clean room and bed to sleep in, and thats about it.

The bath towels were pretty small too.

Ok, so I guess that is what a motel 6 is all about; Now I know, and won't likely stay at one again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RayToronto70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Good hotel for the money at a good location in Santa Barbara. The rooms are quiet and have all the things you can wish for a one night stay. You have accesses to a heated pool and you have a very short walk to the beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimZon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Bernardino, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

This is my second time staying at this motel 6 and its the location that keeps me coming back. The east beach is walking distance. The rooms are clean very simple. It is a great place to stay to rest your head at. Definitely will return in the future when I want to stay in town.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tucuxii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Great location next to the beach. Very clean, although slightly over priced for the quality of the room but not bad.
Was given a choice of upstairs or downstairs room. Short taxi ride away from Santa Barbara restaurants

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mcc87_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Inn At East Beach
Inn At East Beach
#32 of 52 in Santa Barbara
886 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
959 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#40 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cabrillo Inn at the Beach
Cabrillo Inn at the Beach
#43 of 52 in Santa Barbara
351 reviews
4.2 mi away
Motel 6 Santa Barbara - State Street
0.1 mi away
Blue Sands Motel
Blue Sands Motel
#36 of 52 in Santa Barbara
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Beach

Property: Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Beach
Address: 443 Corona Del Mar, US 101/El Camino South at Milpas Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93103-3601
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
Motel Six Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Motel Six
Santa Barbara Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing