We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like coming home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Secret Garden Inn
Ranked #10 of 18 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Placentia, CA
Level Contributor
378 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Like coming home”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We love the Secret Garden. When our daughter went to UCSB, every time we went to visit her, we tried a different hotel. When we found The Secret Garden, we stopped looking. We have been here so many times. We come by ourselves and bring friends and family. We just brought our guests from London and they share our views. Dominique, the innkeeper, makes a cooked to order breakfast, has drinks and snacks and a post dinner drink and brownie special. I always feel so comfortable there.

Room Tip: There are 2 rooms in the main house, either of them would be my choice, but there are bungalows outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tzipster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    54
    20
    10
    17
See reviews for
26
111
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
La Mirada, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This was nicer than I expected being in the middle of a residential area. It was very close to everything. Great value. I would definitely go again. Hope my husband and I are able to go in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TanyaWheeldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We were a group of four old friends, and really loved the whole experience. We stayed in the house (the two available rooms) and enjoyed the privacy, warmth of the owner, terrific breakfasts and treats, friendly staff, and relaxed atmosphere. We would definitely recommend the the Secret Inn and Cottages and look forward to staying there again!

Room Tip: As a group of four women, we chose the two rooms in the house rather than the cottages, and felt ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 193Susie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa Park, California, United States
Level Contributor
153 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I have to start this review by saying this is Santa Barbara - top hotels are expensive in Santa Barbara. My wife and I travel to Santa Barbara on a fairly regular basis and have stayed at a number of the hotels and B&Bs but we have to limit ourselves price-wise. This trip to Santa Barbara was for one night and we decided to try the Secret Garden Inn on Bath Street. One reason we chose the Secret Garden is that it allows pets in some of the rooms and we had our dog with us.

The Inn is in a good location in Santa Barbara, close to State Street (3 blocks away). There's a good coffee shop on the corner of Mission and De La Vina - "The Daily Grind" - and there's an excellent ice cream shop - "McConnells Fine Ice Cream - on the other corner of Mission and De La Vina, both in the same block as the Inn.

The Inn is located in a mainly residential area of small homes built fairly close to each other. It's not a great neighborhood but it's not a bad neighborhood, either. I walked my dog in the neighborhood and never felt insecure.

The Inn consists of a main house and about three cottages, but the cottages are subdivided into multiple units. The cottage we stayed in was subdivided into three units, I believe. The room we had, the Oriole room, was adequate. It was not too big, but it was clean and the bed was comfortable. WiFi is available and was of adequate speed for my purposes - mostly checking mail and a few web pages.

The bathroom was small but adequate. It had a tub shower which worked fine.

Parking is around back, accessed via Sheridan street (actually an alley), and can be a problem because if you park close to the Inn, and a couple of big vehicles park in the lot, you could have a difficult time getting out. If you get there early, park close to the alley so you can get our when you want to (without asking others to move their vehicle).

The grounds of the Inn are fairly rough - it's not even close to being "manicured". See the pictures for what the grounds look like.

Breakfast was good. We had a broccoli quiche along with a variety of other things, fruit, bread, danish, coffee, etc.

The proprietress, Dominique Hannaux, was extremely nice and spent quite a bit of time giving us information and suggestions for our upcoming trip to Paris.

All-in-all, a decent stay for the money in Santa Barbara. Not luxurious but adequate.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank P Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Secret Garden Inn is a nice play to stay while in Santa Barbara, in walking distance from downtown.

We stayed in the Wood Thrush room, which is a separate cottage. The claw-foot bath tub is an elegant touch, but there isn't much of counter space in the bathroom.

The bed was comfortable, but where the TV is plugged in, in proximity to the bed, you won't be able to watch TV while in bed. You can only see the TV while sitting in the two wicker chairs near the front door.

There's a twin bed available, but there's no door to the bedroom, so you won't have any privacy if that's what you're looking for. I was a little disappointed in the blankets and sheets; they seemed outdated.

We found the private hot tub to be nice and clean. Thanks for having extra towels and robes available!

The complimentary wine/cheese at happy hour is fun, as is the late-night goodies (be forewarned that they do run out!). Check in early, as there is no staff on-site after dark.

Breakfast is delicious, usually vegetarian and probably French-influenced.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LostMyMarbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
domi29, Owner at The Secret Garden Inn, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you for your review and your suggestions. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Our stay was comfortable and extremely enjoyable, in no small part because of Madame Dominique's wonderful breakfast of a delicious omelette, croissants, excellent fig and pear preserves, a selection of other breads, delicious bread pudding and excellent poached pears. The best of French home cooking! A relaxed atmosphere and a friendly but independent resident cat complete the picture. We arrived too late for the evening amenities, so I cannot comment, but I look forward to checking them out the next time we stay there.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the few rooms in the main house, which was very nice & spacious, with lots o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Cute place, confortable and nice cottage room.
The owner is very helpful if you need advice on restaurants ....The breakfast was exellent, she made us exactly what we wanted. There is WiFi, TV , nice garden etc...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aurelie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.5 mi away
The Upham Hotel & Country House
The Upham Hotel & Country House
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
628 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
0.9 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara
1.6 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#16 of 52 in Santa Barbara
322 reviews
0.5 mi away
A White Jasmine Inn
A White Jasmine Inn
#7 of 18 in Santa Barbara
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Secret Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Secret Garden Inn

Property: The Secret Garden Inn
Address: 1908 Bath St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-2813
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Secret Garden Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded behind high hedges, hidden pathways, and romantic gardens in Santa Barbara, lies the Secret Garden Inn and Cottages, built in 1905 and now owned and run by Dominique Hannaux. Stay in a main house guestroom, a cottage room or suite with or without private hot tub, or our completely private house. Surrounded by the Inn's gardens, all of our accommodations are romantic and peaceful. Enjoy the delicious Buffet Breakfast which includes: Dominique's French recipe quiches, fresh-baked scones, muffins, sweet breads, fresh fruit, coffee, tea and juices. Our rates also include wine, cheese and hors d'oeuvres at 5 pm and brownies and hot cider later in the evening! All our rooms have a TV-DVD, a private bath and shower and a hairdryer. Many fine restaurants, shops, museums and sights of beautiful Santa Barbara are just a short stroll or a quick bike ride from the Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Secret Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Secret Garden Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing