We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expected it to be better”

Crocodile Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #129 of 529 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Price range: US$8 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Italian, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Great Restaurant and Bar located in the Classic Neo-60s Lemon Tree Inn. We offer Italian foor with a strong California influence. Homemade fresh pasta, Farmer's Market Produce, Local Seafood and Charbroiled Steaks. We are also known for our Pizzas and Gourmet Hamburgers.At the Crocodile you can Dine outside on our Tropical Patio, in our Comfortable Dining Room or enjoy a meal at our Full Bar.Currently the Crocodile serves Lunch and Dinner every day of the year, Breakfast on Saturdays, Sundays and Holidays. We also provide Room Service and Catering for the Lemon Tree Inn.
jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Expected it to be better”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

As we had arrived at the hotel somewhat later than we hoped we decided to eat in the on site restaurant, rather than go and look for something else. The server explained to us that the kitchen would be closing in 30 minutes so we had a quick look at the menu and placed our order.
The restaurant is quite dark although there were candles on the table just not enough light for my husband who likes to see what he is eating so I had to take a candle from another table to provide a bit more light.
I had ordered a burger which I must admit didn't look very appetising when it arrived as it had something on top of it that looked a bit like a cheese slice but as there was no discernible taste it could have been something else entirely. French fries were not the best as they looked burnt at the ends so I cut all those bits off and left them on the side of the plate they were pretty disappointing but as we had been told that they were closing soon there seemed to be no point in asking for more especially as the burger would have been cold by then. My husband had fish which he said was good and if there had been a good category to fill out on this site I probably would have selected that but as none of it was very good then I'm afraid it has to be average.All in all it was a bit rushed and maybe to arrive half an hour before closing time is not giving them enough time to produce a good meal. If ever we were back in the area we might try it again as the other reviews have been good we would just have to make sure we ate earlier.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jerseybean50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBINNKEEPER, General Manager at Crocodile Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Dear Jerseybean50,
We regret any shortcoming you experienced at the Crocodile. We strive to make every visit a 5 star occasion whether it is Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner or just a snack at our Bar. Please try us again...
Crocodile Restaurant in the Lemon Tree Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    32
    14
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“It has it all!!”
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Great room, fab food, free parking , friendly staff,good location,big clean rooms with balcony,good price
Really enjoyed staying here and it is what all travellers are seeking
Would defo stay again

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank komivong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Great Hotel Restaurant”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Often hotel restaurants are mediocre, but Crocodile is the exception. We enjoyed a wonderful dinner with excellent, attentive service from our server, Elany. There was great variety of choices on the menu; from burgers and salads to steaks and unique pasta dishes along with a very nice wine list, all at very reasonable prices. Our food was perfectly prepared and delicious! The atmosphere was very pleasant and there is an outdoor patio dining option set in a gorgeous tropical courtyard that would be perfect for breakfast or lunch. Excellent spot. Highly recommended!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SLOGuy7662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaska
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quiet and Consistent”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I have eaten both inside and on the patio. This is a nice, quiet, out-of-the-way spot. The parking is easy, the menu is good, and the service is attentive. The first time I entered the restaurant it reminded me of the "olden days" because the tables were set with crisp linens and the lighting was dimmed. I almost expected Frank Sinatra to sit down at the next table.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Squiditz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“What A Surprise!”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

After driving all day and checking in to The Lemon Tree Inn in Santa Barbara my husband and I were too tired to seek out a place to eat. We decided to eat at the Crocodile Restaurant because it was here. The white table cloths and the elegant atmosphere however made us a little concerned that the prices would be outrageous. Wow! Were we ever surprised. The prices were very reasonable. The food was great and the service attentive which made for a memorable evening.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbA490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crocodile Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Crocodile Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing