We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute & good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Secret Garden Inn
Ranked #10 of 18 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cute & good value”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Santa Barbara is expensive on summer weekends... if booked early enough, this B&B is a good budget option.

Pros: Cute property, quiet, 20 minute walk to heart of State St, yummy breakfast, wine & cheese happy hour, good water pressure, large rooms, air conditioning (although it's loud)

Cons: Mosquitoes :( mattress is extremely hard, and bedding needs updating

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellyreehoorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    54
    20
    9
    16
See reviews for
26
109
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We had an amazing stay at the Secret Garden Inn! Great location close to downtown, secluded rooms so you don't have the typical bed and breakfast feel. Private Hot Tubs, wine and cheese at 5pm and your in Santa Barbara right! Most comfy feather bed I've slept on in quite a while and did I mention, your own hot tub! Weather you are staying for 1 night or a whole week this is an epic location to feel like a Santa Barbara local living in the nice residential area of downtown and the best street in the city, Bath st. Just remember, don't take a bath in the Hot tub! Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask for a Hot Tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Portberto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Secret Garden Inn immensely. We were looking for a relaxing atmosphere and found the perfect place. We stayed in the romantic Oriole Cottage which was quite charming with a private deck and hot tub. The inn is located in a residential area several blocks from the downtown shopping and dining mecca of State Street. A short drive or 30 minute walk. We came by train but didn't mind the walk as Santa Barbara is the perfect place for strolling. Dominique and Shelby were wonderful hosts and the daily homemade french quiche breakfasts were outstanding. Don't forget the famous O'Connell ice cream parlor just around the corner on Mission Blvd!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placentia, CA
Level Contributor
374 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We love the Secret Garden. When our daughter went to UCSB, every time we went to visit her, we tried a different hotel. When we found The Secret Garden, we stopped looking. We have been here so many times. We come by ourselves and bring friends and family. We just brought our guests from London and they share our views. Dominique, the innkeeper, makes a cooked to order breakfast, has drinks and snacks and a post dinner drink and brownie special. I always feel so comfortable there.

Room Tip: There are 2 rooms in the main house, either of them would be my choice, but there are bungalows outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tzipster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Mirada, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This was nicer than I expected being in the middle of a residential area. It was very close to everything. Great value. I would definitely go again. Hope my husband and I are able to go in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TanyaWheeldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We were a group of four old friends, and really loved the whole experience. We stayed in the house (the two available rooms) and enjoyed the privacy, warmth of the owner, terrific breakfasts and treats, friendly staff, and relaxed atmosphere. We would definitely recommend the the Secret Inn and Cottages and look forward to staying there again!

Room Tip: As a group of four women, we chose the two rooms in the house rather than the cottages, and felt ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 193Susie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa Park, California, United States
Level Contributor
153 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I have to start this review by saying this is Santa Barbara - top hotels are expensive in Santa Barbara. My wife and I travel to Santa Barbara on a fairly regular basis and have stayed at a number of the hotels and B&Bs but we have to limit ourselves price-wise. This trip to Santa Barbara was for one night and we decided to try the Secret Garden Inn on Bath Street. One reason we chose the Secret Garden is that it allows pets in some of the rooms and we had our dog with us.

The Inn is in a good location in Santa Barbara, close to State Street (3 blocks away). There's a good coffee shop on the corner of Mission and De La Vina - "The Daily Grind" - and there's an excellent ice cream shop - "McConnells Fine Ice Cream - on the other corner of Mission and De La Vina, both in the same block as the Inn.

The Inn is located in a mainly residential area of small homes built fairly close to each other. It's not a great neighborhood but it's not a bad neighborhood, either. I walked my dog in the neighborhood and never felt insecure.

The Inn consists of a main house and about three cottages, but the cottages are subdivided into multiple units. The cottage we stayed in was subdivided into three units, I believe. The room we had, the Oriole room, was adequate. It was not too big, but it was clean and the bed was comfortable. WiFi is available and was of adequate speed for my purposes - mostly checking mail and a few web pages.

The bathroom was small but adequate. It had a tub shower which worked fine.

Parking is around back, accessed via Sheridan street (actually an alley), and can be a problem because if you park close to the Inn, and a couple of big vehicles park in the lot, you could have a difficult time getting out. If you get there early, park close to the alley so you can get our when you want to (without asking others to move their vehicle).

The grounds of the Inn are fairly rough - it's not even close to being "manicured". See the pictures for what the grounds look like.

Breakfast was good. We had a broccoli quiche along with a variety of other things, fruit, bread, danish, coffee, etc.

The proprietress, Dominique Hannaux, was extremely nice and spent quite a bit of time giving us information and suggestions for our upcoming trip to Paris.

All-in-all, a decent stay for the money in Santa Barbara. Not luxurious but adequate.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank P Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.8 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#10 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Upham Hotel & Country House
The Upham Hotel & Country House
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.5 mi away
A White Jasmine Inn
A White Jasmine Inn
#7 of 18 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cheshire Cat Inn
Cheshire Cat Inn
#1 of 18 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Secret Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Secret Garden Inn

Property: The Secret Garden Inn
Address: 1908 Bath St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-2813
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Secret Garden Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded behind high hedges, hidden pathways, and romantic gardens in Santa Barbara, lies the Secret Garden Inn and Cottages, built in 1905 and now owned and run by Dominique Hannaux. Stay in a main house guestroom, a cottage room or suite with or without private hot tub, or our completely private house. Surrounded by the Inn's gardens, all of our accommodations are romantic and peaceful. Enjoy the delicious Buffet Breakfast which includes: Dominique's French recipe quiches, fresh-baked scones, muffins, sweet breads, fresh fruit, coffee, tea and juices. Our rates also include wine, cheese and hors d'oeuvres at 5 pm and brownies and hot cider later in the evening! All our rooms have a TV-DVD, a private bath and shower and a hairdryer. Many fine restaurants, shops, museums and sights of beautiful Santa Barbara are just a short stroll or a quick bike ride from the Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Secret Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Secret Garden Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing