We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint inn, rooms were nice, pretty clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Franciscan Inn & Suites
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We loved the atmosphere here. The location was great, the room were nice and the service was good. You had to get a different passcode for wifi for each device you had. We thought that was weird and very cumbersome. We travel a lot and I've never seen that before. The breakfast was OK, there was a lovely lady serving you, but I'm not sure why. Overall, it is a very nice place.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (816)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

591 - 597 of 816 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2012

The Franciscan Inn was a nice place to stay with a family and it was a short walk to the beach and whalf.....the only issue was the breakfast wasn't the best I have every had, especially for a 2 year old. The rooms and bathrooms were very nice and clean --- couldn't have ask for anything nicer where that is concerned. I do wish there were some options in Santa Barbara that were just a bit less pricey !!!!

Room Tip: They all seemed like the same to me -- but I myself would have preferred a downstairs room with a 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bccalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

My house was being fumigated so i looked for a hotel and i settled upon the charming Franciscan Inn. I checked in around 3 o'clock , and was greeted by a very friendly staff, and a much need complimentary cup of coffee. The first thing i noticed about the hotel lobby was that it felt very cozy and welcoming. My Room (129) was very clean and passed my blacklight and bedbug tests with flying colors, unlike some of the higher rated hotels in my area. The first thing i noticed about the room was how close it was to the ocean. When you open your windows you are greeted with the comforting smell of the ocean, and it is very soothing/easy to fall asleep to Woke up the next morning and got a complimentary continental breakfast in the lobby, and i was delightfully surprised to hear the employees greet my by name and again was astonished at how great the Franciscan treats their guests. After breakfast i went for a dip in the pool which was very nice and well maintained, in addition to their multiple jacuzzi areas(one was conveniently located next to my room) An added amenity this hotel offers is FREE HOME BAKED COOKIES, in the afternoon, which are AMAZING to say the least. Another thing i noticed about the Franciscan is the fact they keep the grounds maintained as well as keep staff onsite 24/7 which is very helpful. My only regret about my stay , is not staying longer and i can only hope that i can come up with some excuse for me to stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sam g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We stayed for one night traveling up the coast. THe room was small but well appointed and the location was fantastic...one block off the bay. And the free breakfast was fantastic too!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank noodle1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Very enjoyable stay at this charming little place. It's a block from the beach and about a ten minute walk from the main downtown area, so very convenient. There's free wifi, everything was clean and pleasant, the staff are very friendly and the building is beautiful.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I stay here periodically with my five-year-old daughter. We come for the pool, which is heated to 80 degrees year-round, and the cookies at 3:30 every day. The staff is amazing, the location unbeatable. Set back just enough from the noise and traffic of Cabrillo Boulevard, the hotel is within walking distance of the Amtrak station, the pier, the waterfront, and State Street. Great place for kids and families.

Room Tip: Book the rooms by the pool early - they fill up fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DelLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

My sister and I chose the Franciscan Inn for a very overdue reunion. It was a very pleasant stay - close to the beach and a short walk to State Street. The reception crew were most amiable. I had the pleasure of being brought breakfast in bed, I wasn't sure about the "eating breakfast on a tray" theme in the lounge area, but whilst checking out, it all looked very cosy and inviting with the fire and ambience. Would love to go back - if invited!! Not entirely sure about Nikita 123's comment about Restoration Hardwear - lost on me I'm afraid, but it was all very nice and spotlessly clean.

Room Tip: Upstairs are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
522 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
899 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Mason Beach Inn
Mason Beach Inn
#29 of 52 in Santa Barbara
409 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
1.4 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franciscan Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franciscan Inn & Suites

Address: 109 Bath St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: £115 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Franciscan Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient location, casual comfort and caring staff make this cozy inn the quintessential hub of your Santa Barbara visit. Continental breakfast, pool, spa, afternoon cookies, Wi-Fi and more awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Franciscan Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Franciscan Hotel Santa Barbara
Franciscan Hotel Santa Barbara
The Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn Santa Barbara Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing