We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful historic property in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Ranked #39 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
San Francisco
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful historic property in great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

The hotel is in a great location--right across the street from the beach with beautiful views of the the ocean and mountains on the quieter end of town. Having a road in front of the hotel is a non-issue; it does not detract from the ocean views and beach hotel vibe. The train runs close by, but it is infrequent and non-obtrusive. There is ample street parking if you don't want to pay for valet. The hotel is divided into three buildings, which means you have to walk through buildings and parking lots to get to the pool and restaurant/bar if you are not staying in that building.

All of the staff we encountered were super nice and helpful. The bar has a decent happy hour. The bartender comped us drinks during happy hour because of some inconsiderate guest's screaming children that were running around the bar. That was really appreciated! We ordered room service after the cut-off time one morning and they were happy to accommodate us. Room service was fast, pleasant, and breakfast was great--good food and excellent coffee! We were upgraded to a king balcony by Omar, the manager. The bed is very comfortable and the pillows are SO comfortable--it was like sinking into a cloud! The room is outfitted with everything you might need, and if you forget something, they have a list of items they will bring you or that you can borrow.
If you book a regular queen or king, you will mostly likely be on the ground floor and looking onto the parking lot. There are a few non-balcony rooms with a view--be sure to request them. Otherwise, king deluxe rooms with a balcony are on higher floors and can look to the side with a partial ocean view, or to the back with a mountain view. These rooms are a good size, with a refrigerator, big flat screen and desk area. The king balcony ocean views in the front of the hotel have a higher price. The decor of the original building is beautiful. The public areas in the lobbies of the other buildings are furnished comfortably and have great views of the ocean. There are also patios with seating facing the ocean on the ground floor. Hyatt pays close attention to maintaining the period feel of the property. The property is obviously well-cared for.

Be aware that the pool and pool area are very small. If there are families with kids, the pool basically becomes a kiddie pool. The pool bar closes too early and there were not enough pool towels available in the late afternoon. Also, there is a $9.95 charge per day for in-room internet, which seems chintzy for a hotel of this caliber.

Room Tip: If you book a regular queen or king, you will mostly likely be on the ground floor and looking onto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bikegirl17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    307
    290
    199
    136
See reviews for
405
457
36
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
100 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

This hotel is located near the beach. You just have to cross the street. It is 2 km to the Pier and the beginning of the main street (State street). It is a big hotel, very busy, a bit outdated and a small swimming pool. Rooms are small, no safe in the room and the one thing that is so annoying is that you have to pay for wifi in your room. This is really not acceptable anymore nowadays.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HongKongTraveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H596BGM, General Manager at Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for providing this feedback and allowing me the opportunity to thank you for staying with us. I sincerely agree that our location is outstanding, right here on East Beach and not a far walk to Stern’s Wharf and the bottom of State Street. We’ll quite often see guests walk to the pier and then take the $.50 Trolley back to the property, to us both are great options. The pool is as large as it can be given the fact that as much room as possible was dedicated to space for lounge chairs, the fire pit and the hot tub. I am sorry that you were not able to find the safe in your guest room, if your travels bring you back to the Hyatt in Santa Barbara please reach out to the front desk for assistance in locating the amenities inside the room and around the property. The cost for Wi-Fi is competitive with our neighboring properties and I am sorry that you did not find the value in the high speed connection. I do look forward to welcoming you back to Santa Barbara in the near future, H596BGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pico Rivera, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

After reading tons of reviews on how tiny the rooms are or how outdated the rooms are, I would have to disagree we had room 284 it was an ocean view room with a balacony, it has to be the best room there, it was roomy clean and the views were amazing, house keeping(Virginia) took very good care of our room, we were very pleased with her, the front desk was very nice, although we did arrive 2 hours early and had to wait for our room, it was worth the wait! we do not have any complaints the staff from teh front desk, to the valet, to the bell boys, to housekeeping, everyone was wonderful! we would definately go back, it was worth every dollar.

Room Tip: request a room with an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank camille b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottsdale
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

From checking when we removed our own bags while valet stood at trunk watching us, we were disappointed. The concierge was. Non existent so on our own for all recommendations and reservations. We received a lovely email from Omar the day before we arrived so tried 3 times to respond to him with zero response. We even saw him at valet desk while waiting for our car one day, so he was working. No excuse as the property has potential but we will choose another for our next visit .

Room Tip: See. If you can get an ocean view as there are apartments and motel 6 behind it that hotel overlooks
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H596BGM, General Manager at Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with me. Please accept my sincerest apologies for both the well-meaning, but inattentive follow through from Omar as well as for our valet service – I find this unacceptable and have taken action to remedy this. I apologize you were not aware that our front desk agents can help with concierge services and I am sorry that our concierge desk was not staffed this past weekend, this is a service that we feel is very important to our guests and will make every effort to have a knowledgeable staff member at the desk. I do hope that you had a fantastic time here in Santa Barbara. HyattGM955
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Barbara hotels

Riverside, CA, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Celebrated an anniversary weekend here. Nice facility, we were in the main building. Looks like other parts might be a bit more stylish. About a mile and a half to downtown, an easy walk. Beach is right across the street.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santa barbara, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

The hotel in Santa Barbara really is not that great considering the price. I have had so much better service at less costly hotels. The front desk reception people not that professional, the valet kids were worthless.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
2 Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H596BGM, General Manager at Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you, your feedback is very welcome and appreciated. I would like to extend a sincere apology for the lack of professionalism at the front desk, this is contrary to the standards of Hyatt as well as our own personal standards. Please be assured that your comments are shared with the managers of both the front desk and valet and actionable steps to improve guest experience are being taken. I am also sorry that your value expectation was not met, our pricing is very competitive with similar hotels that are located on the beach here in Santa Barbara. I do hope that you enjoyed your time here in Santa Barbara and I look forward to your return. HyattGM955
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st. louis
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

we were excited to stay here expecting a luxurious stay especially for the price we paid around $380. Our first night we were assigned a room across the street, where guests with animals stay. Small, functional room that had no view; it was covered with plants. Wall mounted air conditioner. Asked the next day to be moved to a new room. We were moved into one of the main 3 buildings, with a balcony overlooking the parking lot, away from the ocean. The balcony was nice, but the room was motel quality. Small, incredibly noisy. We could hear people in the parking lot or had to deal with an incredibly loud air conditioner. We barely slept. The bathroom was primitive. Nice, but certainly not luxurious. The staff was nice, it has a great location across the street from the ocean, but this is an old and tired facility and felt like staying in a motel, maybe 2 star. We were inundated with emails offering service, but the problem here is with the physical plant. Very little to be done there. I would prefer to have stayed at Fess Parker or at one of the neighboring motels for much less $$.

Room Tip: in retrospect, our room without a balcony in the building across the street was quieter and the bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank midwestern_guy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H596BGM, General Manager at Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your thoughts with me. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed the service here at the Hyatt Santa Barbara, this means a great deal to all of my staff that work here to make your stay the best it can possibly be. I am also delighted to know that we were able to move you from the Santa Rosa building to a room with a beautiful mountain view. The original hotel, Hotel Mar Monte, was built in the 1930’s which accounts for the smaller sized rooms, which were the norm during that time period. This also explains the necessity to have wall mounted A/C units. I do hope that you felt as though the Hyatt represented a historic Santa Barbara charm that the city itself displays to visitors. HyattGM955
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.3 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#32 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#22 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
1.7 mi away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#18 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#27 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara

Property: Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Address: 1111 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103 (Formerly Hotel Mar Monte)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover one of the finest hotels in Santa Barbara, California when you stay at Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara. Built in 1931, our historic hotel welcomes guests with its casual elegance and first-rate service. Detailed with a fusion of Spanish Colonial architecture blended with modern conveniences, Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara is a shining gateway to the City of Santa Barbara, also known as the American Riviera. Discover 176 comfortably-appointed guestrooms, a perfect home base for both leisure and business travelers. Enjoy the warm California sunshine in our heated outdoor pool and enjoy a local beverage at our ocean view pool bar, Mar Vista, work off stress in the spacious fitness center, or enjoy dinner at Marbella Restaurant, serving American cuisine with California flair. A 100% smoke-free hotel, Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara also offers amenities like in-room dining, valet and self-parking, valet laundry service, and a business center. With 10,000 square feet of flexible and unique meeting space, offering exquisite culinary selections and the latest in technology, Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara is ideal for your next corporate event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
Mar Monte Santa Barbara
Mar Monte Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing