We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is perfect everything else is not”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Ranked #41 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I really wanted to love this place. The location is truly perfect right on the beach. The rooms are just okay really not what I expected from a Hyatt, the beds are not really comfortable. I could have forgotten that all and handed over a great review if it wasn't for the other things that occurred over the weekend. I made reservations one month in advance and requested a crib/pack and play as I was traveling with a 3 month old. I was told I would have one and never told it was not guaranteed. If that was the case I would have brought my own. When I checked it I was told they were all taken..sigh so I had to sleep with my infant with the fear of rolling over him hence I did not sleep at all. The manager was less than apathetic and offered no solutions. Then I asked for late check out and the manager offered to everyone else in my party 5 other rooms except for me saying that I can move to their rooms??? We go to SB every year this will not be our hotel of choice. The only positive things about this place are the locations and the breakfast. Choose wisely Fess Parker and Bacara were much better experiences.

Room Tip: Pay extra for ocean view the other rooms face the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank calilady32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,472)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,164 - 1,170 of 1,472 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

It is not your classic hotel building, and when driving up to the property it does have a feel of a motel. Upon entrance of any part of the building especially the front desk, the decor is elegant and something you would expect out of a Hyatt hotel. A lot of people complain that this hotel is overpriced, perhaps it is compare to any other destinations but if you really compare hotel prices in the area it is not bad at all. A Best Western couple blocks down the street that definitely looks like a motel as you drive by and from pictures, I remember was almost 200 bucks a night. I rather spend a bit more and stay at this place hotel any day. A bit of a caveat, we did receive an upgrade free of charge to a second floor room that has a balcony with an ocean view. The view is pretty awesome. Room is nice, elegant, modern, and the size was good. Would recommend this property. Also pretty good location too. It is about a mile or two away from the main attractions.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This is not your typical Hyatt experience. All rooms are tired, carpets are warn, handrails are sticky, internet fees, mandatory valet, like I can't park my own car and walk a few feet. This place needs some fine tuning and some TLC before I come back again. I was really disappointed with the frowning staff and stale smell in this place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I am sooo glad that I read the reviews before we stayed here and knew to park on the street. The parking is $26 per night, which is ridiculous. They need to decrease parking to $10 per night. We had an easy check in. We are platinum members so they already upgraded us to an ocean room at the end of the property on the second floor. The view and balcony were awesome. Very quiet, safe, peaceful hotel near the harbor and close to shopping on State Street. The pool was too cold during our stay but we did enjoy the hot tub. All of the workers were very friendly. I will definitely stay here again using my Hyatt points :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamabear1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here on a trip thru California. A wonderful greeting when we checked in. We had valet service and great help with our luggage. We had a room with an ocean view and was wonderful to hear the water from our room. The buffet breakfast was delicious and so many things to enjoy. They worked with me to help with my allergies. Everyone working at the hotel from our check in thru our check out was wonderful. We can't wait to go back and spend more time here.This hotel is steps away from a beautiful beach. Wonderful stay for our family. THANK YOU!

Room Tip: we are so glad we had reserved an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kylie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I would Highly recommend The Santa Barbara Hyatt for business and pleasure. The Staff is always polite and very helpful to answer any questions. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. The food is very good and the service is excellent. The Managers are friendly and care about your stay. The cleaning staff is wonderful bringing service in a timely matter.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Melody M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My wife and I spent a week at the Hyatt while attended a writers conference, and to be honest, it was exactly what you'd expect from Hyatt, that is to say, it's excellent. The property consists of several buildings, so be prepared for a small amount of walking. Santa Barbra (in deed California on the whole) is quite expensive and the Hyatt was obviously no exception, so to save a few dollars, we opted for breakfast in our room consisting of fresh fruit and yogurt from a local supermarket. We did have our lunches at Bistro 1111 and they were very good and reasonably priced and happy hour made drinks quite reasonable. The hotel is located directly across from the beech and on the downtown trolley line($.50 each way) so getting to State street (where EVERYTHING is located) was easy. If price is an issue, there are other hotels in town, but like I said, California is just expensive, so be prepared.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2Luv2Trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
451 reviews
1.3 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#10 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,332 reviews
0.2 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#7 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,079 reviews
1.6 mi away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#20 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,039 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#25 of 52 in Santa Barbara
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara

Address: 1111 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103 (Formerly Hotel Mar Monte)
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: £129 - £424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover one of the finest hotels in Santa Barbara, California when you stay at Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara. Built in 1931, our historic hotel welcomes guests with its casual elegance and first-rate service. Detailed with a fusion of Spanish Colonial architecture blended with modern conveniences, Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara is a shining gateway to the City of Santa Barbara, also known as the American Riviera. Discover 176 comfortably-appointed guestrooms, a perfect home base for both leisure and business travelers. Enjoy the warm California sunshine in our heated outdoor pool and enjoy a local beverage at our ocean view pool bar, Mar Vista, work off stress in the spacious fitness center, or enjoy dinner at Marbella Restaurant, serving American cuisine with California flair. A 100% smoke-free hotel, Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara also offers amenities like in-room dining, valet and self-parking, valet laundry service, and a business center. With 10,000 square feet of flexible and unique meeting space, offering exquisite culinary selections and the latest in technology, Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara is ideal for your next corporate event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
Mar Monte Santa Barbara
Mar Monte Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing