We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value in an expensive town”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Marina Beach Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marina Beach Motel
Ranked #15 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great value in an expensive town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

This motel offered the best price for my stay in Santa Barbara,and I was not disappointed.
It's located close to the beach,pier and State St,as well as the Amtrak Station,which is how I was travelling.
The staff were all helpful and friendly.I thought the breakfast was very good value,with cereals,bread,pastries,yoghurt,fresh fruit,juice,tea and coffee.
The room I had was fairly modern,clean and a good size.While the air conditioner was noisy,I find that in most places,so really best to cool the room off and use the fan if you want to hear the tv or sleep in peace.
I felt very secure here,being on my own,and while I didn't drive,there is parking available,as well as free bikes to use during the day.
I would definitely stay here again if I were to return to Santa Barbara.It was the best value I could get on a limited budget,and I was relieved when it turned out to be a top spot.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan W, Owner at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
your comprehensive review is appreciated. future guests can get an idea on whether Marina Beach Motel is the right place for them or not. Our location is excellent...midway between the Santa Barbara pier and harbor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    204
    32
    13
    9
See reviews for
103
310
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

We are wrapping up a 4 night stay at this wonderful little motel, a half a block off the beach and a 10 minute walk from Sterns Wharf and Santa Barbara Harbour. As other reviews have said, the people are warm and friendly, the rooms are clean with an updated 1950's style to them. Comfortable, great size, flat screens throughout, really well maintained. The breakfasts have been excellent, but basic. Everything has been enjoyable and no, not any bad surprises. Great value for the money.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gord S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan W, Owner at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for review, it takes time to go out of your way to write a review. Most travelers agree with your comments and feel that we offer a good room and experience for a fair price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atascadero, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a night at this motel. The room had a huge shower with two shower heads. The bed was very comfortable. The continental breakfast was very nice. It was nice to be able to get tea and coffee whenever the office was open. The grounds are nice and well kept. It was quiet at night which is important because I have a hard time sleeping if I can hear my neighbors. They have free bikes you can use. The beach is close by. It is well worth it for the money especially if you want a smaller less crowded place to stay. All the employees were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gkill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan W, Owner at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
We appreciate your review because future travelers can get an idea on what we offer. Our little property normally is quiet at night, most people show common courtesy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester, england
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

This is a really great place. Our room was a good size with a great bathroom with a huge hot tub. It was clean, bright, and modern. The location is great, only a block from the ocean and two from State St. The permanent free coffee in reception and the continental breakfast were superb and the small gardens lovely. We particularly liked the humming birds that seem to live in the garden. If I have any complaint it it that the parking is "unassigned", in our case this meant that after we checked in I couldn't park near the room and in fact had trouble getting into the room as another guest had left a huge pickup so close to our door it was almost impossible to get around it. All credit to the receptionist who sorted this out for me and the inconsiderate fellow guest didn't return.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan W, Owner at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
thank you for your nice review. and I am glad that you asked the staff for help with parking situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Loved this place! Nice, clean rooms, helpful, friendly and polite front desk staff and great proximity to the best of the Santa Barbara waterfront area. Nice, quiet location off of the main drag (Cabrillo Blvd.) between Stearn's Wharf and the SB Yacht Club. Unpretentious, purely enjoyable stay is what you will get here. Mini kitchen in our room had refrigrator, microwave and sink. Continental breakfast in office was what you would expect. Cool bathroom with glass shower and other niceties. Cute place to stay in Santa Barbara overall.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichFlournoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan W, Owner at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
thanks for taking time to write the review. I appreciate your positive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Located less than one block from the waterfront, this motel is money well spent. It is not very expensive compared to the competition around at the same level of standards. Breakfast is included and very nice, you can take it either on the porche of the main office or inside with the AC if it's too hot outside. Bikes are available if you'd like to go for a quick ride along the sea (takes less than an hour back and forth). The rooms are well equiped, large beds, very nice and luxurious bathroom, the TV was a bit old but we didn't really care. The AC works fine too. There is a little patio/garden located in the center of the parking with some tables and a bench, pleasant at night.

Room Tip: left aisle, seems that the rooms (bathroom) were refurbished lately
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tZar972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan W, Owner at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
your recent review was a good summary of our property. we realize that our tvs are large and outdated. we have ordered new flat screen tvs for installation this winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

This place is a GEM. 1/2 block to the beach, 2 short blocks walking along the beach to the pier where there are restaurants galore. The rooms are totally updated modern and beautiful. Super clean gorgeous bath rooms with rain shower shower heads, glass shower door with tile floors and pretty vanity. Beds are comfy with totally covered mattresses to prevent any mites ect. With nice clean white sheets and fluffy comforter with clean white duvet cover. Most of the rooms have perfect little kitchenettes with granite counters, mini fridges, microwaves and stove top and a little table and chairs. We were in Santa Barbara for a family wedding so many family members stayed there in seperate rooms. Nice courtyard grassy area with lounge chairs and tables and chairs. Parking is right in front of each room. Our kids were all excited about the bikes for guests use and the Suri bicycle cart that they used in the courtyard area to play around on. The front desk is a beautiful cottage with patio and chairs where you can sit and relax and to have your complimentary breakfast they supply. Tons of pasteries, bagels, muffins and cereal with fresh squeezed oj and delicious coffee is what you can expect. Super quiet location, and it was fun to be able to leave the motel doors open and have the kids go from room to room while we relaxed and drank coffee in the am. Should be called marina beach cottages since there is really nothing "motel"ish about it! Great price, a lovely stay and highly recommended. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thedobsonfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan W, Owner at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Your review is amazing!!! It couldn't have been better, you really took the time to check things out and mention a lot in your review. You were the first one ever to mention that our mattresses are purposely bagged to avoid mites, bed bugs, etc. that can be found in international destinations. I hope the family wedding was fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.0 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
0.0 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#10 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#32 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#27 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#14 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Beach Motel

Property: Marina Beach Motel
Address: 21 Bath St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#20 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina Beach Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned since 1976, Marina Beach Motel is located in the heart of Santa Barbara's harbor, wharf, and beach district. At only 37 steps from the beach, Marina Beach Motel is the ideal spot for couples, families and the occasional lone traveler to immerse themselves in the beauty and leisure of Santa Barbara. At Marina Beach Motel, we understand the importance of providing excellent amenities at an affordable price. We focus our efforts on catering to the needs of the customer while striving for a high level of satisfaction, making us one of the best places to stay in Santa Barbara. Our dedicated, family-owned business promises to become one of your favorite vacation spots in California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Marina Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
Marina Beach Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing