We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would go again any time!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Channel Islands Outfitters

Channel Islands Outfitters
Book In Advance
More Info
US$86.00*
and up
Santa Ynez Wine Tour in Open-Air Hummer
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Our "World Famous Caves and Coves" sea cave kayak adventures at Santa Cruz Island have been called a "Bucket List" experience for over 20 years. All of our adventures come with a lunch and snack and our guides have more experience than any other company at the Channel Islands National Park. Get ready for a once-in-a-lifetime Southern California Island Adventure! New for 2016, Open Air Wine Tours in Santa Barbara County. Exclusive and unique destinations and small production wineries. Small group private and public tours.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Activities for older children
Carlsbad Caverns National Park, New Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Would go again any time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

Our guides JD and Mike were outstanding: friendly, knowledgeable and professional. My uncle and I were able to kayak for over 3 hours and into some of the caves. Last 2 hours we snorkeled. All of it was very exciting because we had some strong winds and high waves this day. We also got to watch sea lions inside some of the caves and many beautiful birds. Very memorable experience! Hope to do it again one day! :-)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank GosiaAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    511
    36
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“on the water”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

wanted to take a friend out to kayak for her first experience. The staff were friendly but not overbearing, gave her a good overview of what she needed to know. directed us to a safe route for a first time in the harbor. Assisted us into the kayak (we could have used a hand on the return but the docking site is not visible from the store)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank divernurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun Adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

Its more thrilling than you might expect, which is great. The spelunking is brilliant.

The channel islands are a big departure away from the So Cal mainland, for being such a short distance and a 1 hour boat ride away. It’s another world.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Buster7890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
125 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
“Super Sea-Kayaking Experience on Santa Cruz Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

Many thanks to our guide Phil, who knew ahead of time that we were birdwatching and pointed out several species for us. He was very patient with our inexperience going through the sea caves, pointed out kelp forest fish, and was extremely friendly. Overall, a fantastic experience.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Satisfaction7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

Kayaking in & out of sea caves - good opportunity to explore an environment that few get to see. Great wilderness area to explore. Our guide, Mike, was very friendly, knowledgeable & helpful, & a great guy. Be aware that if you are prone to seasickness, that the ferry ride out to the islands can be a little rough - take precautions if needed!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DeepPowderLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Channel Islands Outfitters also viewed

 

Been to Channel Islands Outfitters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing