We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average filled the bill”
Review of Sunset Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunset Motel
Ranked #42 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Hyderabad
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Average filled the bill”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Sunset Motel is a very long walk from the action (we did it once) but the State Street bus takes you right there for 80 cents. The rooms are clean but small. Thoughtful additions included fridge and microwave, coffee and coffeemaker. And coffee, fruit, muffins and coffee are offered as breakfast. I wasn't bothered by the traffic (I slept soundly after the long walk there). Good natured staff. If you're stuck for a place to stay, this one is simple and fine.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaybirdHyderabad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    37
    23
    11
    12
See reviews for
27
47
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

During this time of the year this jewel of a city was sold out and we really had to search for an affordable hotel. Sunset Motel is adequate but the traffic noise from the street greatly lowers the value if this stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Barbara hotels

Anacortes, Washington
Level Contributor
472 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

It is alway very hard to find a reasonably priced place to stay in Santa Barbara.

I found this place to be exceptionally clean, friendly staff, close to shopping, and only 15 minutes to the beach.

The WiFi was free and worked great.

My rating is based on a clean safe reasonably priced place to stay.

This is not a five star hotel, but I would stay here over Motel 6 any day of the Week.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zip98221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos, CA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I was surprised to find a clean and remodeled room for this price. Well equipped for a motel. The only thing that could be improved is the bed. It was way too soft. Not sure if it was an age issue or a style.
The location is not by the beach. It is on a busy street with walking distance to quite a few restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Potosi, Mexico
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The rooms are really modern and clean! The staff is really nice and helpful (we checked in too late, at 11pm, and so we called at the motel and there were still there, waiting for us). The breakfast was OK, you can eat at a small table in your room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union City, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Let me start with the good: The furnishings were nice. HOWEVER, when we entered the room the floor felt a little scratchy, but I thought nothing of it as we just dropped our bags off and headed to dinner. When we returned from dinner and moved around a bit in the room, I realized that there was a thin layer of DIRT on the entire floor. My daughter's bare feet were black from it!

When I called to complain, the lady manager gave me such grief about it, saying that because the parking lot has dirt, we must have brought it in! (To be fair, she thought we were there for a few hours as opposed to having gone to eat dinner.) We went back and forth on the phone, until she FINALLY showed up with a towel to wipe the floor down herself--grousing the entire time!

The next morning I told her that that situation was unacceptable and for the money we paid we should have not had to deal with something like that. And we certainly should not have dealt with a complaining manager. She finally mumbled sorry, but it was certainly in a grudging fashion.

This would have been over and done with if she had adhered to the maxim: The customer is always right.

Furthermore, the continental breakfast was lackluster for the money we paid.

I concede that our experience was probably anomalous, but be that as it may, I will never cross their threshold again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Debra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The rooms have been recently upgraded with paint, new furniture and bathrooms.

Good value for money.

The outside garden and paint were being completed whilst we were there.

5 mike from water and 3 mile to downtown shops with major retailers trading.

Walking distance to shops and restaurants.

Good value. Good room service.

Will return for business. Very intermittent WiFi made it difficult to open emails and do any business.

Room Tip: Ground level easy to access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel3220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Oasis Inn & Suites
Oasis Inn & Suites
#41 of 52 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
0.1 mi away
Sandpiper Lodge
Sandpiper Lodge
#35 of 52 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Motel 6 Santa Barbara - State Street
0.2 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#47 of 52 in Santa Barbara
3.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Santa Barbara
Quality Inn Santa Barbara
#37 of 52 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Motel

Property: Sunset Motel
Address: 3504 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93105-2628
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Try a little touch of Santa Barbara hospitality.A nice small motel on upper State Street, the Sunset Motel offers a little touch of warm and friendly Santa Barbara hospitality, without breaking the budget.We are the owners and the innkeepers so we have a personal stake in the motel and in your comfort.Stay close to restaurants, shopping (Macy's and more), and Earl Warren Showgrounds. The bus in front will take you straight to downtown. What’s not to love?We look forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Sunset Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Santa Barbara
Sunset Motel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing