We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible, loud location on the 101”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Barbara
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Santa Barbara Sunrise RV Park
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Horrible, loud location on the 101”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013 via mobile

Expensive and crappy...very loud all night...I would never stay there again... Go 15 minutes north or south and camp on the beach in carpenteria or el capitan. The prop manager Ron Lopez is mean and customer service is horrible. The bathrooms are dirty and there are only 2 for everyone in the campground so you could imagine how they look. The location is also in a "bad" part of town with gang graffiti and tattooed thugs all over. It seems like meth and theft are prevalent here. I'd personally rather camp at a Walmart any day of the week. Don't let them fool you on the phone, they sound nice but it's a real dump!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rvguy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    31
    9
    6
    5
See reviews for
23
30
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

No wonder this place has gotten it's name. Santa Barbara is absolutely gorgeous.
My husband and I came originally for a short visit and ended up staying several months at Sunrise RV.
Judy, the manager, makes you feel comfortable and at home. Her great smile and sense of humor is contagious. She keeps a close watch on the park, so you never have to worry about nonsense. The park is 5 minutes from everything, shopping, dining, beach, zoo, etc.
Though the park is along 101, we didnt find traffic noise to be a problem.
We would stay here longer if we could, but have to go to San Francisco for a few months.
We will definitely come back. Thank you Judy for all you do!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moeboy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Great choice for a last-minute get away because it usually has a vacancy or two (even peak season). But you'll definitely need a car or bikes to get into town. We have a 10- and 12-year-old, so bikes worked just fine for us. It took us less than 15 minutes to get to the beach or State St. (which is Santa Barbara's main shopping/eating area).
We checked in late Sunday afternoon, so the manager's office was closed, but Judy left our reservation info on the door, so that wasn't a problem. Clean, hot, and *free* showers was a nice treat at the end of a long day. Full hookups and free wifi too! We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Purplekross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun City, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

We booked well in advance for a 6 night stay. We got the spot we requested, and the owner directed my husband backing into the spot masterfully. We knew it was going to be noisy since we had scouted out the location ahead of time. The freeway noise didn't bother us at all while we slept. Sometimes during the day we had to close the window that was closest to the freeway to have some peace, but generally it was a very good location. The freeway access was excellent for getting around town and going sightseeing. It was also very close to Milpas Street, which is a mecca for great restaurants (mainly Mexican). The bathrooms were clean; there is a very nice laundry room, which is also very clean. Wifi is provided, but it tends to be a little slow at times, so we used our Verizon mifi mostly. Other than the freeway noise, the park was quiet, there were no rowdy people, and the neighborhood was nice if rather rundown. We never felt unsafe. We had a very good time, and we would recommend this park to anyone who can tolerate the freeway noise while sleeping.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pattie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012 via mobile

Right next to the 101 highway!!! Loud! Managers are slum lords, and the entire place lOoks like a parking lot. I'd rather stay at walmart even if this place was free, not to mention it's $50 per night!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rvguy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, at Santa Barbara Sunrise RV Park, responded to this review, 1 July 2012
Sorry for the slow reply. We are a family owned business and just getting up to speed with a website and internet presence.

Yes, we are right next to the freeway. That makes it convenient to get here, but, you're right, you can hear traffic. We are a small park, but most folks think we are friendly. I apologize that didn't come across to you.

We are located in Santa Barbara's Milpas shopping district, home to some of the best local flavors (La Superica Taqueria, Julie Child's favorite!), Tri-County Produce, and many more ethnic eateries.

Thanks for giving us a try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
153 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

It is right on the interstate so if you are a light sleeper do not stay here.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank branditravelphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.4 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#23 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#39 of 51 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn At East Beach
Inn At East Beach
#27 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
9.9 mi away
Rancho Oso RV & Camping Resort
Rancho Oso RV & Camping Resort
#1 of 16 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Barbara Sunrise RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Barbara Sunrise RV Park

Property: Santa Barbara Sunrise RV Park
Address: 516 S Salinas St, Santa Barbara, CA 93103-2979
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Santa Barbara
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the hospitality of this family owned park. Located on the west side of Montecito, near the Milpas shopping district in the City of Santa Barbara. We offer convenient, comfortable RV sites with friendly, dependable service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Sunrise Rv Park Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing