We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara Downtown
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Presidio Motel(Santa Barbara)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Simpson House Inn(Santa Barbara)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orange Tree Inn(Santa Barbara)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kimpton Canary Hotel(Santa Barbara)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites(Santa Barbara)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spanish Garden Inn(Santa Barbara)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belmond El Encanto(Santa Barbara)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Santa Barbara(Santa Barbara)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (528)
Filter reviews
528 results
Traveller rating
254
191
59
15
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
254
191
59
15
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstate streetarlington theatersliding glass doorfree breakfastfew blockspool areahuge bathroomfront desk staffgreat place to staythe breakfast areawould definitely stay here againtwo queen bedsrestaurants and barsmorning breakfastfree parkingdirectly across the streetshort walk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
404 - 409 of 528 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2014

One bedroom guest suite (Room 122) was too small for my sister, my husband and 3 large dogs. We were in town for the Santa Barbara KC Show. While hotel was unable to find another room for my sister, hotel did comp a room for her at a nearby property. Beyond impressed especially since it was Santa Barbara in the summer!!! Nice grassy area to walk dogs.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott N, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff going above and beyond your expectations. I'm please we were able to relocate your sister. We look forward to having you as our guest the next time you and you visit Santa Barbara!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We were visiting friends in Santa Barbara and I was looking for an updated place to stay. I read reviews on Trip Advisor and all of them for this hotel were good. I booked for three nights and wasn't disappointed. The room was small but very clean. The bathroom had a huge shower and nice vanity. Everything was updated and the bed was very comfortable. The room had air but we didn't need it. When you walk into the lobby you look directly out to the sparkling pool and beautiful grounds. The pool was heated. The breakfast was ok but not overly generous. The location is right on State Street where shopping and restaurants are within walking distance. I would stay here again and would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott N, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

I'm pleased you found the hotel a great place to stay. Thank you for your comments regarding the sparkling pool and lush landscaping. I'm happy you found your room clean and modern as we completed renovation in April. We look forward to having you as our guest the next time you visit Santa Barbara!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Clean property stayed one night. Staff is very friendly. Rooms are spacious and beds are very comfortable. Nice pool area with plenty of seating. Enjoyed our time here as we traveled up the coast. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Harper M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott N, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

Thank you for your kind remarks about the spaciousness and cleanliness of your room. I'm please you found the staff friendly and you enjoyed the pool. We look forward to having you as our guest the next time you visit Santa Barbara.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

On a road trip down California Coast. Loved the open lobby with ocean breezes and view of the pool. Large room, no bathtub. Toilet seat didn't fit toilet and refrigerator had to be turned off because of loud shrill noise. Reported the refrigerator to manager and he said they were new and would have it replaced. Good location, friendly staff. Breakfast bar not designed well and too crowded. Overall good hotel.

Room Tip: Second floor was nice.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amoysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott N, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

I appreciate your comments regarding the ocean breezes and lovely pool. Yes, the rooms have been renovated and modern as we completed our renovation of the hotel in April. We have replaced the noisy refrigerator in your room. I'm please you found the location convenient and the staff helpful. We look forward to having you as our guest the next time you visit Santa Barbara!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Clean, comfortable, large room. Breakfast was great, never seemed crowded even though hotel was fully booked. A little far to walk to the beach (20 mins, but much longer if you get distracted by the shopping!). There's a cheap shuttle bus that takes you up and down State street and along the whole beach front (transfer required). It costs only 50 cents, but beware it stops running at 6pm! Also the bus stop is tricky to find from hotel: to go South on State street towards beach, you actually have to take the shuttle going North (it circles around a back street).

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank Wyue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott N, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

I'm please you found the hotel a great value, your room and comfy. I'm happy to know you enjoyed our breakfast. Yes, the shuttle does stop running at 6 PM. We look forward to having you as our guest the next time you visit Santa Barbara!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews