We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marilyn”
Review of Rose Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rose Garden Inn
Ranked #48 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Bakersfield, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Marilyn”
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Room needs upgrading overstuffed chair is dirty furniture is outdated. Refridgerator never is pulled out and cleaned around the area. Just odds and end of furniture. WiFi didn't work for me and when I got home my WiFi was just fine. This room for the price is too much for the look of the room. I won't be staying there anymore. To expensive for what u get in return

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marilyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    24
    28
    16
    25
See reviews for
27
41
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kenmore, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2012

My daughter and I stayed one night in a somewhat small room with two queen beds. We checked in at almost 11 pm (family matters took up most of the day) after picking up food at Taco Bell. OK room, not nearly as large as the one we stayed in the night before (Parkside Inn) for the same price ($123 incl. tax), but this room had a kitchenette next to one of the beds. We noticed that the three pictures and one mirror on the wall were all crooked; small matter, but strange that none of them were hung straight. Towels were a little rough; beds were comfortable. Probably wouldn't stay again because of room size and location, but no real complaints -- it was just an average room overall.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobbieAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

This motel was very clean, comfortable and provided us with everything we needed. The beds were cosy and allowed us to have a great sleep in between a big drive.

It is located far from downtown (approximately 4 miles) and we walked the whole way to the pier which took just over an hour. Great motel and if you're not keen to walk the distance, there is a public bus available.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RiccO12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

This is the perfect place to stay if you're traveling from northern california to southern, or vice versa and need a comfortable place to crash to break up the drive, or if you're on a budget and looking for a comfortable hotel. This hotel had really comfortable beds. My boyfriend slept through the entire night here without waking up once and he rarely does that. Yes, it is a bit older motel, and it doesn't have any amenities, but the room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was nice too: immaculately clean, lots of counter space, and it had a good sized bathtub shower with good water pressure. It had a mini-fridge and a microwave, which was nice because we could bring back left overs and heat them up later. The owners were very nice, this was defiinitely a mom and pop owned kind of place. We got in at 1am, and we had obviously woke up the owner to check-in. He was very nice to us regardless, not a sign of grouchiness. They let us do a late check out too which we were very happy about. All in all I was very happy with Hacienda and I would definitely recommend it. So many places are overpriced in Santa Barbara, and this is great value. Oh and there was no strange smell that some of the other reviewers describe. I would definitely recommend the Hacienda Motel. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MonieTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

After having read the poor reviews, my expectations were pretty low, but almost everything was already booked, and the price was low.
Location: The hotel is on State Street but it's not centrally located to the downtown State Street area, however, there are plenty of restaurants nearby.
The Room: Keep in mind that this is not a 3 star hotel. Maybe 2 star, so it was as clean as can be expected, I only saw one cigarette burn on a blanket, and the bathroom sink was clogged, but we didn't complain since we spent as little time as possible in the room. The beds were reasonably comfortable.
Next time I would rather pay $50 more to be at a hotel in front of the ocean in a central location.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DestinationLAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Barbara hotels

Tujunga, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2011

Had to go up to Santa Barbara for a wedding and booked a room at last minute for a night. When my sister & I pulled up, the place looked like a dump. Just old, out-dated - typical crumby motel. But when we walked into our room, I was pleasantly surprised that the furniture was all updated, looked recently remodeled, clean and we were upgraded to a king bed since the queens were not available so even better. So, for what it's worth, it's not so bad! I'd recommend this place if you're looking for a quick trip, relatively inexpensive place to go.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thrax50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2011

the rooms are big and newly furnished; the motel is a little out of town, but downtown Santa Barbara can easily be reached by bus. Not quite cheap, but I suppose that´s because it is Santa Barbara.

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KatharinaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.3 mi away
Oasis Inn & Suites
Oasis Inn & Suites
#41 of 52 in Santa Barbara
219 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
0.2 mi away
Motel 6 Santa Barbara - State Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#42 of 52 in Santa Barbara
110 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandpiper Lodge
Sandpiper Lodge
#35 of 52 in Santa Barbara
578 reviews
0.5 mi away
Agave Inn
Agave Inn
#28 of 52 in Santa Barbara
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Garden Inn

Property: Rose Garden Inn
Address: 3643 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93105-2521 (Formerly Hacienda Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Rose Garden Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complete renovation on March 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rose Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Hotel Santa Barbara
Hacienda Motel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing