We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for a one night stop”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Town and Country Inn
Ranked #48 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Yakima, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ok for a one night stop”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This place was OK for a one night stop. Reasonable for Santa Barbara. Appears to be new owners, and they are fixing the place up. Was pretty quiet, even though our room faced State street. It's an older building, but clean. No coffee or breakfast of any kind in the morning.
Would we stay there again? Probably not.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    4
    12
    7
    18
See reviews for
9
27
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Santa Barbara is a city of expensive hotels, We tried to find a decent hotel for less than 120 $ and it was impossible. Even the budget and no so clean hotels in the beach are 100$. They told us that in the untouristic up part of State Street there was an area where the hotels are cheaper so we went there. After check this area where almost all the hotel are the same and around 90$ (taxes included) we decided to stay in this hotel.
The hotel is being renewed after the new owners, a friendly oriental family, bought a few months ago.
The rooms are very basic, but they have been repainted and have brand new TV,s,The furniture es very old yet.
The hotel has NO POOL instead is announced as if it had.
The location is very far from all what is interesting in Santa Monica, so unless you have a car (there is an outter parking) this is not a hotel for you.
At the end we paid 85 $ but the next morning they told us that the breakfast was not included, so it was not such a good deal after all.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABCMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We were moving our daughter to college and found this place through our travel club website. It is not slick and fancy by any means, but the bed was comfortable and clean, the towels were fresh. You could tell it was a family run operation, but the woman at the desk was very kind and allowed us to check in earlier than planned, once I told her my husband was not feeling well and needed to rest. The price was fair for over priced Santa Barbara, and we felt we got a good deal.
I was disappointed to find it booked up when we wanted to return again.

Room Tip: room 104 was great! Center of the complex
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We ended up staying here as everything else in SB was booked that night. Paid over $100 for that night. The rooms are in pretty bad condition. There is a strong odor and the whole place seems very dingy. The picture in this website is far from real. There is no pool.
Avoid this place if you can. There is a doubletree inn across the street. Go there instead.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amann7781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Barbara hotels

Surfers Paradise, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Booked and paid for a room mid July2013 in person, before travelling to LA to pick up a friend. On arrival back in Santa Barbara on the booked date (2 days later) found the manager had rented my room to someone else -this is at 4.30pm on a saturday! She had no excuse and did not offer to find us alternative accommodation so we were left stranded on a busy weekend. I got a refund but absolutely no help - it was suggested by the next motel manager that she probably let my room at a better rate. So I would avoid this like the plague -totally unreliable and unhelpful

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Perry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

terrible place to stay and please do not take children there is horrible, dirty, people yelling outside, fighting probaly drug users. rooms smell like urine, everything there is filty dirty. Owners kids are the ones cleaning the rooms with just wipes that you buy for $1.00 at the store.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else but not here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aquezada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

my relatives were in town and needed an inexpensive place to stay. I found this place for them, as it was convenient to my home and downtown. The worst mistake of my life regarding travel. This place is filthy. Mold in the showers and bathrooms, leftover food from previous tenants, carpets haven't been cleaned ever. If the county department of health had any responsibility they would shut this hole of pestilance down forever.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jerbabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.6 mi away
Oasis Inn & Suites
Oasis Inn & Suites
#42 of 52 in Santa Barbara
214 reviews
0.8 mi away
Motel 6 Santa Barbara - State Street
1.0 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#45 of 52 in Santa Barbara
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#41 of 52 in Santa Barbara
108 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Santa Barbara
Quality Inn Santa Barbara
#37 of 52 in Santa Barbara
217 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sandpiper Lodge
Sandpiper Lodge
#35 of 52 in Santa Barbara
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town and Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town and Country Inn

Property: Town and Country Inn
Address: 2800 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93105-3416
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Town and Country Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Town and Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town And Country Hotel Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing