We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely accommodation; very close to the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Beach
Ranked #45 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I stayed September 2013 with 4 other friends - we had 2 rooms between us. This was my first motel experience and to be honest, I didn't know what to expect. But Motel 6 was perfect. The rooms were lovely - we had 2 double beds in ours that were very comfy.
The walk to the beach was no more than 100 metres - so close. We walked into the centre of Santa Barbara in the evening which took us about 40/50 minutes. If you're not one for walks of this length then maybe find accommodation closer to the centre - but personally I found the walk along the beach front lovely.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jcdavies04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

88 - 94 of 382 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

We drove from Las Vegas to Santa Barbara without making a booking and arrived at 8pm and so were anxious to find somewhere. The first motel we came upon was Motel 6 and so were happy to hear they had rooms, not cheap at almost $100, we had stayed in other motels for much less. The room was very small, there was not much insulation between rooms , the bed was old and soft and the towels were like sandpaper. In all not a nice experience and certainly not vfm.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hugh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The room was small with 2 beds pushed up to each wall, so if you were on the wall side you had to climb over your partner to get out of bed. There are a lot of rooms, many unoccupied (from the number of cars there) so I wondered why they didn't build bigger rooms but fewer of them. We had a comfortable night, the motel is placed very close to the freeway so it's convenient but our room was not noisy. There was a pool which was closed for the winter. Breakfast is not provided. We had dogs so it was a good choice for us though many of the guests obviously don't pick up after their pets.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda-wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Santa Barbara Hotels can be quite expensive on any weekend & many require a 2 night minimum. This one did not & like many of the other reviews of this hotel, you can't beat the location. We are frequent over night visitors to SB & have stayed at some of the very pricier hotels here. But this time, we made very late reservation for Valentine's Day & didn't want to spend a whole lot. As we were checking in, many 'off the street' people were trying to get rooms & they were saying that everything was sold out in the area. The clerk did give out other suggestions & I thought that it was nice, since there were a couple of visiting Europeans also who had no clue about where they could try and stay in the surrounding area.

This might be a helping factor if you decide to stay here. It is a higher priced Motel 6 because of its location. It is very basic, THERE IS NO shampoo, conditioner, hair dryer, coffee machine (coffee is available free at the front desk), microwave, refrigerator or alarm clock, no drawers for clothing in the rooms either. So you'll need to provide these if you stay here. It does have a nice flat screen TV & phone. There is however some interesting stuff in the vending machines that they have besides the usual snacks and there is an ice machine. It does have some pretty thin towels & there were some food stains on the bedspread, but I did notice that they did wash the linens daily on the premises. It was a pleasant enough stay, I'm glad we experienced it for the record & I would spend the night here again if I needed to.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the front rooms facing the ocean. The back rooms face a dull parking lot. Bring ear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CART101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

spent the night on the way back to LA. Great location, across the street from the beach. Room smaller than most Motel 6s, newly remodeled, but already showing a lot of wear and tear. At 10PM a party started in the next room, called the front desk and they said they would take care of it. Had to go next door and ask them to turn down the music, and keep the noise down. The party lasted until well after 1:00AM, a crowd of people on the balcony and music blaring in the room. This is the most expensive motel in the chain and I would have to say the worst experience. Lack of management and maintenance makes this a bad choice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zo_in_SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motel6, Owner at Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Zo_in_SD,

We apologize for the noise issues you experienced during your stay and for the inconvenience they caused you. Please contact our Guest Relations department so we will have a record of your experience to better address these issues and improve your experience with us in the future: 1-800-577-3435.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Yes it's close to the beach. Yes it's not that expensive (except on a weekend or holiday - we paid $138 with a senior discount). And yes it's close to a lot of things. But it's also very close to 101 and it's not that well insulated so it can be noisy. On a hot night you have a choice of listening to the air conditioner keep you awake or the traffic noise if you crack open the window.

Our room was not ready on time and when we finally got in an hour later it was mostly clean. The bed spread had a bit of a urine odor to it, the sheets were thread bare, and the mattress was just dropped on a wood platform. Not all that inviting, that's for sure.

If you're going to pay a premium rate you'd at least expect the Wi-Fi to be free, right? Wrong. It's $2.99 per day per device! Well, at least they comped me for one device because the room wasn't ready on time.

Would we stay here again? Nope. We like the fact that Motel 6 is pet friendly and it's great that they don't have a surcharge for pets, but I'd rather pay more to have a decent place to stay. The Motel 6 in Redding was in better shape. We've also been staying in Travelodges and so far they've been better value.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PacNWGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motel6, Owner at Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear PacNWGuy,

Thank you for sharing your review. We apologize for the unpleasant stay you had as a result of the noise, bed and linens issues you experienced. These conditions are not consistent with Motel 6 standards for quality, and we encourage you to contact our Guest Relations Department so they can have a record of your experience to help us provide our guests with better service in the future: 1-800-577-3435.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I hate Motel 6 for a number of reasons - tiny rooms, uncomfortable beds, skimpy towels, awful sheets, complete lack of basic ammenities, but at the start of a 4 month road trip and Santa Barbara being a pricey town, I got talked into trying it.as we travel with our own bedding and towels, how bad could it be. Pretty bad -actually. The front desk people were nice, however after getting our key and hauling our luggage upstairs, the room we went into was clearly occupied. The unflushed toilet and overflowing garbage cans were gag inducing. Shown a second room that was superficially clean at least. Wifi must be purchased. That is a rip off. The front rooms have a bit of an ocean view and the back a view of the freeway. Either side is noisy. The front maybe a little less so. The beds are cheap and saggy. There are two dishcloth sized towels provided for two full sized adults. The worst part is the nasty common areas. The walkways are FILTHY punctuated with overflowing reeking ashtrays. You better be a smoker if you stay here. Gross. Spend a little more - stay somewhere nicer.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Inn At East Beach
Inn At East Beach
#33 of 52 in Santa Barbara
890 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#25 of 52 in Santa Barbara
987 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#41 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Oasis Inn & Suites
Oasis Inn & Suites
#42 of 52 in Santa Barbara
222 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabrillo Inn at the Beach
Cabrillo Inn at the Beach
#44 of 52 in Santa Barbara
358 reviews
4.2 mi away
Motel 6 Santa Barbara - State Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Beach

Address: 443 Corona Del Mar, US 101/El Camino South at Milpas Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93103-3601
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range: £77 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
Motel Six Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Motel 6
Santa Barbara Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing