We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy with Stay”
Review of Franciscan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Franciscan Inn
Ranked #11 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Staff was most gracious and helpful. Fridge didn't work upon check-in and was immediately replaced. No other issues. Stayed 5 nites. Room looked as though just remodeled, very nice. 2nd floor, on the small side but perfect for 2 given the length of our stay. Be aware this has exterior entrances in a U shape surrounding the parking lot. Though no room-room or traffic noise, sound carries if windows are open and weather is condusive for keeping them so. I would make sure that there are no larger groups staying as I can see that as a noise problem as they tend to "take over". A large group checked in as we checked out bringing this issue to mind.
Location is fantastic - town is walkable but, upper area of State St. can be a hike. Have read some reviews complain about the complimentary food. It isn't great but is good nad was perfect for our style of travel. Try getting anything 'free' at the Hyatt or Double Tree down the road for triple the price!

All in all, we were very satisfied.

Room Tip: Avoid if a large group is booked and you are not part of it. second floor rooms were nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AJK810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (796)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

445 - 451 of 796 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

This is a great place to stay if you prefer a hotel that isn't a "cookie-cutter" hotel. The rooms in the older section of the grounds are all different, some having kitchenettes, some having a mini-suite, and some just single rooms. You will need to be specific in what type of accommodations you want when you book. The grounds are lovely and for being a hotel on the smaller side, it has a nice pool and jacuzzi. The continental breakfast is adequate - not skimpy, not fancy. Enough to get you going, but not a full breakfast. I loved that we could walk from the hotel to the beach.... not a stone's throw, but walkable. I have recommended this Inn to many people and all have thanked me for it. The staff up front were very helpful, personable, and friendly.

Room Tip: I prefer the older part as the rooms are quieter, away from the parking lot, and unique. And they ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JoPedStale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed in Santa Barbara for one day during our drive up the central coast. We stayed at the Franciscan Inn and loved everything about it. At the check in the gentleman who took care of us was happy to give us plenty of suggestions for things to do and see while in town for a night and the next afternoon. The room was clean and roomy. They have 2 pools, a sauna and a laundry room. The laundry room was helpful to us as we washed clothes for the second half of our trip their. The breakfast in the morning had lots to choose from. Parking is free! The location is great as it is close to the wharf and the main strip downtown. Easy to walk to all the key points along the water.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This is a great find for a great place to stay close to the beach and not far from State Street. Very nice rooms, clean, comfortable bed, great location, friendly staff, very nice breakfast. So nice to be able to park right outside your room!

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank ohsouthernlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Very cute, clean hotel.. Good location.. Walking distance to the beach, harbour, shopping.. Friendly staff.. They take it seriously, what they are doing.. You can park your car infront of your room...
It's so cosy, you almost feel at home..

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Esra66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight in Standard suite - newly renovated with AC. Clean and nicely decorated. Living room has pull out sofa bed and kitchenette fully stock with utensils, pots, pan & plates. On-site coin operated washing machine makes extended stay perfect. Service was excellent. Cost very reasonable for the area - 1 block from beach and walking distance from shops and restaurants. Breakfast just so so but we had kitchen to cook in. Price included parking and wifi (unlike some other places in area). Next time we will book full week.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mimi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I stayed over a Sunday, Monday, and Tuesday night and the room with a King bed was about $620 out the door. It was big enough for two and it was clean and quiet except for when our neighbor next door decided to slam the door at 6:30 in the morning. That's not the Inn's fault though. The Inn is trying to be sustainable which means they do things that don't wreck the earth as much as other places do. For example, all their plastic utensils and cups are compostable. This is a big plus for me and I hope for others too who care about the future of our beautiful planet. Breakfast was just okay. Healthier food could have been served and on one of the days there were no bagels. Huh? All in all, I give this place a thumbs up. Oh it's a few minutes from the beach and about a 15 minute walk to the stores on State Street.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
506 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
880 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
0 mi away
Mason Beach Inn
Mason Beach Inn
#29 of 52 in Santa Barbara
405 reviews
1 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franciscan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franciscan Inn

Address: 109 Bath St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: £100 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Franciscan Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient location, casual comfort and caring staff make this cozy inn the quintessential hub of your Santa Barbara visit. Continental breakfast, pool, spa, afternoon cookies, Wi-Fi and more awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Franciscan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Franciscan Hotel Santa Barbara
Franciscan Hotel Santa Barbara
The Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn Santa Barbara Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing