We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (218)
Filter reviews
218 results
Traveller rating
108
60
21
10
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
108
60
21
10
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbrowniequichehot ciderhot tubmain cottagedaily grindavocado treescornbreadthe cottagesprivate deckother guestsearly risersoff street parkingsitting roombreakfast was deliciouscharming placehome away from home
Filter
Updating list...
187 - 192 of 218 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2005

We had a horrible experience with The Secret Garden Inn. We had reserved a suite and prepaid through Hotels. When we arrived at the Inn at 4 pm on the day of our reservation, we were told that they double booked our room and there were no rooms available. They said that the owner had left town and was not available by phone. Theu did not call or contact us that morning when they discovered the problem, and instaed, without our permission, booked us into an inferior Bed & Breakfast down the street with "an eqivalent room". The room we wound up with was not worth the price we had paid, and the other bed and breakfast had none of the amenities of The Secret Garden. On further questioning, we found they had done this to several customers who had prepaid through Hotels. They did not offer anything to make up for their error but the alternate B&B, and their reservation "system" was several sheets of paper with manyy names crossed out in pencil. It ruined our romantic weekend, and to date, the owner has not contacted us with an apology or explanation. BEWARE!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Service
8  Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2005

The secret garden was a nice & romantic get away. The stay was great. Everything was great, from the host to the great breakfast. It was nice, simple, and relaxing. We will definenently be back. Kathy, L.A. county

4  Thank Travel30033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2005

This was our second trip to The Secret Garden. Upon our arrival I found out that it had changed owners since our last visit. While the young man working there was very nice and helpful, we never saw him again after we checked in. We stayed in the Nightingale Cottage and it just wasn't as great as I remembered. The bed was uncomfortable, the pull out couch in the other room was torture, the hot tub was so overly chlorinated it gave me dry itchy skin (how romantic!) and there was no maid service. The breakfast was unappetizing and cheap, with bad coffee and worse orange juice. We went to the coffee shop around the corner and that was fantastic. You are not even close to downtown so don't even think about walking. I just don't feel like it was worth the money. It doesn't seem like the owner is trying too hard. We won't be coming back.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MissChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2005

For a special, perfect getaway, we highly reccommend the Secret Garden Cottages. We were lucky enough to stay at the Woodthrush Cottage, which was quite charming and roomy. The best part is the privacy of the deck with it's own jacuzzi. Breakfast was also an enjoyable part of the visit. Mango, banana, and apple covered with yougurt, atichoke quiche, scones, one morning, and the next, baked apples, mexican quiche, and the best coffee around. At 5pm, wine and crackers and cheese, and the best warm brownies at 8pm. Massages can be arranged in your rooms to add to the relaxing escape. What more can you ask for?

4  Thank pccmtk1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2005

I could have not asked for anything more. My prince and I were lucky to have spent 2 nights at this wonderful B&B called the Secret Garden Inn. The first night we stayed in the Nightingale. It is a warmly decorated room with flowers everywhere. You can't help but fall right into a comfort zone. The added surprise of a private deck and hot tub made the Nightingale even better. The vibrant view of the garden right outside the windows make you feel like you are in a fairytale. We were blessed to have discovered another beautiful treasure on the next night when we stayed in the Meadowlark. Again, flowers abounding, sunlight brightening up the room, and the view looking out onto the porch and garden...it was taken right out of a fairytale. We stayed in bed and just enjoyed the charm of both the Nightingale and Meadowlark. It was absolutely amazing. Dominique is a wonderful host who effortlessly made things more special by paying attention to details. All in all, it was the best experience I ever had at a B&B. Thank you Dominique!

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank LaurelO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews