We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Presidio Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Presidio Motel
Ranked #33 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed only for 1 night here and arrived late at night from an international flight, the front desk were great and arranged a late check in and check out the next day, our room was very clean and comfortable, free Internet was a bonus. The location couldn't be better, an easy walk to most of the best places to eat, drink and shop! We had a great recommendation from the front desk for a hearty Cajan breakfast, if we go back to Santa Barbara we would definately stay here again (we spent the next 6 nights in another hotel as we had a conference there, it was over twice the price and no where near as nice).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rum_and_Cokey_eye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura Y, General Manager at Presidio Motel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to accomodate your late arrival. We make every effort to provide our guests with the highest level of customer service and accomodate their needs.
We are indeed very fortunate to have such a great location so that all of our guests may walk State Street down to the beach and enjoy everything that Santa Barbara has to offer. We hope that you will be visiting us again soon! Thank you again!
Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    98
    38
    7
    6
See reviews for
23
120
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

This property is right on State Street. Perhaps we were unlucky in getting Room 1 which could only have been 20 yards from Santa Barbara's main street, but the property depth was not that great & I expect other rooms would not have been that much better. As it was, it was very difficult to get a good night's sleep (even with ear plugs) and we were aware of every vehicle revving its engine as it hit the incline outside our room. To be fair to the owners, the bed and pillows were comfortable, but the rom was unbelievably expensive for what it was ($170).

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura Y, General Manager at Presidio Motel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us on TripAdvisor. We are disappointed to hear that you experiecne with us did not live up to your expectations and would like to extend our sincerest apologies. In an effort to reduce the street noise, we are currently working with the City of Santa Barbara to replace the windows and insulate the rooms from exterior noise.
We do hope that you were able to speaki with a manager on property regarding your concerns and perhaps will be able to give us another chance in the future.
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and we wish you the best.
Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasant Hill, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

After watching prices for a few weeks, I got a great deal on a room at this motel. The reception was incredibly friendly and welcoming. They offered coffee, tea and juice each morning which was a nice touch for a motel. The location could not have been better. It is within 10 minutes walking distance from the heart of downtown SB on State St. We even walked to the beach from here. We could hear other guests as they walked by which is to be expected at a motel so bring your earplugs if you are a light sleeper. The room itself was a good size and very clean. I guess some rooms have mini fridges however ours (#17) did not which was a little disappointing since we had left over food that went to waste. While the pillows and sheets were nice the mattress was very firm and did not allow for a comfortable sleep. This would be my biggest complaint. I do have to mention that I am 7+ months pregnant but my husband also said the mattress was too stiff for him and we both woke up achy. This is the only reason I did not give 4 stars. Because of the location and assuming I could get the same discounted rate, I would stay here again. Although, I just might bring some extra padding for the mattress.

Room Tip: #17 is upstairs and furthest away from the street with a view of the mountains but as of Oct. 2013 i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura Y, General Manager at Presidio Motel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the location and conveniences that we were able to offer. That said, we are also sorry to hear that you did not find the mattress to be comfortable during your stay and appreciate the feedback, as it allows us the opportunity to review the occurrences so that we may improve our guests' experiences.
Most of our rooms do have mini-fridges at this time and unfortunately, your room (#17) did not. For future reference, we are able to place a mini-fridge in the room at request if you find that you need one in the future. We hope that you will come stay with us again soon and wish you the very best.

Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton Beach, NH
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

I stayed there just for one night as a walk-in. Staff was very nice and helpful to us. Room looks very modern and it was very clean! Motels around this place are in the same price or even higher but standard of these motels are really bad. We had free WIFI and we could use hotel bicycles for free. I strongly recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dagmara1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura Y, General Manager at Presidio Motel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay! Please come back and visit us again soon!

Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, UK.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Recommended to stop here by previous guests we met in San Fran. Booked on line without seeing it and were not disappointed. It is easy to find and well positioned for nice restaurants and night life - a nice walk. Staff were nice and very helpful. Complimentary bicycles were great and allowed us to leave car and cycle down to beach front which was great. I would not normally stay in a motel but this was far superior - great ventilation, air-con and large bathroom. Was pleased with storage facilities as we were both travelling with 2 weeks clothes and could empty cases and store whilst stopping there.

Have no hesitation in recommending it and giving it 5 star rating.

Room Tip: From what I could see all rooms were the same format so could not suggest anything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura Y, General Manager at Presidio Motel, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are glad that our previous guests' recommendation fulfilled your expectations. From the Presidio, we are just steps from all the activities of downtown so, we are very fortunate to be able to offer our guests the convenience of getting downtown on foot or bicycle!
We hope that you will come visit us again soon. Thank you for choosing to stay with us!

Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden Grove, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

This hotel is impeccable, from location to cleanliness, it is just amazing! My boyfriend and I booked this hotel at the last minute and when we booked it he left a special request for us to check into the hotel room really early and they granted the request at no additional charge! When we got there, we were greeted by Lori/Laura (I cant remember her name now) she was just so great! I don't think I ever received such exemplary customer service before at a hotel. I cant express how on point and genuine she was throughout our stay. Our room itself was great, no complaints here. Another awesome perk is that they allow you to use their bikes for free, I've never seen any hotel do that before! The morning of our checkout, we accidentally overslept and they were so nice about it, we rushed to get out as soon as possible but they were very understanding. When I turned in our room key, the lady at the front asked how our night was and if we slept ok which i told her we did and continued to ask about our concert. What amazes me is that she remembered we went to a concert, she really left an impression on me and so I highly recommend everyone to stay at this hotel, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura Y, General Manager at Presidio Motel, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. It is our pleasure to treat all of our guests as family and do everything we can to accomodate their requests.
Santa Barbara is such a wonderful place to enjoy concerts at the Bowl and with our proximity to that venue as well as many other attractions in SB, we are very fortunate to be able to provide our guests with a close accomodation.
That said, we hope that you will be able to come back and visit us again soon. Thanks again for taking the time to post a review - we greatly appreciate it!
Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rimini, Italy
Level Contributor
92 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

On our way from LA to San Francisco we made a quick stop (1 night) in Santa Barbara and decided to stay at the Presidio.
Honestly I'm not a fan of motels, but the Presidio doesn't really feel like one of those shabby ones you're used to see along the US roads. This actually is a cool one!

During my California trip in August, hotel prices in Santa Barbara were extremely high and the availability of rooms were also limited. I'm so glad we were able to book at the Presidio because first, we got a great rate (compared to other places in town, Presidio it's not that cheap) and second, the location was just perfect for us. The Presidio is right in State St., a few minutes from the sea, with plenty to do in the area. We found some lovely restaurants just around the corner and we were not disappointed with our stay.

The guys at the front desk were nice, though I didn't have enough time to chat with them (we were always in a hurry and check-in and check-out were super fast).
Our room was upstairs, far enough from the street noise and overlooking the parking on the back of the property. The room had no frills but was large enough for two people, nicely appointed, clean and with a comfortable bed.

Unfortunately we couldn't take one of their bikes for (free) rent because that's not possible in the evening for security reasons (no lights on the bikes), but this bike thing is a really nice touch for their guests! Free WiFi is all over the property and there's also a nice balcony with chairs and lounges where you can relax after a day of sightseeing. They also offer some kind of breakfast at the reception (coffee, orange juice, etc), otherwise there's a Starbucks and many other options just a few blocks away.

I don't think I'm gonna visit Santa Barbara again in the future, but I would definitely recommend the Presidio to others traveling to this part of California!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank interpol81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura Y, General Manager at Presidio Motel, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review and choosing to stay with us at the Presidio. We understand that there is a preconceived notion of motels but, are very happy that you found the Presidio to be an exception to that notion! The property is within the historic district of Santa Barbara so we are limited to what we can do to the exterior of the property however, we completed a renovation of the interior this year to ensure that our guests have a great experience.
We are so glad that you were able to visit Santa Barbara and enjoyed the Presidio. We hope that you will come back and visit us again on your next travels to California. Thanks again!

Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites
1.5 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#10 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mason Beach Inn
Mason Beach Inn
#24 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
0.3 mi away
The Upham Hotel & Country House
The Upham Hotel & Country House
#18 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Presidio Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Presidio Motel

Property: Presidio Motel
Address: 1620 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-2520
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Presidio Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Barbara's Modern Boutique Motel. Free Bicycles, Complimentary Parking, Free Wi-Fi, Closest Motel to Downtown! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Presidio Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Presidio Motel Santa Barbara
Presidio Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing