We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice near the beach”
Review of Marina Beach Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marina Beach Motel
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Niteroi, RJ
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good choice near the beach”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

My wife and I spent a night at this hotel on our way to LA. It was a good choice. Location is very good, really near the beach. There are some bikes available for free, which was a great way to see the city. Rooms are somewhat comfortable. You can park your car in front of your door, which is convenient. Breakfast is ok, and wifi too. I would stay there again (in short stays) for sure.

Room Tip: I guess rooms are pretty much the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank asbarreto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan W, Owner at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
We appreciate your review. Most customers feel that there is good value at Marina Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    205
    32
    14
    9
See reviews for
105
314
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilsonville, Oregon
Level Contributor
82 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This renovated motor court is in a great location, on a quiet street a block off the water (marina area). The rooms are on the small side, but well-appointed, and the value is excellent. The staff is friendly and most helpful, and the breakfast is generous.

Room Tip: We had a corner room in the right rear, with the supply room on one-side, which meant that at least...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueHighwaysGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan W, Owner at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Our guests enjoy that they can park right in front of the room...they do not need to carry their bags a long distance to the room. And we consistently get good comments about 'value'...our prices are fair for what we have at Marina Beach. Thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
304 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I recently stayed at the Marina Beach Motel for 2 nights. For the price you cannot beat the location, 2 blocks from the harbor, a few blocks from popular State street and Stearns Wharf. The motel offers free use of bikes and an ample simple breakfast. The staff are helpful and the rooms very clean with exceptional showers. They allow pets. We found the center grass area nice for a quick take out lunch or a place to rest our feet after walking around town. This is a motel so you can expect to hear some car noise when people come in and out but the advantage is you don't have to lug your belongings up stairs or down a long hallway. You can hear voices of people taking outside their doors at times but at night we found it very quiet and easy to fall asleep. We look forward to coming back and highly recommend this place if you are looking for a great value.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoboTravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan W, Owner at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Your response is very nice and very accurate. We do not pretend to be a 5 star hotel, but our facility is very comfortable, clean and a great value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden City, Idaho
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

The location near the bay and the cleanliness of the room and property were excellent. We highly recommend this motel especially if you are traveling with a pet. The staff was helpful and very friendly. If we would have had more time we would have stayed another night.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IdahoGus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan W, Owner at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate that guests take time to let everyone know what their experience was at Marina Beach. Some folks are hesitant to stay at a motel, thank goodness for Trip Advisor...travelers can get honest opinions about hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I was very leery about staying in a motel. The pictures online looked good, but I was still skeptical. This was going to be our last stop on our road trip from LA to San Francisco so I figured I would take a chance, since it was only one night.
We were traveling with our dog, and this place is dog friendly.
Upon our arrival I noticed the property was as cute as the pictures. Lots of colorful flowers in bloom everywhere.
Check in was super easy and hassle free.
We spotted a tandem bike and immediately asked if we could use it, they immediately unlocked it and told us to have fun.
The room was very small, but upgraded. The bathroom was great, as well as the dual shower heads!
Breakfast was very tasty although it was all carbohydrates. It would have been nice if they had some hard boiled eggs, but for the price we paid to stay there, I won't complain.
After breakfast we were off again on bikes and with a few recommendations from the staff, we took off to sight see.
Great experience overall. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adnyl18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan W, Owner at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you very much for your very complete review. The readers got a good picture of what to expect at Marina Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

My husband and I took a weekend getaway to Santa Barbara and stayed at this motel for one night. It is so close to the beach, pier, and state street so we were able to walk everywhere. They also have free bikes to use throughout the day, and we really enjoyed riding along the beach! The breakfast in the morning was simple, but perfect. The room was so clean, and we loved the shower! Overall, I would definitely stay here again, we loved everything about it and it made our weekend getaway so memorable.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan W, Owner at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thanks for your review!! Our motel is a good value that most people mention in their reviews. And many people mention the showers, all expanded and remodeled within the past 2 years...most with two shower heads -one with a rain head and another with a convention version. Couples enjoy having two shower heads. And our location is unbeatable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I've stayed in SB several times over the years and this was definitely the best one. Unless you stay at one of the higher-end resorts or hotels, this is definitely worth the price point. Check-in was smooth, rooms were small but cozy. Bed was very comfortable and I really liked the bathroom - great upgrades - huge walk in shower with dual shower heads, pedestle sink. Location is walking distance to the beach. pier and State Street. Breakfast was included and they had a nice selection of items. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank SCTraveler91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan W, Owner at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the Marina Beach. We have found that most customers feel that they have had a very nice experience for an affordable price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.0 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
0.0 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#30 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#26 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Beach Motel

Property: Marina Beach Motel
Address: 21 Bath St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#20 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina Beach Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned since 1976, Marina Beach Motel is located in the heart of Santa Barbara's harbor, wharf, and beach district. At only 37 steps from the beach, Marina Beach Motel is the ideal spot for couples, families and the occasional lone traveler to immerse themselves in the beauty and leisure of Santa Barbara. At Marina Beach Motel, we understand the importance of providing excellent amenities at an affordable price. We focus our efforts on catering to the needs of the customer while striving for a high level of satisfaction, making us one of the best places to stay in Santa Barbara. Our dedicated, family-owned business promises to become one of your favorite vacation spots in California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Marina Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
Marina Beach Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing