We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay at the Luxurious Inn of the Spanish Garden!”
Review of Spanish Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Spanish Garden Inn
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay at the Luxurious Inn of the Spanish Garden!”
Reviewed 18 January 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Inn of the Spanish Garden for a weekend getaway in Santa Barbara. It's on a quiet street despite being within walking distance from downtown Santa Barbara - a fantastic location if you want to walk to places! We had a junior suite - the room was very spacious, had two balconies, and a fire place. Overall, the room was well-appointed, had all the amenities that you'd ever need, and was well-maintained/clean. They also provide a complimentary continental breakfast every morning - a great way to start your day! The staff was wonderful, very welcoming and helpful. A shout out to Brian of the front desk! Very friendly, and provided impeccable customer service! We'd be glad to stay at the Inn again!

Room Tip: We had one of their junior suites, and walked by some of the other rooms as well. They all look grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NTS_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpanishGardenInn, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Dear Friends ~ I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for sharing your comments. Brian is a great asset to our team and we appreciate your "shout-out" to him!
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!
Laurie Lawson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,000
    167
    30
    12
    7
See reviews for
197
696
39
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

I was referred to this hotel by friends who knew I am quite particular about where I stay. This was my first time to Santa Barbara and will certainly not be my last. There is a reason why this town is labeled America's "French Riviera "but personally looks more Spanish and the architecture is evident. This hotel more than lived up to my expectation and I would not hesitate to recommend it to any of your readers. The staff was so accommodating with their dinner and local attraction suggestions you can't help feel their genuine desire to help make your stay a memorable one. The room was quiet, very spacious and the bathrooms was a treat as were the first class British toiletries. The fireplace was a warm addition on the cool nights. Having a French press coffee maker coupled with my morning newspaper enjoyed on a private balcony was a bonus. We especially loved the breakfast as it was more European and not your standard "eggs and bacon" variety.
This hotel is especially suited for couples and romantic get a ways I feel.
I will most definitely return to both beautiful Santa Barbara and the Inn of the Spanish Garden.

Room Tip: Second floor balcony overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewmarketWally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We stayed here last year and thought that this was a romantic, charming hotel- we absolutely loved the ambiance. The only issue we had was that we didn't realize they had all down bedding in our room, which I am allergic to. The inn tried their best to get me non-down pillows/blankets, but didn't have a large stock of items that time of night. We would definitely stay here again, but only if we could get a similar discounted rate that we booked (it's usually double the price) and if we could ensure that they could accomodate our bedding requests in advance.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank socaldreamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bartinbxl
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Stayed here for a long weekend on New Year's Day with family with kids. The staff is incredible. They really went out of their way and came with unexpected surprises and attentions that made us feel so welcome.
Highly recommended, also because of the very nice and clean rooms, and the location close to State Street.
Big thank you to all the staff for making our stay unforgettable!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bartinbxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

My husband and I stayed here in August as we were driving down the California coast. The front desk was very warm and helpful. The grounds were beautiful and cozy. Both the room and bathroom were beautiful and spacious. The price was a little steep, but it was comparable to other Santa Barbara hotels. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachbum913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

This was our second visit to the Inn of the Spanish Garden and we had a great time as we did the first time we visited. The staff is really friendly and helpful and we absolutely love the location, close to State Street and many great restaurants. We love room #23, with a fireplace and very nice bathtub. The perfect place for a getaway weekend in Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kjelljk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

My wife and I stayed here in Nov 2011 for one night on our way to Vegas from San Francisco. This place has a unique Spanish theme with a central courtyard garden and a pool area as well. The Staff are very friendly and helpful, they suggested a great Italian restaurant which we thoroughly enjoyed called Ca Dario on 37 E. Victoria St, Santa Barbara. Our room was very spacious and very clean with all the luxuries you would want. Breakfast was the only minor weakness, with a limited arrangement but we mostly find somewhere away from the Hotel for our meals. Free undercover carpark was a bonus.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to the Pool which is a pleasant and private outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonanzabugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.4 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
0.7 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
1.0 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
1.0 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
1.5 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spanish Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spanish Garden Inn

Property: Spanish Garden Inn
Address: 915 Garden St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-1414
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Barbara
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Spanish Garden Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the jewel of luxury boutique Santa Barbara hotels. Spanish Garden Inn offers a sophisticated Spanish-Mediterranean inspired design, quality amenities and close attention to personal service. The hotel epitomizes the vitality of the City and honors its tradition by recreating the history, romance and intrigue of Spanish Colonial Santa Barbara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Spanish Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Spanish Garden Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel Of The Spanish Garden
Of The Spanish Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing