We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paris in Santa Barbara”
Review of Le Petit Valentien

Le Petit Valentien
Ranked #44 of 529 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$25
Cuisines: French, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
127 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Paris in Santa Barbara”
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

What a delight. This wonderful bistro, tucked in an alley, serves authentic, refined bistro fare.

They make wonderful use of the small, superbly decorated space while serving up exquisite dishes. The grilled pork chop was the best I've had and the other two diners were similarly impressed.

Le Petit Valentien is the best French bistro I have enjoyed in the US.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ccran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    58
    13
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
55 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Could be much better”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I have eaten at Le Petit Valentien many times and it has always been very good. Today it was just okay. My soup was tasty but really too salty and so was the sauce on my steak. The meat was good but came with one bite of potato for $19 for lunch. For that price , it should have been delicious--- including the sauce! The service was excellent but it took over an hour for us to get our main courses which was fine because we were visiting with friends.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Penny1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Getting a good dinner is relatively easy. Getting the perfect, relaxed, just the right amount of food/drink/service lunch is more difficult. This place was perfect, a real treat.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John-cosham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agoura Hills, California
Level Contributor
715 reviews
400 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
“Always great good and wine”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Been to this restaurant several times over the last year but this last time was incredible. The Elk special is the best I have every had and paired perfectly with the wine they selected. I usually have the duck from regular menu which is also great.

The salads, desserts and wine list are also great.

This is a must try place if you like french type food.

It is a great atmosphere and a good place for a business dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig-World-Travelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa Park, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent value but needs some work.”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

This was our 2nd night dinning experience on our 4-night stay in Santa Barbara. I should first qualify my review since our visit followed a full day of wine tasting in the Santa Ynez valley. We selected the restaurant in advance of our trip based on the trip advisor recommendations and ratings. The restaurant is quaint and casual in a Santa Barbara sense but in a comfortable way. The menu was limited but looked rather inventive, the execution, however, left something to be desired. My wife's breaded veal medallions were over cooked, slightly burned, while my surf-in-turf (medallions of pork with mussels, shrimp and scallops over pasta) was over salted. The wait staff could be a little more attentive and knowledgeable. Overall, a 3 1/2 based on its very good value for the menu selection, but could use more attention in kitchen. Would return to see if it were an off-night and would suggest to friends with the same caveat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jadraughonart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Petit Valentien also viewed

Santa Barbara, CA
Santa Barbara, CA
 
 
Santa Barbara, CA
 

Been to Le Petit Valentien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing