We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice”
Review of Franciscan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Franciscan Inn
Ranked #11 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

The room was very clean and the staff was very helpful. We were visiting from out of town 2 nights, and their suggestions on things to do and where to eat were great! The breakfast had a wide variety to pick from, all of which was yummy. The cookies during the day were a nice bonus. If we are in the area again, we will be staying here for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    269
    78
    25
    5
See reviews for
205
261
30
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I went for a weekend wedding and could not have been more pleased. The room was spotless, the place was quiet but two blocks from the beach and pier. You could walk to State Street. I had to leave early, but the nice gentleman offered me coffee and a Danish for my trip. Who cares about the cozy furnishings in such a pretty city.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nellie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
193 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We booked last minute over holiday weekend so were luck to get a room at all! A cold front that moved down the coast must have scared off travelers and all of a sudden many hotels had "vacancy" notices up.

This time we tried out a new room/new area of complex which is a small single story building next to the swimming pool. First benefit - nobody upstairs pounding on the floor at odd hours.

Room 162 was a bit smaller than other rooms we've stayed in but big bonus points - it was quiet! Not housekeepers cart roling up and down the tile walkway starting at 7:30am in the main building across the parking lot. Also didn't miss the other guests tromping back and forth to lobby to get continental breakfast.

Room was spotlessly clean, attractive and we also enjoyed non-stop coffee, cookies, fruit available in lobby throughout the day. I sat by the pool to read and was the only one there (it was still a bit overcast). Continental breakfast is starch-heavy but we managed with instant oatmeal, hardboiled eggs and apples with peanut butter. The muffins looked good but skipped them.

Room Tip: If you want peace and quiet, ask for room in buildings across parking lot/pool side, or rooms that f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank highlandbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

Great location. Very sweet rooms. It is a somewhat pricey area and this is not a "bargain" property. But if you want to be right near the Waterfront the Franciscan is clean, comfortable and with very good, pleasant service. I would definitely recommend and would definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LunaFamilyPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelanto, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Please save your money because the Franciscan Inn is antiquated motel with inflated prices. I stay there on 7/1-3. and was greatly disappointed. The suite have old smelly carpet,staid loud wallpaper, and no microwave. Again save your money and try some of the surrounding motel close to the wharf.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

This is one of the best values I found in the area. It's clean, the service is friendly, and within easy walking distance of the beach. A nice bonus is that the parking is free. The complimentary breakfast is well-stocked with delicious, buttery croissants, fresh muffins, good coffee, and several other items - something for everyone. Nice pool and comfortable lobby. Yes, the furnishings are dated but they're clean and add a retro feel to the place. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEBrandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
listen4kristen
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Franciscan Inn. It's location is amazing; you're only a few blocks away from the harbor. I had a morning run down there and it was fantastic. The hotel room is a little outdated, but I feel that it added to the quaint atmosphere. I was a bit disappointed in the continental breakfast. We stayed over the weekend, and apparently, their options are more limited during the weekends, while they make pancakes/waffles during the week when it is less busy. The only vegan option I could eat was an apple. The location was the overall best thing about the Franciscan Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank listen4kristen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.3 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#30 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
0.4 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franciscan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franciscan Inn

Property: Franciscan Inn
Address: 109 Bath St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#12 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Franciscan Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient location, casual comfort and caring staff make this cozy inn the quintessential hub of your Santa Barbara visit. Continental breakfast, pool, spa, afternoon cookies, Wi-Fi and more awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Franciscan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Franciscan Hotel Santa Barbara
Franciscan Hotel Santa Barbara
The Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn Santa Barbara Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing