We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“okay for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Secret Garden Inn
Ranked #10 of 18 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, ca
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“okay for the price”
Reviewed 21 February 2006

We stayed at the secrect garden inn this past weekend. Dominique the owner and the inn keepers were very friendly and helpful. The service made up for the flaws in the room. The place is 4 blocks from State street(where all the action is). You could walk it up during summer, but not during cold season. The breakfast was good and so were the snacks.The room was okay - not too great. It wasn't too clean, the rugs looked very old and the room was small with a tiny TV. The room was noisy, we could hear everything from our neighboring rooms.
There were 4 other couples who stayed in the house during our stay, they were friendly and nice. Overall I would rate this place - average (not bad).

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nithu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    54
    20
    10
    17
See reviews for
26
111
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 5 December 2005

With its yellow exterior and lovely gardens, the Secret Garden from the outside looks like a gem. However, you are not sleeping in the garden, you are sleeping in their crappy rooms. We stayed in the Kingfisher room and found out immediately, that "quaint" means the size of a postage stamp. It's so small in fact, that the french doors could not open all the way because they hit the end of the rock hard bed.
Did I mention the rock hard bed? My husband and I felt like we were sleeping on cement all night... Cement and mildew scented pillows. Very sexy.
The bathroom was filthy...black rings of scum on the drain in the clawfoot tub and a pink rug around the toilet that was so worn out and flattened that you would be a fool to let human skin touch it. The battery for the remote control was held together by two weathered bandaids that had black dirt around the edges. In the closet we found a bottle of whiskey, a knife and and old copy of Rolling Stone. We also found a strange hole in the floor larger than a half dollar that we religiously covered each night, for fear of what might climb up. Maybe this is what the knife and the whiskey were for. Sunday's breakfast was a huge vat of stewed prunes and yogurt. A real "yummy" treat after a long night of pain and agony. If you don't mind feeling like you want to be scrubbed down with comet, this is your kind of place. Unfortunately, my curiosity of bed and breakfasts has ended here.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2005

I have been going to Secret Garden inn before it was named the secret garden inn. It was originally the Blue Quail Inn. I have been go yearly since 1988. Sometimes twice a year. That is a lot of times, 23 times to be exact. I love this place. It is like home without the kids. I have slept in every room and feel all are fabulous. The staff is always kind, helpful and so friendly. I am now planning another trip in April 06 with the same 9 other couples who attend with us. This is the place to bring back the love in your relationship. It has always worked my husband and me.
Don't listen to these other people who bad mouth this wonderful place. Listen to this one who has been to many B&B's and this is my favorite.
Rose Pasadena Calif

  • Stayed April 2004, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rose1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2005

We had a horrible experience with The Secret Garden Inn. We had reserved a suite and prepaid through Hotels. When we arrived at the Inn at 4 pm on the day of our reservation, we were told that they double booked our room and there were no rooms available. They said that the owner had left town and was not available by phone. Theu did not call or contact us that morning when they discovered the problem, and instaed, without our permission, booked us into an inferior Bed & Breakfast down the street with "an eqivalent room". The room we wound up with was not worth the price we had paid, and the other bed and breakfast had none of the amenities of The Secret Garden. On further questioning, we found they had done this to several customers who had prepaid through Hotels. They did not offer anything to make up for their error but the alternate B&B, and their reservation "system" was several sheets of paper with manyy names crossed out in pencil. It ruined our romantic weekend, and to date, the owner has not contacted us with an apology or explanation. BEWARE!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 31 March 2005

The secret garden was a nice & romantic get away. The stay was great. Everything was great, from the host to the great breakfast. It was nice, simple, and relaxing. We will definenently be back. Kathy, L.A. county

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, Ca.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2005

This was our second trip to The Secret Garden. Upon our arrival I found out that it had changed owners since our last visit. While the young man working there was very nice and helpful, we never saw him again after we checked in. We stayed in the Nightingale Cottage and it just wasn't as great as I remembered. The bed was uncomfortable, the pull out couch in the other room was torture, the hot tub was so overly chlorinated it gave me dry itchy skin (how romantic!) and there was no maid service. The breakfast was unappetizing and cheap, with bad coffee and worse orange juice. We went to the coffee shop around the corner and that was fantastic. You are not even close to downtown so don't even think about walking. I just don't feel like it was worth the money. It doesn't seem like the owner is trying too hard. We won't be coming back.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MissChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, Ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2005

For a special, perfect getaway, we highly reccommend the Secret Garden Cottages. We were lucky enough to stay at the Woodthrush Cottage, which was quite charming and roomy. The best part is the privacy of the deck with it's own jacuzzi. Breakfast was also an enjoyable part of the visit. Mango, banana, and apple covered with yougurt, atichoke quiche, scones, one morning, and the next, baked apples, mexican quiche, and the best coffee around. At 5pm, wine and crackers and cheese, and the best warm brownies at 8pm. Massages can be arranged in your rooms to add to the relaxing escape. What more can you ask for?

Helpful?
4 Thank pccmtk1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.5 mi away
The Upham Hotel & Country House
The Upham Hotel & Country House
#16 of 52 in Santa Barbara
629 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,020 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara
1.6 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
326 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bath Street Inn
Bath Street Inn
#3 of 18 in Santa Barbara
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Secret Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Secret Garden Inn

Property: The Secret Garden Inn
Address: 1908 Bath St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-2813
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Secret Garden Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded behind high hedges, hidden pathways, and romantic gardens in Santa Barbara, lies the Secret Garden Inn and Cottages, built in 1905 and now owned and run by Dominique Hannaux. Stay in a main house guestroom, a cottage room or suite with or without private hot tub, or our completely private house. Surrounded by the Inn's gardens, all of our accommodations are romantic and peaceful. Enjoy the delicious Buffet Breakfast which includes: Dominique's French recipe quiches, fresh-baked scones, muffins, sweet breads, fresh fruit, coffee, tea and juices. Our rates also include wine, cheese and hors d'oeuvres at 5 pm and brownies and hot cider later in the evening! All our rooms have a TV-DVD, a private bath and shower and a hairdryer. Many fine restaurants, shops, museums and sights of beautiful Santa Barbara are just a short stroll or a quick bike ride from the Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Secret Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Secret Garden Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing