We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good location and a pleasant place.”
Review of Oasis Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oasis Inn & Suites
Ranked #42 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A good location and a pleasant place.”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

This motel is on State Street, a couple of miles from the coastal end, handy for places to eat and some good shopping. It has a garden area around a small (unheated) swimming pool, so there are places to sit out of the rooms themselves.
The rooms are poorly soundproofed so early departures will wake you up. The bed in the room we had (11) was soggy: I awoke with a sore back and headache each day. The room heaters are good, if noisy; also noisy was the fridge (but good to have it even so!).
The motel provides free Wi-Fi, and a rudimentary breakfast. The room was clean, so was the linen. There was a fridge, a microwave, ice available nearby; restaurants and a _good_ foodstore (Gelson's) nearby. If you're a good sleeper with a strong back or a preference for soft mattresses, there is no reason not to enjoy staying here.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 to 11 face the garden/pool. Another resident told us that room 1 was cold, room 3 was cosy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mirabelle-M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    86
    51
    24
    17
See reviews for
57
70
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We were looking for a place to stay just one night in Santa Barbara and found this inexpensive motel on State Street. What a pleasant surprise -- and great for the price. The room was small but had everything we needed. It was clean, nicely furnished and looked like it had been recently redecorated. There was a small fridge, microwave and coffee maker in the corner and free wi-fi was available, though the signal wasn't always strong in our room. The property is beautifully landscaped and well cared for. And, it was very quiet, especially considering we had a room near the front of the motel, by the street. Don't be put off by what looks like a quaint older motel -- this one has been nicely updated and we had a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suebach123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The staff were very helpful, place is well laid out with gardens and tables on which to sit and enjoy breckfast, which was very good for a small establishment. the ppol looked fine although we did not use it. The room was large with a great sized bed, a kitchen and small shower room. The staff are very honest and trust worthy. many thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flisted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed for one night. The room was well sized with a large TV, a very large bed, a microwave and a fridge. The bathroom was small with a small shower. Although we arrived before check in time we were able to check in to the room. However that was where the helpfulness of the staff ended. The (double) bed only had three pillows. When I asked for another I was informed that they had run out of "extra" pillows. When I went for breakfast there was a frustrated guest at reception trying to get hold of a member of staff. I eventually managed to track down a member of staff to supply extra food for breakfast as there was hardly anything available. When I came to check out 15 minutes before the official check out time there was nobody at the check out desk. This place would be better if the staff made more effort to be helpful. I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else. There are plenty of other properties in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Barbara hotels

Gdynia, Poland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We could see some deficiencies in the hotel. However they were not important for us because of the beautiful garden around the swimming pool. A sea of flowers with tables for general use among the flowers made us happy. Fair cleanness, relatively good breakfast and friendly Chinese staff - it was enough for us to review this motel with high notes.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StaWas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This motel is in a good location, we only used it as a stopover point on our way back down the coast, so didn't explore Santa Barbara but lots of good restaurants and eating places within walking distance. We had a suite with our two teenagers, the beds were ok and sheets clean but the kitchen/living area of the suite stank of fish and fried food and my son really didn't want to sleep in that area on the pull out bed. Also it was the only time in our whole two week holiday that I felt a little scared. Groups of men sat outside our room talking, shouting, swearing until quite late and at one point considered packing up and leaving. Didn't have the breakfast but looked Ok and staff were pleasant. Wouldn't visit again although I think there were better rooms.

Room Tip: We were in the main block on the ground floor, I would not recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angela b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Maria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This place is terrible. First our room had ants, then they moved us to a smaller room. And construction all day, even on the wall that the room adjoins. I just don't recommend it, the construction is very loud and the accommodation and service were poor.

Terrible.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
0.1 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#41 of 52 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Santa Barbara
Quality Inn Santa Barbara
#37 of 52 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandpiper Lodge
Sandpiper Lodge
#35 of 52 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.1 mi away
Agave Inn
Agave Inn
#31 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oasis Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Inn & Suites

Property: Oasis Inn & Suites
Address: 3344 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93105-2624 (Formerly San Roque Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Oasis Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oasis Inn & Suites in Santa Barbara, California is located right across from Gelson Supermarket. At the center of Upper States Area, it is about one block from MacKenzie Park. Santa Barbara Golf Club and Earl Warren Show Ground are less than half a mile from the property. The hotel is less than four miles from El Presidio State Historic Park and Downtown Santa Barbara. Palm Park, Santa Barbara Harbor and Beach Bicycle Rentals are within five miles. Surrounded by palm trees, the stucco Oasis Inn & Suites offers complimentary continental breakfasts and complimentary coffee in the lobby. The hotel includes an outdoor pool. Internet access, WIFI free of charge. Guestrooms at Oasis feature mini fridges and coffeemakers. HBO & Cable televisions are provided. Rooms offer hair dryer and wrought-iron board for your convenience. Beautiful and oasis-like garden is a little paradise for your breakfast, gathering and wonderful trip in Santa Barbara! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oasis Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oasis Hotel Santa Barbara
Oasis Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing