We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Ranked #41 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Considering the cost, and considering the brand reputation, we were quite disappointed with this hotel. Santa Barbara is so beautiful it made up for it some, but here is not way it should be as expensive as it is given the cost of the rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Dana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H596BGM, General Manager at Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. I agree, Santa Barbara is a really beautiful ocean side city, often considered the American Riviera. As you have witnessed, August is the peak of our busy season, with that, all local hotels adjust their pricing accordingly. Our pricing was and is always very competitive considering our ocean front location. I am happy to know that you had a great time while you were here and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,529)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,153 - 1,159 of 1,530 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

The rooms are big, but the sound isolation not that good. Also the noise from the AC is too much for a hotel room.
The hotel in general is ok.
The restaurant isnt that good. The food takes to long and the food is not good.
The location is very good. It is in front of the beach, and you can rent a bicycle surrey just in front of the hotel.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Antonio_cf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

We were here during the SB triathlon (unbeknownst to us), so room rates were over $300. We booked our room using points, so didn't feel robbed given the very sad and dated room.

The Pros: perfect location directly across the street from the beach and bike/jogging path right out front. It's also just down the street, short walk from the very nice small Santa Barbara Zoo.

Lobby was updated and comfy if not very large. Valet staff was friendly and efficient. Front desk staff was friendly but half of them were in training.

We're Diamond Hyatt members and got free full breakfast for 2 (which can be via room service or at restaurant. A nice amenity we appreciate since breakfast for 2 cost $60) and free wifi internet.

Hotel is very pet friendly, which is nice and location is great and easy to walk the dog.

The Cons: It's $26 overnight valet parking (that's highway robbery!) or self park is try to find parking on your own on the street! No on site self park, lot is just too small.

Our room had a partial ocean view, which was nice. It also had an easy access out to the walking path.

However, it was NY city small and very dated, it does NOT look anything like the updated room on the hotel website. It is big enough for a King size bed, desk and TV cabinet but not much room to move around. a The room also smells a bit musty, we bought a renuzit air freshened which helped.

The bathroom is tiny! Only 1 person can be in it at anytime. When the bathroom door is open, it bangs against the toilet. When the closet door is open, it blocks the bathroom.

If we paid $300 a night, might have been very disappointed. But since we used points, it was a fine stay. Our friends stayed at the Best Western Peppertree (5 miles away) and their room was about as updated as the Hyatt and at least 30% larger. But Best Western location is much further inland.

It's all about the location as far as this hotel is concerned, don't expect normal Hyatt brand quality room here, closer to normal Best Western but you can't beat the location.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Luvtosafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H596BGM, General Manager at Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Hello and thank you for writing this review. I certainly appreciate the very kind words regarding our team here at the Hyatt. Yes, it certainly was busy during the triathlon, but it was a great weekend.
Thank you as well for complimenting our location and proximity to the very nice Santa Barbara Zoo. I appreciate your loyalty to Hyatt and congratulations on your Diamond status! I'm sorry that you found the parking to be very high, the charge is comparable to our neighboring hotels and we feel as though it is good value considering our location. The rooms in our hotel vary greatly in size simply due to the fact of the time period in which it was originally built. We believe that the hotel, given this uniqueness, represents Santa Barbara very well and we are looking forward to many improvements in the very near future that will make it even better. Thank you for staying with us and I hope that you had a wonderful time in our beautiful city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Having read all the recent reviews, I was worried that we would be disappointed. We stayed on points and could only get a king room with no view since the hotel was full. There was a wedding party there and it was a weekend. We were very tired from our over-trafficy drive from San Diego and the valet was very friendly and helpful to allow us to relax upon checkin. When we saw our room, I was pleasantly surprised since I was expecting worse. The room was immaculate, the bed very comfy and there was a small refrigerator. Since it was late, we decided to eat at the hotel restaurant. We split the chicken dish and the quantity was sufficient and tasty. The next morning, we walked to State Street and the pier. The pier was fun. We walked up State Street and saw some great shops (can't remember the names.) We rode the trolley back down State Street and got a transfer so we could then ride it back to the hotel. It was only 50 cents! For the evening, we got recommendations from the front desk and were very happy with the recommendations - we decided to drive the car and that was a good decision. Parking was easily found near the restaurant. It would have been too difficult to ride the trolley and walk. Santa Barbara was a delightful place to stay. During our stay we went to the pool and found it very nice, albeit small. We lucked out getting chairs when others were leaving. We also went to the beach and it was so quiet. I got a little tar on my feet, but it came off with soap. This Hyatt is different from the large resorts and the room we had is smaller, but the friendliness and cleanliness were appreciated. I could use my free night at this Hyatt and not other locations that I was interested in, so we got free wifi. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Houstondoglover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Have stayed at several hotels in the Santa Barbara, will not stay here again.

1. 1st night - smoke alarm was going off every 10 minutes, one would think they changes batteries twice a year.
2. Wall A/C unit did not cool the room.
3. Refrigerator was not working.
4. $14.95 for 24 hours of Wi-Fi - for what we paid to stay at the is hotel - why not FREE
5. Service at Bristo 1111 was terrible, no A/C in the restaurant either.

The only good thing about this stay was the ocean view!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H596BGM, General Manager at Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you for sharing this feedback with me. First and foremost, I'd like to wish you a very Happy Anniversary! I'm sorry that we failed in so many areas in meeting the most basic of your expectations. You are right, the beeping fire alarm should have been caught prior to your arrival, as well as the refrigerator. I'm sorry that you found the wifi to be priced too high, we offered tiered pricing, $9.95 and $14.95 and both prices are comparable to the charges that our neighboring hotels charge. Most often the cool ocean breeze is enough to keep our dining room comfortable, however during the days where we experience the Santa Ana winds, the wind blows hot air from the south and east. I'm sorry that your experience with us was subpar, and I'd love for you to give us another try in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

The hotel is a strangely spread out and a map is not provided at check in. We were moved after we checked into our room and did not like our view from the balcony, a motel 6. We were moved to an ocean view room that was much nicer. The view was spectacular. The rooms are small. The staff was nice. Make sure to ask for ocean view, unless you don't plan on spending anytime in your room.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for an ocean view. The opposite view is not very inviting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H596BGM, General Manager at Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We are happy you enjoyed our location and friendly team, but we’re very sorry you didn't enjoy your initial room due to the view which included the surrounding buildings. It is great to know that we were able to move you to a room with a spectacular view of the ocean. I also apologize that we did not hand out a map of the hotel to assist you in locating your guest room and other hotel amenities, this is unlike us and we will be sure to provide these consistently to future guests. I do hope that you had a wonderful time in Santa Barbara and look forward to having you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We travelled to the Hyatt in Santa Barbara from the Huntley hotel in Santa Monica which had been a luxurious place to stay. By comparison the Hyatt in Santa Barbara was fairly basic, particularly the standard of fittings and size of rooms. However the overall feel of the hotel and it's esteemed history were superb. We loved the laid back vibe and found all the staff to be very friendly and helpful. We particularly liked Randy the restaurant manager and his staff including Peter and Eric. The location which is about 10 metres from the beach was unbeatable. We adored Santa Barbara and will definitely return. I would recommend the Enterprise fish restaurant which was wonderful. Also worth hiring a bike for the most scenic ride of your life, not too many hills also :-)

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank PeterWR28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#20 of 52 in Santa Barbara
510 reviews
1.3 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#10 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,356 reviews
0.2 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,104 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Californian
Hotel Californian
#35 of 52 in Santa Barbara
41 reviews
1.6 mi away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara

Address: 1111 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103 (Formerly Hotel Mar Monte)
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: £130 - £321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover one of the finest hotels in Santa Barbara, California when you stay at Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara. Built in 1931, our historic hotel welcomes guests with its casual elegance and first-rate service. Detailed with a fusion of Spanish Colonial architecture blended with modern conveniences, Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara is a shining gateway to the City of Santa Barbara, also known as the American Riviera. Discover 176 comfortably-appointed guestrooms, a perfect home base for both leisure and business travelers. Enjoy the warm California sunshine in our heated outdoor pool and enjoy a local beverage at our ocean view pool bar, Mar Vista, work off stress in the spacious fitness center, or enjoy dinner at Marbella Restaurant, serving American cuisine with California flair. A 100% smoke-free hotel, Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara also offers amenities like in-room dining, valet and self-parking, valet laundry service, and a business center. With 10,000 square feet of flexible and unique meeting space, offering exquisite culinary selections and the latest in technology, Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara is ideal for your next corporate event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
Mar Monte Santa Barbara
Mar Monte Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing