We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great if you are on a budget”
Review of Ala Mar Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ala Mar Motel
Ranked #50 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Reviewed 27 March 2013

This is a nice little motel. Location is the best thing about this place. It is right across the street from the wharf. it is also less than a block from the trolley that takes you up State Street to all of the restaraunts and shops. This motel also has a sun deck that is a nice place to sit and look out over the water. It's a great place to catch a sunrise or to have a little quiet time early in the morning.

It is a "no frills" budget motel. Our room was clean and comfortable. King size bed. Our room had two bath tubs. One in the bathroom and a jacuzzi tub near the bed. The towels are the cheapest quality. Small and kind of scratchy.

The breakfast was simply a cup of juice and/or coffee and a individually wrapped pastry like you get at a gas station qwik mart. The parking lot is very small... We were afraidd to move our car thinking we might not have a space when we returned.

All and all it was a good experience considering the price and we will repeat the next time we sneak away to Santa Barbara. Staying there leaves a few more dollars in our pocket for shopping.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2013

Wonderful view on the beach, but the rest is literally depressing expecially the "so called" continental breakfast, never seen anything so sad.
The rooms are just ok, not really clean and badly furnished with old and broken furnitures.
Anyway acceptable for a one day stop over in Santa Barbara, for longer staying i would suggest other places.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lello Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We stayed for one night and had a 2 queens. Located directly on the pier and beside much more expensive hotels. Parking is free. Nice rooms with artificial fire place. Forget the breakfast. Wasn't good. But nobody will beat 99 USD + tax in this location.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank worldtravelDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

I was on a West Coast road trip for my hen party with 2 of my girlfriends & we had nog planned any accommodation in Santa Barbara. We started driving to SB in the late afternoon from LA and by the time we arrived it was nightfall. With no idea where to go we just drove along the seafront and parked up. Ala Mar Motel was the first accommodation we saw, right on the corner & opposite the pier. My girlfriends jumped out and I went to park up the car. We decided to go for the motel because they offered us a cheap rate (worked out at $30 each for the night) in a triple room and the girls checked out the available room & said it was fine. It was also late so we couldn't be bothered to look for anywhere else. The room was very quaint, we couldn't understand why it was so cheap! There were 2 x double beds & 1 x single bed, everything clean & comfy with a TV etc. There is small car park so we parked the car right in the front of our room. We ended up staying another night as the weather in SB was beautiful & we wanted to most of the beach (it was June 2012 but still cold & colder as we drive further north up the Pacific Highway/Route 101). At first the manager agreed we could have the same cheap rate but the next morning when we went to pay the other gentlemen said no... we had to ask him to call/speak to the manager and all got resolved later in the day when he honoured the negotiated rate.

Breakfast was very simple with cereal, croissants and actually a decent waffle maker but they are very strict with times and stop at 10am prompt. You also have to take it back to your room/hang around because it's served in the very small reception area!

On the first night there was a beautiful view of the moon; it was almost coming out of the sea, very very big! It was a beautiful picture but alas no one could capture the glory on their cameras :(

I would recommend this motel if you pay no more than $30pp/pn. Not sure what other accommodation is like there; you may find better/cheaper elsewhere but it suited us fine.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MettaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

A bit of a dump, but what a location. Beautiful outlook in all directions, but up close it's shabby and in need of repair and cleaning. Location can't be beat. But price for the area is very low. Obviously a great little motel back in the day.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fritzy43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

We arrived to Santa Barbara later in the evening and pulled into the Ala Mar with out reservation. Staff was helpful and nice. We were given a small room at the back of the building in an alley. It was late so it was fine. It's ashame, because the propietor has though about comforts for thier guests and have tried to decorate in a comfortable shabby chic. But the place was just dirty! The walls, the bed posts and side tables had black smudge marks all over them as if a maintenance man or someone touched everything and left oil/dirt prints everywhere. The bathroom was unfinished too. It's too bad because one can see they have added small gestures of amenties to make a guest comfortable. It is just dirty. I would not stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DobyCary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

I guess it used to be way back when. Now, it’s falling apart & no one cares & they make a conscious effort to lure you in with great pictures…don’t believe it. We got their “best room” facing the ocean with a cute little balcony. I won’t way anymore, just look at the pictures.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#25 of 52 in Santa Barbara
987 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#10 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,332 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Avania Inn of Santa Barbara
Avania Inn of Santa Barbara
#39 of 52 in Santa Barbara
586 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Rosa Inn
Villa Rosa Inn
#11 of 18 in Santa Barbara
268 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Santa Barbara
Days Inn Santa Barbara
#34 of 52 in Santa Barbara
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ala Mar Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ala Mar Motel

Address: 102 W Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3505
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: £125 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ala Mar Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great location next to the beach and State St. We're a small boutique motel. Some rooms have private a jacuzzi. Most rooms have the beach view. We also have rooms with full kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ala Mar Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ala Mar Hotel Santa Barbara
Ala Mar Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing