We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, I'd stay here again”
Review of Presidio Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Presidio Motel
Ranked #33 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good hotel, I'd stay here again”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I lived in Santa Barbara so I know the city very well. I also know it's expensive to stay here. This is a good hotel and it's a reasonable price. It's in a very nice neighborhood and walking distance to downtown SB. The office staff person was very nice. It's not super fancy, it's a hip little hotel that was very comfortable. I know I could have gone cheaper, but it would have been further away from downtown, so I gave this a chance. I'd stay here again. Also they have bikes at the hotel you can borrow-cute touch.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GracieLee'smom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura Y, General Manager at Presidio Motel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Santa Barbara can be expensive and we try to provide our guests will a competitive and affordable place to stay so that they can enjoy the town. Since you know the city very well and are aware of the variety of options available to you for overnight accomodations, we greatlly appreciate the fact that you choose to stay with us at the Presidio. Please come visit us again soon!

Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    105
    41
    7
    7
See reviews for
31
132
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norman, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Had room #1 and did fine with road noise by leaving fan on all the time. Staff was VERY helpful and friendly. Rooms were acceptable, but definitely not something to get excited about. Access by Bus to Shopping on State street was a great bebefit as parking was at a premium the weekend we were there. Lots of great eating establishments on State St

Room Tip: Pain to get to upstairs rooms. Leave fans on for noise reduction
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura Y, General Manager at Presidio Motel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a chance to explore Santa Barbara. Our town has so much to offer and we are very fortunate to be centrally located so that our guests can experience everything.
We take great pride in our customer service and are happy to assist in our guest's needs whenever possible. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This hotel is great value. Even though the furnishings are a bit worn and the towels are thin, rooms are clean and service is excellent. My friend needed ice for her injured calf; Dylan was super helpful in getting us extra plastic bags and ice from the ice machine. He also helped carry our luggage up one flight of stairs.

Breakfast consisted of stale juice and pastries, but was still good for travelers on the run.

If you want a no frills, clean hotel, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stwfang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura Y, General Manager at Presidio Motel, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Thank you for your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay even though your friend injured her calf! We take great pride in the cleanliness of our hotel and our customer service. So, we are very happy to help whenever we can. We hope that you and your friend are doing well now and that you will stay with us again soon.

Best Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed only for 1 night here and arrived late at night from an international flight, the front desk were great and arranged a late check in and check out the next day, our room was very clean and comfortable, free Internet was a bonus. The location couldn't be better, an easy walk to most of the best places to eat, drink and shop! We had a great recommendation from the front desk for a hearty Cajan breakfast, if we go back to Santa Barbara we would definately stay here again (we spent the next 6 nights in another hotel as we had a conference there, it was over twice the price and no where near as nice).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rum_and_Cokey_eye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura Y, General Manager at Presidio Motel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to accomodate your late arrival. We make every effort to provide our guests with the highest level of customer service and accomodate their needs.
We are indeed very fortunate to have such a great location so that all of our guests may walk State Street down to the beach and enjoy everything that Santa Barbara has to offer. We hope that you will be visiting us again soon! Thank you again!
Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

This property is right on State Street. Perhaps we were unlucky in getting Room 1 which could only have been 20 yards from Santa Barbara's main street, but the property depth was not that great & I expect other rooms would not have been that much better. As it was, it was very difficult to get a good night's sleep (even with ear plugs) and we were aware of every vehicle revving its engine as it hit the incline outside our room. To be fair to the owners, the bed and pillows were comfortable, but the rom was unbelievably expensive for what it was ($170).

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura Y, General Manager at Presidio Motel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us on TripAdvisor. We are disappointed to hear that you experiecne with us did not live up to your expectations and would like to extend our sincerest apologies. In an effort to reduce the street noise, we are currently working with the City of Santa Barbara to replace the windows and insulate the rooms from exterior noise.
We do hope that you were able to speaki with a manager on property regarding your concerns and perhaps will be able to give us another chance in the future.
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and we wish you the best.
Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasant Hill, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

After watching prices for a few weeks, I got a great deal on a room at this motel. The reception was incredibly friendly and welcoming. They offered coffee, tea and juice each morning which was a nice touch for a motel. The location could not have been better. It is within 10 minutes walking distance from the heart of downtown SB on State St. We even walked to the beach from here. We could hear other guests as they walked by which is to be expected at a motel so bring your earplugs if you are a light sleeper. The room itself was a good size and very clean. I guess some rooms have mini fridges however ours (#17) did not which was a little disappointing since we had left over food that went to waste. While the pillows and sheets were nice the mattress was very firm and did not allow for a comfortable sleep. This would be my biggest complaint. I do have to mention that I am 7+ months pregnant but my husband also said the mattress was too stiff for him and we both woke up achy. This is the only reason I did not give 4 stars. Because of the location and assuming I could get the same discounted rate, I would stay here again. Although, I just might bring some extra padding for the mattress.

Room Tip: #17 is upstairs and furthest away from the street with a view of the mountains but as of Oct. 2013 i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura Y, General Manager at Presidio Motel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the location and conveniences that we were able to offer. That said, we are also sorry to hear that you did not find the mattress to be comfortable during your stay and appreciate the feedback, as it allows us the opportunity to review the occurrences so that we may improve our guests' experiences.
Most of our rooms do have mini-fridges at this time and unfortunately, your room (#17) did not. For future reference, we are able to place a mini-fridge in the room at request if you find that you need one in the future. We hope that you will come stay with us again soon and wish you the very best.

Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton Beach, NH
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I stayed there just for one night as a walk-in. Staff was very nice and helpful to us. Room looks very modern and it was very clean! Motels around this place are in the same price or even higher but standard of these motels are really bad. We had free WIFI and we could use hotel bicycles for free. I strongly recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dagmara1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura Y, General Manager at Presidio Motel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay! Please come back and visit us again soon!

Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara
1.5 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#10 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mason Beach Inn
Mason Beach Inn
#22 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
0.3 mi away
The Upham Hotel & Country House
The Upham Hotel & Country House
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Presidio Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Presidio Motel

Property: Presidio Motel
Address: 1620 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-2520
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Presidio Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Barbara's Modern Boutique Motel. Free Bicycles, Complimentary Parking, Free Wi-Fi, Closest Motel to Downtown! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Presidio Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Presidio Motel Santa Barbara
Presidio Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing