We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay in Santa Barbara”
Review of Spanish Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Spanish Garden Inn
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
secaucus, new jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The place to stay in Santa Barbara”
Reviewed 16 October 2007

We absolutely loved our 4 day stay here. We got the romance package which included a local bottle of wine waiting for us in our room and an in-room massage for the both of us. The staff was extremely helpful about recommending restaurants and helping us plan our wine country tour. They also helped us ship our wine home. Very personal, even down to the always fresh batch of cookies sitting at the front desk. It was walking distance from great restaurants and shopping. It's a little pricey, but worth it for the personalized service you just can't get a the large resorts.

  • Liked — personal service
  • Disliked — can't say
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank geniejmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,000
    167
    30
    12
    7
See reviews for
197
696
39
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redondo Beach, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2007

My husband and I stayed in Room 22 (executive king) for 3 nights for a belated anniversary celebration. We were married in Santa Barbara, so we were really excited to return.
Check in was fast with our room ready at 3 pm. Our room was on the second floor overlooking the pool. Everything was as described by other TA reviewers: a spacious room with flat screen TV with DVD player, separate sunken tub, robes, comfy bed, Molton Brown toiletries, fireplace, French press with electric tea kettle with a variety of teas and large jar of coffee.
We really enjoyed the continental breakfast, especially the made to order coffee drinks. We went to the wine hour once and were impressed with the wide selection available.
Overall, what we enjoyed most about our stay were all the little touches: DVD library at front desk, tea/coffee available at all hours in lobby, turn down service (with a printed weather report), and water bottles at our departure.
We will definitely stay here on our next trip to Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Girlypanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2007

Boyfriend severally ill, terminal illness and accidently vomited on small area of carpet. He was humiliated, I cleaned area...honest about accident that occured. Then charged an additional 125.00 for cleaning without even asking or contacting me.Noticed additonal charge three days thereafter. Unauthorized charge to sanitize area. A carpet cleaner and air freshner would have been sufficient. The room was clean when we left. That was ridicuous.

  • Liked — beautiful place, never go again because of situation nor recommed
  • Disliked — unauthorized charges
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
12 Thank 6078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2007

Anyone who has been to Santa Barbara knows what a fantastic place it is. The trouble is that there wasn't the small, personal, European-style hotel until Spanish Garden opened up. I'm not sure how new it is, because it's a true "hidden gem;" I hadn't heard about it until recently. It's located 2-3 blocks from the heart of State Street, but you wouldn't know it was there unless you were looking for it. Its unassuming facade on Garden Street opens up to a peaceful courtyard (with hummingbirds playing in the fountain, no less) and a cloister of buildings which has some 25 rooms. My wife and I stayed in room 23, upstairs overlooking the pool. It had all the needed amenities and more! But it was the touches inside the room that knocked me out. Watercolors, giant plants, a fireplace, sunken tub, etc. It had the Santa Barbara ambiance down pat. Every doorway and alcove was arched, and the walls looked as if they had been plastered by old world craftsmen. I read another review on Trip Advisor that said the service was lousy? This must have been about a different place entirely, perhaps the Travelodge down by the railroad tracks. Spanish Garden did everything to cater to our needs, from the service and food at the complementary breakfast, to letting us know the current exhibit at the Art Museum. If there was six stars for service, this place would rate it.

  • Liked — Santa Barbara architecture and room ammenities
  • Disliked — High price, but it's worth it for all that this hotel offers
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UrbanDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santa barbara
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2007

I went to this hotel due to the super high ratings on trip advisor and toured the rooms and booked it in person. I later added another room via the internet. This was done in June. I needed a hotel for my wedding day to get ready at with friends and family and for the wedding night as well.
I contacted them to double check my reservations and they didn't have the same rooms booked that I had requested. Since it was our wedding, I requested and booked the best suite on property, they did not have us in that room. The room was already booked by someone else and not available at all. They offered no restitution for this mistake so we canceled our reservations. I just received an email confirming our reservations again, even after they had written an email confirming our cancellation. They do have a nice hotel, but the reservation process is really screwed up! I would never recommend staying at this hotel to anyone.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
13 Thank harvina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowbridge, Great Britain
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Inn in mid September and like the other recent reviewer were allocated room 13 but I'm delighted to say without any problems with plumbing noises!! I have to admit that we've stayed in Santa Barbara on 5 previous occassions and have always been completely seduced by the town,its setting, its climate,its facilities and its ambiance.
Having admitted to a bias towards Santa Barbara, our previous positive feelings were even further enhanced by our stay at the Inn. This is a great place. The staff are excellent, the rooms are well equipped and maintained and the location is good (although some way from the beaches). Undoubtedly this is the best hotel of its type that we have ever stayed at and we offer everyone concerned many congratulations.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glyntraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warmington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2007

This could have been a disaster but the hotel really did pull out all the right stops to give us quality service.

We arrived quite late after a really horrible Labour Day weekend drive from LAX and were immediately charmed by the hotel and staff. We were shown to out courtyard room and were again impressed by the quality of the room, the bathroom area and the general ambiance. We sank into out very comfortable bed to sleep off our jetlag from the UK and looked forward to a very pleasant night's sleep.

Unfortunately, at around 1.30am we were woken by incredibly loud and persistant plumbing noises of tanks filling and water running. Now, one expects occasional noise when another guest flushes the loo etc, but this was very loud and just didn't stop. So, off to reception where a very helpful night porter tried to ascertain what was wrong, called the hotel manager, offered us an alternative room for the night and handled two stressed out, jet lagged, tired people very well indeed. He told us that there would be another room available the next day and that they would move all our stuff etc. As the noise had finally stopped we decided to stay put for the night and move the next day. We never did get to the bottom of the reason for the noise - plumbing fault, odd & inconsiderate neighbours running baths repeatedly at 1am or a design fault in this part of the hotel (we were in room 13) but we did then get off to sleep.

The following morning, the desk manager greeted us on the way to breakfast and instantly knew what had happened and said that if we left our bags in the middle of the room (and left anything hanging in the closet) it would all be moved and our room would be ready by 1pm. Real top quality service - and they also removed the charge for the first night.

Our new room was on the first floor with a balcony overlooking the hotel patio and was even better than the first.

As for the hotel overall, first class. As I said, the rooms are great, the complementary breakfast is perfectly adequate for most tastes with frittata, pastries, muffins, granola, yogurt, fruit etc and all of the staff are incredibly helpful.

It is located around 10 minutes walk from the main drag of State Street which removes the need for a car in the evening, and is in a very quiet residential/business area with a garage under the hotel. The beach is also around 10-15 minutes walk away, and we jogged down there on two mornings - getting some amazing early morning photos of the ocean and palms.

For dinner - try Holdren's - really bustly and fun, and for lunch try Endless Summer with its fantastic views of the ocean and harbour.

The Inn is a wonderful little place, with great staff and rooms of the highest quality - we would recommend it without question - but maybe not room 13!

  • Liked — The location, the staff
  • Disliked — Room 13 possibly!
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Big_Blue_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.4 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
0.7 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
1.0 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
1.0 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
1.5 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spanish Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spanish Garden Inn

Property: Spanish Garden Inn
Address: 915 Garden St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-1414
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Barbara
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Spanish Garden Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the jewel of luxury boutique Santa Barbara hotels. Spanish Garden Inn offers a sophisticated Spanish-Mediterranean inspired design, quality amenities and close attention to personal service. The hotel epitomizes the vitality of the City and honors its tradition by recreating the history, romance and intrigue of Spanish Colonial Santa Barbara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Spanish Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Spanish Garden Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel Of The Spanish Garden
Of The Spanish Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing