We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Family Owned Inn in Santa Barbara”
Review of Franciscan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Franciscan Inn
Ranked #13 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, CA
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Very Nice Family Owned Inn in Santa Barbara”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

My wife and I were on a road trip down the California coast to San Diego and decided to stay one night in Santa Barbara. We chose the Franciscan Inn based on the other reviews in TripAdvisor. Let me first say that everything about our stay here was great.The Franciscan Inn is located about 1 block from the beach and is an easy walk to Stearns Wharf, State Street, and the marina.

Our room, 118, and bathroom were exceptionally clean. The bed was extremely comfortable. We loved our room which had nice touches like a microwave and small refrigerator, free internet, and free parking. The continental breakfast was adequate. Nothing fancy, some bagels, cereal, oatmeal, eggs, yogurt, coffee and tea. It was nice but don't expect a sit down breakfast where you order from a menu.

We enjoyed our stay so much that we will definitely return soon and spend a few nights here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimmyBubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    280
    89
    26
    6
See reviews for
227
273
31
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I cannot say enough positive things about this family run property. All of the employees treated us like family and catered to our every need. We enjoyed room 111 which is a king bed remodeled unit, very charmingly decorated in a seaside motif. The room rate included continental breakfast and afternoon cookies. Hearing the doves coo from trees on the property plus nearby train whistles added to the ambiance. The location is ideal for accessing local attractions but on a quiet residential side street. We can't wait to stay here again!

Room Tip: We liked our room which was next to a fountain with Spanish styled tile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

As a former travel agent, I stumbled upon the Inn over 20 years ago and rarely stay any other place. Located in a desirable location on a tree-lined residential street, all amenities are close by, i.e., the beach, Stearn's Wharf, Amtrak, restaurants, trolley tours, market. Their continental breakfast (and afternoon Reception) is more than adequate, considering this is NOT a bed & breakfast establishment. I was greeted by CJ at the front desk who was more than accommodating in providing excellent recommendations for activities, tours & dining. Overall, the entire staff was pleasant, helpful and attentive to whatever my needs were.

Room Tip: I prefer the suites located towards the rear around the fountain close to the spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gypsy23434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kyoto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Needed a place for a Saturday night. This Inn was very reasonably priced, in a great location close to the beach, and with very polite and helpful staff at the front desk. Do not expect over the top Californian type "customer service", with beach blonde fake smiles; each staff member I dealt with was very courteous, and everyone at the inn had a very pleasant and gentle demeanor. The rooms themselves were specious and clean. They charged me $140 for the saturday night (a very dubious motel just 5 mins away at the beach was charging $210!). People are complaining about the breakfast on other reviews - people sometimes expect too much. It was a cup of coffee/ OJ with some nice pastries, all served with a smile. I intend to stay here again next time I go to Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank djwalsh_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This is a well priced, great location just a short walk from the wharf, marina and the State Street shopping precinct. The hotel is quaint, the rooms very clean, comfortable and well appointed.

Reception staff were very welcoming and helpful and the lobby has a peaceful ambience with the fireplace and tea/coffee available.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellersGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

The inn is located within walking distance to the beach and the harbor. This small clean inn has free parking breakfast and great staff

I have stayed here multiple times over the last 35 years. Avoid rooms by the trash collection area to much noise. They do have some rooms that can hold a family they do have a pool

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2014

A dear friend and I always choose the Franciscan Inn when we go to Santa Barbara for medical appointments, business, and leisure. The location is perfect (a block or so from the wharf) and the staff is amazingly helpful and accommodating. The best feature of this quaint, convenient, clean, quiet inn is the small, charming atmosphere. We have stayed in overpriced, impersonal, "corporate-run" places and hope the Franciscan Inn never loses the small, friendly, family-run, personal feel. The large chains and so-called luxury hotels are over-rated, in our opinion, and once you've experienced Franciscan hospitality, you will NEVER opt to overpay for a room again. Recently, many of the rooms have been updated which is rather nice; however, we hope that any new changes remain minor as to keep the same ambience... We adore everything about this place...from the smooth check-in with Eric, the evening home-baked cookies, and breakfast with "Auntie" Carol as she shares her vast knowledge of the area and offers a local's perspective for anyone seeking ideas on how to spend their free time. The Franciscan Inn is a rare treasure that is so comfortable and reasonably priced, you will find yourself looking for excuses to return again and again.

Room Tip: The rooms with kitchenettes are a great value, especially if you plan to spend more than a few days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gusgirltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#16 of 52 in Santa Barbara
403 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,051 reviews
1.4 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
768 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
958 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mason Beach Inn
Mason Beach Inn
#27 of 52 in Santa Barbara
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franciscan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franciscan Inn

Property: Franciscan Inn
Address: 109 Bath St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#12 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Franciscan Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient location, casual comfort and caring staff make this cozy inn the quintessential hub of your Santa Barbara visit. Continental breakfast, pool, spa, afternoon cookies, Wi-Fi and more awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Franciscan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Franciscan Hotel Santa Barbara
Franciscan Hotel Santa Barbara
The Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn Santa Barbara Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing