We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not cheap, but you get what you pay for! Lovely..”
Review of Spanish Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Spanish Garden Inn
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Perfect location for Santa Barbara; 1minute walk to the main drag, 15 minute walk to the beach front. Lovely, friendly staff. Nice breakfast, with fresh foods. And you can't grumble at Molten Brown smellies!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnieAnnMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

894 - 900 of 1,270 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2011

This is one of the loveliest places we have stayed in. The Inn was comfortable, tastefully decorated and in a great position, just 10 minutes walk from the main shopping and eating area.
Unfortunately before we arrived my husband had injured himself and needed hospital treatment. The staff were very helpful in providing directions to the hospital (who by the way were fantastic) and later helping with faxing and emailing the insurance company.
We had a room over-looking the garden which was gorgeous and a great place to sit and chill. They light a table-top fire in the evenings and the music was great. Secure underground parking is also a bonus.
To reiterate what others have said, they have thought of everything and use of the computer was particularly useful. They even had a bagel cutter and Molten Brown toiletries which I love.
All the staff were friendly and helpful and I can't praise this hotel enough. I hope we can go back one day.

Room Tip: We had number 9. Great view and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarlaJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Lovely room with fireplace and balcony. Big bathroom with separate tub and shower. Mini-fridge and safe. Very clean. Easy to use heating/air conditioning system, which is good because you need the heat at night and the A/C during the day. Robes, houseshoes, cotton balls and Q-tips all provided, as well as a hot pot and French press with coffee and teas.

The Garden Street location is an easy walk to State Street and an easy drive to the beach and Highway 101. Parking in the garage is easy, no problem finding a space.

The courtyard is lovely. Nice for breakfast in the morning, but a little too chilly this time of year to sit there in the late afternoon or evening for wine. The breakfast is nice with a selection of fresh juice, fruit, yogurt, breads and often quiche. In addition to regular coffee they will make you latte.

Near-by Wine Cask is great for dinner or cocktails.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

This is one of the best hotels you can stay at. The rooms were love key, the staff went out of their way to help you and the food was excellent. This is a very romantic location and is close to town and it also has below grade parking which was great. You cannot wrong with this location and hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quicktraveler91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Quaint and charming and very well appointed. Really great location right near State street. Staff is very accommodating. All in all a great stay in a great city!

Room Tip: Some rooms require a climb up a steep set of stairs, make sure to specify any accessibility issues.
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank AwesomeAuntie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We spent a couple of days here and found it very difficult to leave! The rooms were cozy. The staff was so helpful and friendly. It was perfectly located for walking to nearby attractions. Parking was easy. The bathtub was an unexpected bonus! We watched a movie one night and the man working the front desk brought us popcorn! Talk about above and beyond- the staff consistently found a way to accomplish this. The rooms are cute- great little patio for a little wine at night.

Room Tip: I was in room 13 and it was beautiful! We had a little patio courtyard and it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

My wife and I spent four nights at the Inn. We had a deluxe room on the second floor, which was spacious, clean and quiet. The staff was friendly and helpful. A nice breakfast was included. The location is very convenient to restaurants, shopping, and places of interest in town, and there was easy access to our car in the enclosed garage. There is no charge for parking. In addition to exploring Santa Barbara, we spent a day in the wine country, which is a scenic 45 minute drive from the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbmarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.4 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#7 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,094 reviews
0.7 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
576 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,060 reviews
1.0 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
849 reviews
1.5 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spanish Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spanish Garden Inn

Address: 915 Garden St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-1414
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Barbara
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: £235 - £430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Spanish Garden Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the jewel of luxury boutique Santa Barbara hotels. Spanish Garden Inn offers a sophisticated Spanish-Mediterranean inspired design, quality amenities and close attention to personal service. The hotel epitomizes the vitality of the City and honors its tradition by recreating the history, romance and intrigue of Spanish Colonial Santa Barbara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Spanish Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Spanish Garden Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel Of The Spanish Garden
Of The Spanish Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing